We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Breakfast at Foster's is wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Foster's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Foster's Inn
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Stratford
Certificate of Excellence
Upstate, NY
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Breakfast at Foster's is wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2009

I'm delighted to apparently be the first to write a review of Foster's for breakfast. it was one of only two recommended by our hotel (outside the hotel's own dining room) for breakfast, and we were so happy we chose it. The breakfast menu is extensive, the service is attentive. The fresh ingredients in the fruit bowl, the imaginative daily scramble, even the "classic' oatmeal were presented beautifully and prepared with obvious skill. We were sorry only that we didn't have time to return for what promised to be a fine dinner. We certainly plan to return our next trip to Stratford!

Helpful?
Thank AdairUpstate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    25
    3
    8
    4
See reviews for
16
42
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2009

Stayed on the third floor in room 301, which had a wonderful view of Downie Street. The room was perfect and comfortable — 14ft high ceilings, a miniature fridge etc. The only thing that was lacking was a full-length mirror. Everything was exceptionally clean and well maintained with many extras included (including a much appreciated extra pillow hidden in the closet). The service was always friendly from all individuals who served us during the stay.

Greatly recommended without reservation, you will love this place.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank palanski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2009

We stopped at Fosters Inn for just one night while dropping in to visit Stratford on the way from Windsor to Toronto.
The hotel was really really nice, and was very welcoming after a very cold walk from the train station with suitcases in heavy snow! We turned up before 9am in the morning and were checked in and shown our room straight away, which was great because we though we might have a wait for the room. The room was beautiful, really nicely decorated and really big and spacious. We also borrowed an internet cable to get internet on our laptop, which was very good.
Our only problem with the room was that it was reaaally cold! We had a thermostat in the room to control the temperature, and we had it on the highest, but the room was still freezing, so we had to had a few layers on blankets on the bed to keep warm. Maybe this was just due to the really cold weather outside? We don't know. Aside from this, the room was gorgeous.
The location was great, on one of the main roads, a short walk (in the snow) from the the centre of the town, and only a short walk from the station, which was great for us.
The service was great, the people were really friendly. We also had a great lunch and dinner at the hotel restaurant, which was very very tasty, again with great service.
Would recommend!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laurameee26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2008

My parents, a family friend and I go to Stratford every summer to see plays and relax in beautiful Stratford. We've stayed at Foster's for the past three years and will continue to do so in the future. The location is amazing, just steps from the Avon and Studio Theaters and a couple of blocks from Ontario St. (the main shopping st) and the river. The rooms are spacious, well decorated and comfortable. The restaraunt is fantastic, they have a great chef. The outdoor seating is great, at night many of the actors come by so you never know who you'll run into. There are short term parking spots out front so that you can unload your bags and the parking lot is just a couple of blocks away, and free! The owner is on-site during the day and very helpful. He has hired a first rate staff, who will take great care of you. There is music piped in outside, and the patio is popular late into the night. If you're bothered by noise ,request a room in the back where you won't hear a thing from downstairs.

This is a gem of a hotel, I highly recommend it.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — leaving
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TudorRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2008

I had a lovely stay, beautiful room, good food, helpful, pleasant staff. Couldn't have been nicer.

  • Liked — stylist and central
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ladytravellerUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
131 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2008

We drove to Stratford after viewing this website and having some background info on some of the hotels listed. All the information was correct. Wow! We checked out some places and then happened to see The Fosters Inn. We walked in without a reservation and the hostess was really gracious. Danielle was professional and booked us into a room for 3 nights and gave us a 99$ rate for the first 2 nights. Remember, it's always easier to suggest a discount when you are in front of the person, not on the phone! Anyway, Great room, high ceilings, needed a hair dryer and the wooden floors can be loud but overall really nice. Close to downtown and within walking distance of everything.
We would definately return.

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
Thank ws34nipissing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2007

Stayed on the Third Floor Queen Suite, a bit more $ than other locations in Stratford, but location is fantastic and the chracter of the historical building adds interest (walls at unique angles, etc.). Quiet getaway close to the bustle of the shops and theatres. Helpful upon check-in. Enjoyed dinner there as well. Since this is also a food establishment and a bustling location, it is easiest to book reservations over the phone than any online format. I think some of their romantic/pampering winter packages look fantastic! (Parking is not onsite, but a block away at a public lot).

  • Liked — Unique Character
  • Disliked — Front Desk Organization (Inn, Restaraunt, Bar...a lot going on)
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manuellit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stratford hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercer Hall Inn
Mercer Hall Inn
#8 of 18 in Stratford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Parlour Inn
The Parlour Inn
#2 of 18 in Stratford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Arden Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Bruce Hotel
The Bruce Hotel
#4 of 18 in Stratford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.1 mi away
Annex Room Restaurant & Inn
Annex Room Restaurant & Inn
#13 of 18 in Stratford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Stratford Hotel
The Stratford Hotel
#1 of 18 in Stratford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foster's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foster's Inn

Property: Foster's Inn
Address: 111 Downie St, Stratford, Ontario N5A 1X2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Stratford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Stratford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Foster's Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Foster's Inn is Stratford's original Boutique Inn. Located just two doors from The Avon Theater in the towns core, Foster's Inn is a complete package. Nine well appointed Guest Rooms accessible by elevator, a 60 seat Restaurant with a warm & friendly 44-seat lounge and a lovely Patio assures your stay will be as comfortable as it is memorable. Friendly and efficient staff will look after your every need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Foster's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Foster`s Hotel Stratford
Fosters Hotel Stratford
Foster's Inn Stratford, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing