We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful place”
Review of Acrylic Dreams

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stratford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Acrylic Dreams
Ranked #16 of 89 Stratford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
mt prospect.Il
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“wonderful place”
Reviewed April 1, 2007

I have been here twice (2005 and 2006) and am booked to go again in 2007. This is a lovely casual B&B with 2 friendly hosts. The breakfasts they create are unbelieveable. Every day a delicious creation using lots of freshfruit. It is convenient to all of the venues. Easy walking to town. You are right in a real neigborhood.
Barbara

  • Liked — The wonderful breakfasts
  • Disliked — nothing I didn't like
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank benyedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    7
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
41
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
SC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 1, 2007

This is a truly wonderful Bed and Breakfast. It is in a beautiful cottage on a quiet street in Stratford, yet has all the comforts of home. My friends and I have been coming to Stratford for 6 years and have stayed with Karen and Jack for the last 5, and plan to continue for many more!

The rooms are comfortable, with lovely beds, and ensuite in each room, as well as touches like a small refridgerator, chocolates on the bed and a comfortable porch and sitting room.

Breakfast is always wonderful. My friends have dietary restrictions, and have yet to have a bad meal here. The food is excellent, beautifully presented and plentiful. The dining room is well decorated with original paintings, and costumes and props from some of the plays.

When you are in town for up to two weeks, like we are, it's nice to have a place that is not sterile, but seems like a comfortable place to come home to, and that's what you have here.

  • Liked — Very comfortable rooms, and you feel like it's home.
  • Disliked — Parking when the house is full. Sometimes you get locked in by the person behind you.
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Bevie_Bad_Girl_South
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2007

We have regularly visited Stratford from the US for several years and found Acrylic Dreams on the recommendation of our "regular" B&B operated by a Festival staff person who closed. It is quiet, comfortable, and convenient. We have had several extended stays. A very well known Stratford Festival actress lives next door on this quiet residential street though noone would dream of invading her privacy. Jack and Karen are wonderful hosts and the fact that they share our love of visiting Paris is an added conversational plus. Jack's paintings (hence Acrylic Dreams) are part of the pleasure of a stay. We've bought two though we had to initiate the conversation...you would never know from him that they were available. The breakfasts are works of art too. We have yet to try the reflexology or chair massage they offer, but that activity is low key and completely unobtrusive.

We're headed back next month.

  • Liked — Facilities and hosts friendliness
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FestivalFans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okemos, MI
Level Contributor
81 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2007

We've been going here for at least a decade, sometimes for 3-4 trips a season (spring, summer, fall) and we could not recommend it more highly. First there are your hosts, Jack and Karen. They are warm, funny, smart, well-traveled and well-read, unpretentious. They set the tone, and explain why so many fascinating nice people come there: we've met singers, artists, writers, colorful families and all kinds of great people.

The breakfasts are gourmet vegetarian and a delight to behold as well as healthy and delicious. We've stayed in both upstairs suites and find them roomy and charming. Karen does reflexology and that's a great bonus if you've never had it.

They are a charming couple full of information about the area and the Festival and they have lots of great stories about the shows and stars, many of whom they know. For us, Acrylic Dreams is something of a home away from home and driving up to it every year we always feel welcomed and relaxed.

Oh, and another thing: the street is very quiet for all you light sleepers!

I couldn't imagine spending time anywhere else in Stratford when attending the Festival.

  • Liked — Roominess
  • Disliked — Not my own bed!
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LevRaphael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
203 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2006

Stayed for one night over a weekend in and around Stratford/St Jacobs. This B&B is in an old house in a lovely quiet treelined street, yet within easy walking distance of town centre. Karen is a very welcoming hostess. We had a front room which was quite small but perfectly adequate. The bed was so comfortable and there were nice little touches such as chocolates on the pillow, little books and bottled water in the small fridge. Breakfast was unusual but very good. A selection of breakfast goodies such as fresh fruit, a warm cheese and asparagus tart with tomato, slice of lemon poppy seed loaf, and wholewheat toast was served in a very pretty dining room. It felt very homely and comfortable. There's a small sitting room and an enclosed porch for guests to relax in too.

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Bellini6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stratford hotels
0.4 mi away
The Bruce Hotel
The Bruce Hotel
#3 of 18 in Stratford
147 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Parlour Inn
The Parlour Inn
#2 of 18 in Stratford
376 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Stratford Hotel
The Stratford Hotel
#1 of 18 in Stratford
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus The Arden Park Hotel
0.7 mi away
Stone Maiden Inn
Stone Maiden Inn
#5 of 89 in Stratford
279 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ambassador B&B Guest Home
Ambassador B&B Guest Home
#29 of 89 in Stratford
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acrylic Dreams? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acrylic Dreams

Property: Acrylic Dreams
Address: 66 Bay St, Stratford, Ontario N5A 4K6, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Stratford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 89 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Acrylic Dreams B&B has been a welcoming sanctuary for theater, travel, and art aficionados since 1987. All in a yellow brick 1879 Ontario cottage on a quiet tree lined street walking distance to all theatres and downtown. Antiques and original art reflect the creative owners. Fresh and local food are featured in gourmet breakfasts. Spa amenities available include blissful reflexology and relaxing chair massage. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Acrylic Dreams Stratford, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing