We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem of a Hotel”
Review of The Parlour Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Parlour Inn
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Stratford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 8, 2010

Well situated in Stratford, with theatres all within walking distance. Lovely, large rooms and kind hotel staff.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank payah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (416)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

360 - 366 of 416 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2010

We traveled to Stratford, from the Niagara region, specifically to see Christopher Plummer at the Stratford theater. Unfortunately, we got stuck in horrific traffic due to an accident (three hours of non-moving traffic). Being from the States, we had no idea what numbers to call or how to get information, so we called our hotel, although I'm not sure what we thought they could do. Shelley, the manager, was so nice and so helpful, going out of her way to find us highway information numbers, looking at maps to help us find the fastest alternate route, etc. She truly went above and beyond the call of duty, and we were so grateful!! Exceptionally friendly and nice. She made us feel like long-lost friends rather than customers. We finally made it to our performance, but we were tired by the time we got to the hotel. The rooms were neat and clean, tastefully decorated, the front desk staff very helpful, giving us a fantastic recommendation for dinner. We don't normally stay at Best Westerns in the States; we picked this place based on the TripAdvisor reviews, and we definitely didn't regret it!! Would absolutely recommend. Thanks again to all the staff and Shelley.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rsbk4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2010

My wife and I and another couple were in Stratford to see two plays. We had never stayed at The Best Western before but had dined in The Parlour restaurant. The friendliness and helpfulness of the staff from the counter and all through our stay was first rate.The location was close to shopping and to the Avon Theatre. The rooms were spotless and the beds very comfortable. As usual, the food in the restaurant was outstanding.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will return again next time we're in Stratford.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david_moore4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2010

Previous reviews had probably just set my expectations far too high - I had a 4-star experience in mind, but it is most certainly a 3-start hotel. For that rating, it is very good, though. Excellent service with friendly staff, comfortable bed, nice in-room coffee (although it's not espresso - it's Melitta One) and very quiet. If you compare it to a motel, you get people raving about how clean it was - but that should really be a given at this price point (almost $200 for us). My critiques were: restaurant breakfast had few choices and eggs were overcooked, although building is gorgeous, guest rooms have cheesey lamps (looks like Leon's or something awful), and bedspreads and finishings that were more "Best Western" than "boutique hotel" - i.e., traditional but cheap. So those who say it is charming and unique must have spent more :), because our room was not like that (although certainly pleasant enough and comfortable). Also, it sounded so luxurious - but there are no extras (room service, robes, anything of this sort...). This may sound picky, but if you're spending almost $200, you may be better off at a B&B.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChillinGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2010

My friend and I stayed for 2 nights and thoroughly enjpyed ourselves. Our rooms were lovely, comfortable and clean. The location is perfect , well within walking distance of restaurants and shops. The staff were all friendly and accommodating. The food was delicious and well presented. We can hardly wait to go back next year.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ecade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2010

This was my 43rd year at Stratford. I have stayed everywhere there over the years . This was one of my best experences , if not the best... The Front desk , the room and the service was GREAT. Everyone there was wonderful... Plus Location is great. Very walkable to everything in town... My new favorate place to stay for the next few years.... rooms 304 and 315 are great...

Joan,Ron and Bob from Grosse Pointe. mi....

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ronbob_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2010

We had gotten a wknd getaway as our wedding gift, and were lucky enough to use it this month..Upon check in we were greeted by a very nice, polite and friendly lady at the front desk. After checking into our room I was very impressed with the decor and the over all layout of the room. Very clean and tidy. I really liked the updated coffee maker in the room aswell. Although the weather was not so nice we were greatly impressed with the hotel and the staff and would definatly stay again to tour the Stratford area.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prettyinpink_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stratford hotels
1 mi away
Best Western Plus The Arden Park Hotel
0.9 mi away
The Bruce Hotel
The Bruce Hotel
#5 of 18 in Stratford
184 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercer Hotel
Mercer Hotel
#11 of 18 in Stratford
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Stratford Hotel
The Stratford Hotel
#1 of 18 in Stratford
344 reviews
2.1 mi away
Festival Inn
Festival Inn
#13 of 18 in Stratford
229 reviews
0.3 mi away
Queen's Inn at Stratford
Queen's Inn at Stratford
#9 of 18 in Stratford
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Parlour Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Parlour Inn

Address: 101 Wellington St, Stratford, Ontario N5A 2L4, Canada (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS The Parlour Historic Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Stratford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Stratford
#4 Romantic Hotel in Stratford
Price Range: $99 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Parlour Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Parlour Inn! Downtown. This historic property is located in the heart of the downtown and just minutes away from Stratford's business parks, Stratford festival theatres and adjacent to the University of Waterloo Stratford Campus. Fantastic dining room and Steakhouse on site. Meeting and conference rooms available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Parlour Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus The Parlour Historic Hotel Stratford
Best Western Stratford
Stratford Best Western
The Parlour Inn Stratford, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing