We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Stratford”
Review of The Old Rectory

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Old Rectory
Ranked #6 of 89 Stratford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best in Stratford”
Reviewed November 27, 2011

We have been coming to The Old Rectory for over ten years and every year we have a wonderful stay. Breakfasts are amazing and the rooms are gracious, clean and comfortable. We book the carriage house which offers extra privacy as well as a lofted sitting room which can connect with the loft in the room next door. This is an ideal situation for two couples who want to hang out after a play for some wine and conversation. Best of all, Kim and Kevin are ideal hosts - warm, charming, and very hospitable. We've tried a few other B and B's in the area and nothing comes close to the Old Rectory.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
82
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2011

It astounds me that anyone who comes to Stratford stays anywhere else. The food is off-the-charts and the accommodations are uber-comfortable. No detail is overlooked. And best of all, Kim and Kevin are beyond hospitable. They treat you like family. Thanks Kim and Kevin for a great vacation year-in and year-out!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paris222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2011

Beautiful rooms, delicious food, kind and gracious hosts -- The Old Rectory provides everything you need for a great stay in Stratford. My husband and I stayed in one of the coach house suites, which provided us with an upstairs loft to watch TV, read, and relax, as well as the first flloor bedroom and bathroom, and a rear patio area for private, quiet outdoor time. Kim and Kevin have found their niche in life -- their talents abound, and they share them with their guests. Even their young son provides a warm welcome when he visits with you in the sitting room in the main house or sees you at breakfast. In a quick three block walk, you are in the heart of the shopping and dining area of Stratford, three blocks more and you arrive at the Avon Theatre, or head the opposite direction, and in about seven blocks you arrive at the Festival Theatre. The Old Rectory places you in easy walking distance from all of the attractions while giving you a lovely home away from home. We will be back!

Room Tip: The coach house suites provide additional space and privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eaca4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2011

We had a fantastic time at the Old Rectory B&B. We had room 1 and it was nice and cozy. The breakfast was fantastic and we stuffed our faces! The location was unbelievable and we could walk everywhere from the B&B.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GChan156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan City, Indiana
1 review
Reviewed September 24, 2011

Although its been a while since we had the opportunity to return to The Old Rectory B&B we were welcomed "back home" as though we had never left. The hospitality offered by Kim & Kevin Gormley is like no where else we have been. One time we traveled by train and after we left Kim ordered a cab to return a forgotten item to us at the train station. This trip Kevin traveled our route out of town to tell us how best to avoid street construction. They will go the extra mile to make your stay pleasant and the breakfasts and gourmet dinners that Kevin makes with Kim's help are out of this world. The home itself is lovely, well-cared for and shows their decorating talents with special family-related items everywhere. We would not stay anywhere else in the Stratford area. Thanks again, Kim and Kevin.

Room Tip: They are all good; a room for all tastes depending on the type you are looking for. My husband and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lu C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon MA, USA
Level Contributor
317 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 287 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

We were back again for the Nth year in a row. Can't praise Kim and Kevin enough for running the most delightful B&B in town.

This year they added gourmet dinner -- available only for guests who stay over. If you've heard about the fabulous gourmet breakfast here, imagine how wonderful the gourmet dinner can be. It was one of the best meals we've ever had -- better than the Prune, the Church, etc.

This is a gem!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shakespeare_fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

This was the first time we stayed at a B&B and we enjoyed it very much. The residence is a lovely old building -- completely redone -- and perfectly situated. The home was very cozy and sparkling clean. Host and hostess were very friendly and accomodating. They also serve dinner, which we enjoyed one evening while there (you need to make reservations in advance). Kevin is Irish and the cook and uses local, fresh produce whenever possible. All the other guests had been there several times before and return every year. Most of the rooms are on the second floor (no elevator, of course), but Kevin was very helpful with our luggage. There is one bedroom on the first floor with twin beds. There is also a carriage house with a couple of rooms. All the rooms have private bathrooms, which was important to me. Lovely sitting areas for relaxing, including a couple of second floor porches and a garden. Breakfasts were very nice with homemade everything. The next time we go to Stratford we'll be sure to call Kevin and Kim first.

Room Tip: We had #2 which had a queen bed and looked out over main street on the second floors, very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gma-pam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stratford hotels
0.3 mi away
The Parlour Inn
The Parlour Inn
#2 of 18 in Stratford
376 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Bruce Hotel
The Bruce Hotel
#3 of 18 in Stratford
150 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus The Arden Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mercer Hall Inn
Mercer Hall Inn
#8 of 18 in Stratford
279 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Stratford Hotel
The Stratford Hotel
#1 of 18 in Stratford
288 reviews
0.5 mi away
Stone Maiden Inn
Stone Maiden Inn
#5 of 89 in Stratford
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Rectory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory

Property: The Old Rectory
Address: 218 Ontario St | Ontario, Stratford, Ontario N5A 3H4, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Stratford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 89 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Rectory 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We both share a passion for good wholesome food. Kevin has worked previously for 15 years in some of the U.K.'s and Irelands finest Country Inns and Restaurants before moving to Stratford in 1993. Kim is a native of Stratford and has traveled extensively on a Private Yacht catering to crew and invited guests. Both of us now enjoy life together in the great community of Stratford with our son Conor among family and friends. Together we hope to nourish your body and soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your The Old Rectory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Rectory Stratford, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing