We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Parlour Inn!”
Review of The Parlour Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Parlour Inn
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Stratford
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Paul, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Loved the Parlour Inn!”
Reviewed September 20, 2008

We stayed in the Parlour Suite (rm 209) and our suite was really lovely. We had a huge whirlpool tub and a full dining room table and we really enjoyed the complementary expresso machine. The room was very clean and elegant but not overly fussy. The bedroom was separated from the rest of the suite with thick pocket doors and we found the bed comfortable. The front desk staff were friendly and quick to recommend local shops and restaurants. Thanks to them, we found the best tea shop ever (Distinctly Teas)! The staff was also very helpful and professional when we accidentally left behind an expensive MP3 player and they were great about mailing it back to us even though we live in the US. The location is second to none. You can walk to a wide variety of restaurants, cafes, and shops; not to mention the Avon Theatre is only 2 blocks away and the other theaters in Stratford only a 5 minute drive. We saw Caesar and Cleopatra with Christopher Plummer and would highly recommend this show. We had such a good time at this hotel that we plan to come back again next year. Thanks to all!

  • Liked — Location and the room
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank markbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    101
    14
    4
    0
See reviews for
55
190
17
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2008

Prior to establishment of the Inn, we had been big fans of the Parlour restaurant in Stratford for decades, particularly the escargot and British faire (fish and chips, shepherd's pie). So when we learned of the creation of the inn upstairs, we were excited. However, due to disability, we could not stay without an elevator, but now an excellent elevator (no long waits, considerably faster than a living escargot) serves the inns 4 levels. The inn has 24/7 desk staff, a relief over years of B&B stays when late arrival could inconvenience the host. The room was large, beautiful, and clean, with excellent wall thermostat and handy fridge. The lower level has an exercise room and business center with a pc which I often used for quick web use. Parking is generally good but weekend evenings can get crowded. Very close driving to the theatres and great restaurants. Only things on my wish list: room service (not too inconvenient because restaurant is just downstairs), newspapers to the door, and more drawer space.

  • Liked — Wonderful rooms, helpful staff, conveniently located
  • Disliked — Lack of room service and delivery of newspaper; lack of drawer space
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank TheLoveys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amelia Island, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2008

We recently stayed at The Parlour for one night while attending the Festival Theatre to see Caesar and Cleopatra (Christopher Plummer was amazing)

We were travelling with an elderly parent and so used two rooms located in a "family suite". This allowed us to close the door to the hall, yet leave the inner rooms accessible. This would also be great for families with children who want/need a little more space and privacy.

The renovations are complete and the rooms, while smallish were quite adequate, immaculately clean and nicely decorated. Check-in and check-out were a breeze, staff polite and accomodating.

The on-site restaurant (which we used for both lunch and dinner) has great atmosphere, acceptable service and inconsistant food quality.

We'd recommend The Parlour Inn and would definitely return if back in Stratford in the future.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SunniSu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Ontario
Level Contributor
186 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 383 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2008

My husband and I stayed at The Parlour for one night when we attended an evening performance of The Music Man. This hotel has much going for it.

First, the location is excellent. It is within walking distance of The Avon, a mere five minutes and you are there. It is also located in the centre of the shops and restaurants. Unless you have tickets at the main theatre, The Festival, you will park your car and not move it for the duration of your visit.

Second, the downstairs pub/restaurant is convenient and very good. We enjoyed a wonderful lunch there. Try the butter chicken, very yummy. We also had drinks on the patio after the performance and breakfast the next morning. Really good food and very reasonably priced.

Finally, the service in the hotel and the restaurant is excellent. Reception was quite happy to accomodate a request for an early check-in, which we really appreciated. Staff exchanges throughout our stay were always pleasant and friendly. A request for extra towels was answered promptly. The people who work in this hotel are genuinely concerned that their guests have a nice stay.

We stayed in a room overlooking the patio and it wasn't quite what it appeared to be in the picture ,posted on the hotel web site. Instead of a loveseat and coffee table, it had two chairs and a smaller table. It had been redecorated with newer curtains and bedding. I was surprised that the hotel uses bedspreads and blankets instead of duvets and there was no full length mirror in the room. My other criticism of the room was the washroom. The shower was small and the sink had very little storage area for personal toiletries. It was cramped. The room had a corner jacuzzi which was quite nice and quite large.

Overall, our visit was a good one in this hotel and we will consider staying there again when we visit Stratford.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Small washroom
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pokieman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bloomfield hills, mi
Level Contributor
85 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2008

There was still construction of the main lobby area when we arrived, but that really was not a problem at all. We stayed in room 307 and it was very nice. A small separate seating area, large bathroom with whirlpool (no counter space though), and a comfortable bed. Within easy walking distance to all theatres except for the Festival. That theatre is more of a LONG walk. While we did not eat in the restaurant it appeared very nice. All the staff was helpful and friendly. There is parking next to the Inn and that was nice as we parked our car and did not get in until time to leave.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adawosdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fla
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2008

The renovations are definitely taking a toll -- our stay was sort of a comedy of errors -- but once done, I think the hotel will be very nice. The staff are exceptionally helpful and friendly and the rooms are beautiful (maybe a bit too beautiful? It makes me nervous when there's no where to put down a water glass except on a fancy wood table where it will leave rings.)

However, if you are in town mainly to see plays at the main Festival theatre, be aware that it is a good 30-minute walk from the hotel. Unless the weather is perfect, you are going to want to drive. And if you're driving anyway, why pay such exorbitant rates to stay in town? This is not really a criticism of this hotel in particular (though its location somewhat exacerbates the problem) so much as a warning generally to Stratford newcomers who may be expecting everything to be 5 minutes from each other. The hotel *is* very close to the Avon and Studio theatres, and the Patterson theare is more like 20 minutes away. Check which plays you're going to and book accordingly.

Note also that the town and theatres appear to be almost half-empty at the moment, despite the high-season rates. I suspect that if gas prices stay high and the US dollar stays low, you might be able to negotiate a better deal than the list price. If not at this hotel, then certainly at one of the others. The whole area is going to have a grim summer if things don't pick up.

  • Liked — Very friendly, helpful staff
  • Disliked — HIgh price given the renovation problems
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank miomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParlourGuy, Owner/Operator at The Parlour Inn, responded to this review, August 13, 2008
Thank you for your comments. I am glad you were happy with the staff and the rooms, and am sorry for any concerns with the renovations (100% completed last month).
In terms of the distance to the Festival Theatre we generally find that guests prefer to stay in a downtown location, close to the Avon Theatre, Studio Theatre, all of the restaurants and shopping, and then only have to drive (or take a cab) to the Festival Theatre. Staying near the Festival means you have to drive for every meal, all shopping and the downtown theatres.
Often the first week of July is slow (with the Canadian and US holidays) besides that we have been only slightly slower than past years.
Thank you again for your comment and we hope to serve you in the futures
Randy Simpson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinsdale, Illinois
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2008

We were a little disappointed to see that the hotel is under construction this year as of May 2008. They have been bought by Best Western. The parking lot was messy and a little scary to park in as big trucks, crains etc are vieing for space with your car...a bit of a nuisance. BUT, we were upgraded to a very nice room, without asking to make up for inconvenience. It had a large kingsize bed, a living area complete with a small sink, fridge and microwave. Bathroom had a smallish whirlpool but none-the-less, great I imagine, in the winter months. Dinner was a bit pricey but good. Staff anxious to please and warm and welcoming. There were nice little touches in the suite...and it was beautifully decorated with expensive drapes and accessories.
The hotel is right downtown and within walking distance to several restaurants and the Avon and Studio Theatres. Literally one block away, which is a real plus when getting out of a show at 11 in the evening.
The Stratford Festival is really wonderful, as usual, this year. Plan on seeing Hamlet and Music Man. Both were stellar performances. I would encourage Americans to continue come to Canada, even though the currency is on par and the border crossing is tiresome and annoying. We were asked to show our theatre tickets as well as our passports. What's with that?

  • Liked — Close to two theatres and downtown
  • Disliked — Hotel under construction, but quiet, none-the-less
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParlourGuy, Owner/Operator at The Parlour Inn, responded to this review, June 19, 2008
Thank you for the review, we looking forward to seeing you again. The construction is wrapping up (will be finished in about 2 weeks). The new rooms are opening June 20th and the Elevator is accessible! We will be the first Branded hotel in Stratford later this summer, branding as a Best Western. We are still under the same ownership and management
Randy Simpson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stratford hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercer Hall Inn
Mercer Hall Inn
#9 of 18 in Stratford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus The Arden Park Hotel
0.9 mi away
The Bruce Hotel
The Bruce Hotel
#3 of 18 in Stratford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Stratford Hotel
The Stratford Hotel
#1 of 18 in Stratford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
0.2 mi away
Annex Room Restaurant & Inn
Annex Room Restaurant & Inn
#13 of 18 in Stratford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
2.1 mi away
Festival Inn
Festival Inn
#14 of 18 in Stratford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Parlour Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Parlour Inn

Property: The Parlour Inn
Address: 101 Wellington St, Stratford, Ontario N5A 2L4, Canada (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS The Parlour Historic Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Stratford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Stratford
#5 Family Hotel in Stratford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Parlour Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Parlour Inn !Downtown. This historic property is located in the heart of the downtown and just minutes away from Stratford's business parks, Stratford festival theatres and adjacent to the University of Waterloo Stratford Campus. Fantastic dining room and gastro-pub on site. Meeting and conference rooms available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your The Parlour Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus The Parlour Historic Hotel Stratford
Best Western Stratford
Stratford Best Western
The Parlour Inn Stratford, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing