We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Caledonia House Stratford review” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Caledonia House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stratford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Caledonia House B&B
Ranked #7 of 89 Stratford B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Caledonia House Stratford review”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed at the Caledonia House in early August. Our first visit in 2011 was delightful with hosts Ron and Tracy. We returned for two more visits in 2012 & 2013. Although a few changes have been made to the pool area, the owners are relucant to put the heater on so visitors can enjoy the pool. We choose this B&B for the pool. A bit more privacy for the clients would be appreciated when one is using the pool. The location of the B&B is great for walking to the theatres and local Stratford activities. We wish all the best for the new owners, with a little more experience in the B&B business perhaps by next year they will get it right.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank IzzyLee10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna Z, Owner at Caledonia House B&B, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
We are pleased that our guests enjoyed their stay with us last year and we hope that they are able to enjoy their time in local bed and breakfasts for many seasons to come.

With respect to our pool heater, the temperature that is fine for some is not for others, though we must admit that unusually cool daytime and nighttime temperatures made it less than easy for the pool heater to keep up with the weather. Non-the-less, the first day the water temperature was 26 degrees Celsius and these guests did say that it was too cool for them. The pool heater was on. The next day, after a very cold night, (10 degrees Celsius), the water temperature had dropped to 25.5 and we were told that the water was better! Our guest decided that it was just about to start raining, so the swim was not taken. The pool heater was on and working hard.

With respect to the issue of pool privacy, the gate to the pool enclosure area on the street side needed fixing and the work was being done by the owner, a good 60 feet from the pool and only on one of the days. If anyone is reluctant to share the pool area with others, or prefer that no work be done while they are in the pool area, they are welcome to say so. The pool area itself is well enclosed and completely shielded from any neighbours and from the street. Fencing and trees take care of this nicely.
As hosts we make a maximum effort to see that any noise or maintenance presence due to the running of our establishment is kept to a minimum.

These good people seemed to have arrived already seeming troubled and did not take breakfast with the rest of the guests for two of the days. Though the we offered to pick them up from the bus, they walked from the bus to Caledonia House. It seems that in as much as every care was and is taken to insure the safety and comfort of each of our guests, some will not be satisfied. We wonder if sometimes that dissatisfaction has more to do with how stressed folks are than the service they receive.
We invite our guests to suggest at any time, how we can better our service and their experience at Caledonia House.
We look forward to welcoming and offering one and all, a wonderful bed and breakfast experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
32
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

I've been staying at Caledonia House for at least 12 years and love it. The reason I first booked was that we wanted a place with a pool ... and these are few and far between in Stratford. But the charm of the original hosts (Ron and Tracy) and the beauty of the grounds kept us coming back. It's a quiet and serene location and maybe a 4 minute walk to the center of town.

Now, Anna and Michael are the gracious hosts. They are both wonderful and will do whatever they can to make your stay a great experience. Oh, and there's free wifi which is a must for me. Michael has made (and continues to make) some great updates to the house ... including the gazebo at the pool.

The rooms are very comfortable and there are lots of public places to lounge both inside and out. Lots of camaraderie among the guests at breakfast and interesting discussions.

Try it, you'll like it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReggieinCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
92 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

The welcome is warm; the house is beautiful; the room is comfortable; the breakfasts varied and delicious; the setting is perfect. I can't praise Anna and Michael enough. They took wonderful care of me and I can't praise their attentions enough.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steffi O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beamsville, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

We loved our stay at the beautiful, historic Caledonia House and can't thank Anna and Michael enough for being such wonderful, gracious hosts. Truly we feel this is a gem, a place to visit again and again! No detail was overlooked - from the pleasing decor and special touches everywhere in the spotless, spacious rooms to the delicious, abundant breakfast served in the morning. The bed was, we thought, the most comfortable we've ever enjoyed away from home! Located near the theatres and shopping, the setting was ideal and the grounds were both peaceful and lovely with abundant green space and room to sit outside. We were only sorry our visit was too early in the season to enjoy the pool and gazebo. Next time!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RuthM2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangeville, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

We stumbled across this B&B as we were making reservations for the theatre. As B&B owners ourselves, we have pretty high expectations, so were delighted that they were able to give us exactly the room we wanted. Eager to help with any detail, they are consummate hosts and truly go out of their way to meet any need. Rooms are large and ornate, breakfast is tempting (even for someone who typically doesn't eat breakfast...he devoured Anna's specialty of the day).

And the ability to walk directly to the theatre - BONUS!!!!

We only get to Stratford once or twice a year, but one thing is certain - we will always come back to Anna and Michael's Caledonia House Inn. I imagine one had better book the year AHEAD in order to get a reservation. This place will become a star attraction on its own. Thank you so very much, Anna & Michael. Our respite with you was exactly what we needed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KerstineandWill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napanee, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

Anna and Michael, the new stewards of the great Stratford Lady, Caledonia House made us feel welcome and at home in the mansion's stately, grand surroundings. Breakfast was scrumtious and plentiful. The room was more like an elegant suite and the lounging and dining spaces were set like a Stratford stage, for rich conversation, rejuvenating relaxation and fun. A quiet, pet-free, smoke-free, spotlessly clean home was set to keep us in style whilst enjoying all that Stratford Ontario had to offer.

We hope that by sharing this gem with the world, here will still be 'room at the Caledonia' when next we come to town! A grand stay and a grand time, had by all!

Jane Yaeger and Mike Earl

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful but if you have physical challenges there is the 'Garden Room' w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

We had a great visit with Anna and her husband Michael. We came for an intense weekend of plays. Breakfast was really a major meal with very interesting and entertaining company of guests and hosts alike. Setting is lovely, convenient for the festival, but not in the touristy part of town, just across the river in a lovely setting. We recommend the balcony room – it was a kick to sit out on the balcony in the rain one night! When the hosts learned that we had come to celebrate our anniversary, they left a bottle of wine and card in our room to greet us on our return. A charming touch, very much appreciated. Altogether a fine B&B! An obvious return venue for us.

Room Tip: The balcony room is wonderful. Large with an expansive balcony overlooking lovely stately lawn. Be s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stratford hotels
0.3 mi away
Mercer Hall Inn
Mercer Hall Inn
#7 of 18 in Stratford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Arden Park Hotel
1.0 mi away
The Bruce Hotel
The Bruce Hotel
#4 of 18 in Stratford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Parlour Inn
The Parlour Inn
#2 of 18 in Stratford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
0.5 mi away
Stone Maiden Inn
Stone Maiden Inn
#5 of 89 in Stratford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
0.2 mi away
Amadeus Haus Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caledonia House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caledonia House B&B

Property: Caledonia House B&B
Address: 20 Caledonia St, Stratford, Ontario N5A 5W5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Stratford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 89 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the ultimate in elegance and personal service in our beautifully restored 1872 mansion just a short walk from downtown Stratford. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Caledonia House B&B Stratford, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing