We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ever changing menu of locally grown food. Yum!”

Monforte on Wellington
Ranked #12 of 133 Restaurants in Stratford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $13
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
218 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Ever changing menu of locally grown food. Yum!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

I was impressed by Monforte on Wellington. We arrived for lunch before a show in July 2014 and were immediately seated. It got very busy very fast. Seating outside is about equal to inside at, say, 100 or so people. Open kitchen with locally grown food and an ever changing menu that is renewed every day. Wow.

Most of the food is of the snack-type variety and really well priced. Great to order a few dishes for the entire table and pass it around. There is adequate shade on the back patio although the flies were absolutely horrible! Plants just don't do it, people!

They have an excellent selection of wines and local brews and multiple servers help everyone. You pay inside on the way out and they also make their own hand-made cheese onsite. Yum!

Definitely worth a visit if you're in town. Near the Avon Theatre and they will alert you when your show time draws near. Kudos!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MrHearsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    82
    11
    9
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great cheese”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

A lovely spot and eat on the patio if the weather is nice. The grilled cheese with the summer sausage was my favourite. I found some of the deep fried dishes, such as the zucchini flower stuffed with cheese, a little greasy, but overall very flavourful.

The cheese tray had a nice variety of cheeses, but the cranberry crackers they served with it were very dull. My husband had a pork dish that was very nice.

If you're looking for fancy, this is not the place for you. It's very rustic, and for the most part the flavours are fresh. The pesto and apple butter were really good.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mofficita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Indiana
Level Contributor
53 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Awesome Food!! Locally grown & Locally Made!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014

Love this place with the pallet motif decor to the causal seating and patio. But you don't go there for any of the afore mentioned - you go there for the food & the wine!

My wife and I were there for an early dinner. We had a white wine sangria which was a lovely light wine combined with peaches, grapes, raspberries, and orange slices. Then we ordered three cheeses to have as a starter. Each cheese was locally made and each had a paired sauce or jam. Wow! They really enhanced the flavor of the cheeses. The starter also came with locally made Summer sausage slices, bread slices and crackers.

Once we finished the starter plate we ordered dinner. I ordered the grilled cheese with Summer sausage. Double Wow!! It was served with Apple butter which became a party in my mouth.

We couldn't stop there... We ordered a fresh out of the oven rhubarb & strawberry cobbler with gelato. Tripled Wow!!!

During our visit we saw local farmers bringing in their foods and well as an Amish family sampling some food, too. Only thing I would recommend to the owners is to have their chalk menu of their food in easy view of the tables. We had to move from the table to stand in front of the chalk board. It seems a simple fix would be to add a chalk board menu above the bar area too.

Highly recommend this place!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank BillThree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Ridiculous small plates does not meat haute cuisine”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

My husband and I went for dinner last Friday. Service was OK but a cold meat platter with 3 little pieces of toasts and a few slices of cold meat costs $18, we order 4 plates. The taste was bland to say the least, even the cheeses were severed with jam and honey. It is unfortunate that several restaurants are confusing sizes with taste..... they are completely unrelated. We are quite disappointed with most of the restaurants in Stratford, no wonder they do not last from one season to the next one. We are firm believers on independent or family owned restaurants but in Stratford, your best are big chains, where you know what you are paying for. We have tried several restaurants over the years butt we are unable to recommend any, sad.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank flexitravel22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Valley, Canada
Level Contributor
317 reviews
189 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 316 helpful votes
“Say cheese in Stratford”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

The wonder of it all is ... that I have seen-it-all in the food world of Stratford.
We are talking history when Bentley was the Jester Arms or Jim's before
Bijou ... or when the Chef school was a night course.
Ruth was there through all these years of Stratford food service and this
is her vision on what's what for a restaurant
in, of all places, a restaurant town.

Well done Ruth.

I am a infrequent visitor right from the beginning of Monforte on Wellington.
My wife considers this her go-to spot ... trust me this is all good.

We stopped off spontaneously after Festival plans fell through.
My excellent server suggested the 3 cheese, cracker, buckwheat honey*
and rhubarb chutney platter.
The chutney and cheese was chumped down.

Nancy's go-to choice at her go-to eatery; the Caprese Salad.
Check out that cheesy pose in the second photo ... stunning.
Double seared ...

And kitchen's surprise small plate was the chicken pâté which in small
amount combined with, again, that rhubarb chutney was ... you guessed it
... stunning.
All very filling fare.
We left with a bottle of buckwheat honey.
Remember of 16,000 types of bees only 6 make honey.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LorenzoelJefe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monforte on Wellington also viewed

Stratford, Ontario
Stratford, Ontario
 
Stratford, Ontario
Stratford, Ontario
 

Been to Monforte on Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing