We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place Close to Festival Theatre”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus The Arden Park Hotel
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Stratford
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Rochester, NY
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Nice Place Close to Festival Theatre”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

It was a last minute trip so we didn't have a lot of choice for places to stay but we had a good stay at Arden Park. It is a standard hotel, nice room, clean, comfortable bed, good amenities. The best part is that it is really only a couple of blocks from the Festival Theatre and parking is free. We parked in the hotel parking lot when we checked in and left two days later, never having had to move the car. That's the way I like to travel in a city.

There is a restaurant in the hotel but we never ate in it. There is a very nice swimming pool and hot tub but we didn't use them either! We were in Stratford for plays and we saw 3 in 2 days.

Next time, if we plan farther in advance, we would prefer staying closer to the downtown where the restaurants are. But, if that doesn't work out, Arden Park is a good choice and a very good value.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Bettia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    223
    57
    24
    16
See reviews for
163
213
24
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Amherstburg, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

I have stayed here three times in the last year. The rooms have always been clean and they are spacious. I have never eaten in the dinning room, so I can't comment, the breakfast is your standard breakfast bar. The bar/lounge area although comfortable enough, looks a little dated and could use a update. I have checked other hotels right in the downtown section and some of the rates are crazy. The Arden Park is about a mile or two from downtown, but well worth being a little further out and only a ten dollar cab ride to downtown.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

My wife and I were coming to Stratford to see a play and only planned on staying one night. The Arden Park Hotel was perfect. The room was big and spacious, clean and the bed was very comfortable. The location was ideal - just around the corner from the Festival Theatre and only a short 20 minute walk to the downtown.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Joe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

I have had reason to be in Stratford many times in the last six months and stayed in several hotels - in terms of professionalism, service and dining room and free wifi this is the best option. Last time maybe 10 dollars different in price but worth it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cultureguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Positive
- Rooms were big
- Beds comfy
- Restaurant had excellent food. Smoked salmon and fries were delicious

Negative
- Hotel looks and feels like a nursing home. Not appropriate for non-seniors
- $159 was expensive for one night IMO
- Blinds do not close all the way, why?!?
- Showerhead was lo-flow and awful. It was chrome and looked new but dreadfully disappointing
- Check in 3pm and checkout 11am seemed a bit aggressive

I don't stay in a lot of hotels but this one is definitely meh.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SquashCheetah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
Reviewed September 7, 2013

The reviews in Trip Advisor seemed to be really good or quite poor and the traveler tips made it sound like you have to get lucky to get just the right combination of room attributes (like location, floor, exposure) to get anything good. So I did not know what to expect, and feared the worst. Nothing could have been further from my experience.

I was VERY pleased. The staff was friendly and efficient at check-in. The room was spacious, clean, and comfortable. After attending an evening performance at the Festival, we stopped in the lounge for a drink. The prices seemed reasonable and the bartender was quite friendly and helpful.

One thing I haven't seen mentioned in the hotel's descriptions or in reviewer comments was their pool. They have a very nice indoor pool and hot tub/spa.

The hotel is also conveniently located, just a couple of minute drive or short walk to the Festival Theatre.

I found nothing wrong and would go back any time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Otis_E2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Once again this hotel lived up to its reputation. Large rooms, smiling staff good restaurrant. Improvement would be a safe in the room and a larger available supply of newspapers. Perhaps the European long staff insert in the spine of the paper would encourage the return of the paper to the main rack. Will stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sttawannod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stratford hotels
0.1 mi away
The Bruce Hotel
The Bruce Hotel
#4 of 18 in Stratford
158 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Stratford Hotel
The Stratford Hotel
#1 of 18 in Stratford
297 reviews
1.1 mi away
Festival Inn
Festival Inn
#15 of 18 in Stratford
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Mercer Hall Inn
Mercer Hall Inn
#9 of 18 in Stratford
283 reviews
0.9 mi away
Annex Room Restaurant & Inn
Annex Room Restaurant & Inn
#13 of 18 in Stratford
51 reviews
0.8 mi away
Queen's Inn at Stratford
Queen's Inn at Stratford
#11 of 18 in Stratford
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus The Arden Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus The Arden Park Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus The Arden Park Hotel
Address: 522 Ontario Street | P.O.Box #1040, Stratford, Ontario N5A 3J3, Canada (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS The Arden Park Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Stratford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Stratford
#7 Romantic Hotel in Stratford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus The Arden Park Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Best Western, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus The Arden Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arden Park Stratford
Hotel Arden Park
Best Western Plus The Arden Park Hotel Stratford, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing