We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay at Arden Park”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus The Arden Park Hotel
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Stratford
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Helsinki, Finland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pleasant stay at Arden Park”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I stayed at Arden Park Hotel for one week in January. I deliberately took hotel outside the town centre, and got what I expected. Abundant parking lots, spacious room, swimming pool and hotel restaurant made the stay pleasant. The room even had an electric fireplace. As a Finn I would appreciated sauna next to the pool. Hotel is located on the edge of central park of the town. This is a good quality hotel, no complaints.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teemu K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    217
    56
    24
    16
See reviews for
152
207
22
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I've stayed here several times on business and have always found this hotel to be of good quality and reasonably priced. They have a pool that never seems crowded and their restaurant has good quality food. I cannot comment on this hotel for families or larger groups, but for business purposes it is very good.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank labour_lawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canuck
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

I stayed here Dec 28-30 with my sons hockey team. The security guard James McBeth was aggressive, disrespectful and looking for a fight from the moment that we arrived at the hotel. After one complaint that boys from our team were in the halls unsupervised he called the police and had 2 of us thrown out of the hotel (all this before 9pm). When I spoke with the General Manager Greg Hayter about the issue he said that I and the other parents on the team were poor parents and that we were not looking after our children. All of which could not be further from the truth. Do not stay at this hotel if you have children with you, definitely don't stay there if you are with a group of any kind. To quote Greg Hayter, "we don't like to have kids in groups but it is good business for us so we do it".

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Stakind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

The Arden Park was a pleasant surprise - the price was very reasonable, location was great and convenient to all the amenities (shopping, restaurants, downtown and the hockey arenas as we were there for a hockey tournament). The rooms were spacious and clean. The hotel pool was a hit with my boys and I enjoyed the fitness centre. The restaurant was a pleasant surprise as the food was excellent and a reasonable value, the servers were quite accommodating with separate checks

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Markhamfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornbury, Canada
Level Contributor
189 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel many times. In addition to free parking and wifi, it offers a swimming pool, modern, attractively decorated and recently updated comfortable rooms and an excellent restaurant and pub. It is conveniently situated within walking distance of the downtown, the Avon River and the Festival Theatre.

Room Tip: There is little to "see" so location doesn't matter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nigel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
269 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Stratford can be an expensive city for overnight accommodations especially during Festival time as the city is an excellent destination spot with so much to do and see. We found Arden Park very affordable and their rooms well decorated, spacious and very comfortable. The bed was excellent, what a sound sleep. The hotel staff are attentive and eager to help and when we were there the place was just hopping with visitors. Tons of parking. The hotel offers a pool and exercise room, and is close to the theater. You will need to drive from the hotel into town or you can choose to walk it if you are feeling ambitious or like exercising on a nice day. We didn't dine in the hotel restaurant, we prefer more unique places. Nice sized refrigerator, the bathrooms are well designed. Ask downstairs at the lobby for a city map, it will help you locate all the landmarks and places of interest including the market, shops and interesting restaurants. Amenities such as Iron, ironing board, TV and High speed internet are available. The only downside is breakfast is not offered with your night stay - it is an extra cost...not much but perhaps that's how they keep their prices down. That said, we just brought in some light and healthy food options and juices from town and enjoyed them in the morning - which worked out very well. Would go back again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cana1Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Ontario
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

3 nite stay all for business but the amenities, the rooms, the beds provided for an excellent stay. The staff were outstanding and the City of Stratford has a lot to offer. I didn’t use the hotel restaurant although our catered food was excellent. I didnt get a chance to use the gym/pool either but I definitely recommend Arden Park.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stratford hotels
1.0 mi away
The Parlour Inn
The Parlour Inn
#2 of 18 in Stratford
376 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bruce Hotel
The Bruce Hotel
#3 of 18 in Stratford
150 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mercer Hall Inn
Mercer Hall Inn
#8 of 18 in Stratford
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Festival Inn
Festival Inn
#14 of 18 in Stratford
202 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Stratford Hotel
The Stratford Hotel
#1 of 18 in Stratford
288 reviews
1.7 mi away
Forest Motel & Woodland Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus The Arden Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus The Arden Park Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus The Arden Park Hotel
Address: 522 Ontario Street | P.O.Box #1040, Stratford, Ontario N5A 3J3, Canada (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS The Arden Park Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Stratford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Stratford
#7 Romantic Hotel in Stratford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus The Arden Park Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Best Western, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Best Western Plus The Arden Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arden Park Stratford
Hotel Arden Park
Best Western Plus The Arden Park Hotel Stratford, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing