We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very disappointing” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of York Street Kitchen on Erie

York Street Kitchen on Erie
Ranked #32 of 133 Restaurants in Stratford
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Canadian, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
London, Ontario
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“very disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

I really wanted to like this cute funky little place but I had one of the worst lunches ever when I ate there recently. I had the Memphis bbq brisket sandwich with cole slaw. The cole slaw was just adequate, but the brisket was terrible; I think it was the dried fatty end of the brisket that they gave me, so fatty that it was inedible. Really horrible. My companion had smoked salmon and cream cheese on a bagel and he said it was just ok. Disappointing.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JaneCatLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    41
    12
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stratford, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best lunch spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Love the ever changing menue. Good portion size. New loction is easier to find. Will continue to reccomend to our BnB guests.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“unique, fresh and quick sandwiches”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

Whenever I get york street, I always just get the take out. They have a restaurant, but the take out sandwich place is by far the best and reasonably prices. They have new sandwiches they create feature each day with fresh ingredients. Fun for picnics by the river. But be warned: If you go on a busy saturday before theatre, they might have a long long!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Emily H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelham, Tennessee
Level Contributor
59 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Exactly as it should be.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

We ate here for lunch. Wide range of sandwich options with several bread choices. The also have soup options I believe. The bread was very good. Its a sandwich shop what else can I say. It is very busy. You order by checking boxes on a form then handing that to the server. The exceptional thing about this place is the service. They are super friendly, fast, and happy. Great place!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TNTravelinCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
251 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Best Sandwich Ever”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

I went to this place a little apprehensive but came away loving it!
You can create your ideal sandwich but checking off exactly what you want in it. Finished product is exactly as you want it, and awesome.

Wish I lived closer!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chantal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed York Street Kitchen on Erie also viewed

 
Stratford, Ontario
 

Been to York Street Kitchen on Erie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing