We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable but not luxury and stingy on amenities”
Review of The Parlour Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Parlour Inn
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Stratford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 2, 2011

I expect at their prices to have bathrobes and a breakfast covered in the room charge. This is a clean comfortable hotel but it is no more than a 3 star. I would rather stay at the Mercer Inn where fresh fruit, cookies, real coffee and tea are provided in the room and you get breakfast as well in their restaurant. Best Western is just a chain. I will say that their staff is very pleasant.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liz56TorontoON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theparlour, Owner at The Parlour Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2011

Hello, thank you for your review. We are very happy to hear that you found our property clean and comfortable and that our staff is very pleasant. Our property does offer different amenities that the one that you have mentioned, which include 24 hour front desk, our own parking lot and an elevator. Though Best Western is a chain we are owner operated and we believe that (most) of our reviews show the experience that we offer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (397)
There are newer reviews for The Parlour Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

336 - 342 of 397 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2011

A very old inn with a lot of character. Our room (212) was spacious and well appointed with firm but comfortable beds. Bathroom has a large jet tub, upgraded fixtures. Freshly painted and decorated nicely. Lots of clean white fluffy towels. Most of all, really clean! Given the age of this building, it smelled and looked clean and fresh. Bar/restaurant downstairs has been kept original with gorgeous wood restored lovingly and reminded me of a pub I went to in Edinborough Scotland quite a few years ago. Staff were wonderful. The receptionist offered umbrellas to us as we were heading out in the rain. Breakfast of French toast on fruit was delicious and so was the coffee. There isn't a pool here, so I wouldn't recommend it for children, but it is a lovely place to stay nonetheless. Downtown shopping is a short walk up the street.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robinsky2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2011

My husband and I went to Stratford for our anniversary and enjoyed every minute of our stay at the Best Western Parlour Inn & Suites. You can really see the pride of ownership throughout the property and even with the handout presented at check-in. The rooms were clean and comfortable. We ate dinner at their restuarant and enjoyed every bite. All of the staff were very friendly and helpful as well. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone that is traveling to Stratford - for business or leisure.

Room Tip: Just ask!
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gillian_605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2011

This place is greatly located in downtown stratford. We arrived early and they were comprehensive and gave us a room early to change and visit the town. THAT IS GOOD SERVICE. The rooms were clean but a bit small because it is an historic building.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYCPQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2010

I generally eschew staying in chain hotels in favour of independent options, but chose the BW in Stratford out of necessity, and I must say, I was more than surprised by the entire experience. We stayed only one night, so can't comment on the amenities, but during our time there we felt very welcome, and even appreciated. The hotel was very clean, well appointed, and the service was simply exceptional at every turn. Our room was fantastic as we were given an upgrade, which of course always helps a positive review, but that wasn't even the best part; the best was how we were treated.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skiwithjill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2010

Well situated in Stratford, with theatres all within walking distance. Lovely, large rooms and kind hotel staff.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank payah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2010

We traveled to Stratford, from the Niagara region, specifically to see Christopher Plummer at the Stratford theater. Unfortunately, we got stuck in horrific traffic due to an accident (three hours of non-moving traffic). Being from the States, we had no idea what numbers to call or how to get information, so we called our hotel, although I'm not sure what we thought they could do. Shelley, the manager, was so nice and so helpful, going out of her way to find us highway information numbers, looking at maps to help us find the fastest alternate route, etc. She truly went above and beyond the call of duty, and we were so grateful!! Exceptionally friendly and nice. She made us feel like long-lost friends rather than customers. We finally made it to our performance, but we were tired by the time we got to the hotel. The rooms were neat and clean, tastefully decorated, the front desk staff very helpful, giving us a fantastic recommendation for dinner. We don't normally stay at Best Westerns in the States; we picked this place based on the TripAdvisor reviews, and we definitely didn't regret it!! Would absolutely recommend. Thanks again to all the staff and Shelley.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rsbk4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stratford hotels
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus The Arden Park Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Stratford Hotel
The Stratford Hotel
#1 of 18 in Stratford
321 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Bruce Hotel
The Bruce Hotel
#4 of 18 in Stratford
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mercer Hall Inn
Mercer Hall Inn
#9 of 18 in Stratford
290 reviews
2.1 mi away
Festival Inn
Festival Inn
#13 of 18 in Stratford
217 reviews
0.2 mi away
Annex Room Restaurant & Inn
Annex Room Restaurant & Inn
#15 of 18 in Stratford
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Parlour Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Parlour Inn

Address: 101 Wellington St, Stratford, Ontario N5A 2L4, Canada (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS The Parlour Historic Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Stratford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Stratford
#5 Family Hotel in Stratford
Price Range: $126 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Parlour Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Parlour Inn! Downtown. This historic property is located in the heart of the downtown and just minutes away from Stratford's business parks, Stratford festival theatres and adjacent to the University of Waterloo Stratford Campus. Fantastic dining room and Steakhouse on site. Meeting and conference rooms available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Parlour Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus The Parlour Historic Hotel Stratford
Best Western Stratford
Stratford Best Western
The Parlour Inn Stratford, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing