We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, year after year”
Review of Acrylic Dreams

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stratford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Acrylic Dreams
Ranked #20 of 89 Stratford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 16, 2009

We just returned from our 7th stay at Acrylic Dreams for our annual visit to the Shakespeare Festival. The B&B is very homey with wonderful breakfasts. Karen and Jack are gracious hosts, eager to please the varying preferences of their guests, and great sources of info about the plays and restaurants. Karen also gives wonderful reflexology; your feet never felt so good. The other guests are fun to talk with as you come and go.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyPlayGoer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (80)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 80 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2009

It could be because we were in the B&B's smallest room, but this was the first time that tripadvisor let me down. The room was just a bit larger than the bed and it was far from inviting. The ensuite bathroom toilet was just a few feet from a sleeper's head and the whole bathroom was small and cramped, just like the room. At $120 a night, we were expecting something more.

Positive notes: The hosts were very pleasant and helpful, the location is great ... close to the theaters on a quiet street. They did mention that the other rooms were quite a bit larger, but I am reviewing our stay. We left after one night and drove back to Chicago after a matinee.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2009

Acrylic Dreams is...well dreamy.

I stayed in one of the ensuites which was charming with little flowers dancing across the room. Comfortable bed, very clean and restful. Wicker furniture, rocking chair, small frig complete the suite. The home was surrounded with wild flowers providing a wonderful frame to this B&B.

The hosts, Karen & Jack, are efficient and friendly but not obtrusive. Breakfast, compliments of Jack, was fresh and tasty. Coffee was outstanding - rich and bold. Karen was there to meet our every need.

The availability of spa services (chair massage and reflexology) was an additional choice that was enjoyed.

The practical aspect is the location to the downtown area and the theaters. The location is a quiet friendly street but so close to everything.

This is an experience that will not disappoint.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bseashore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2009

Had a dreamy stay at Acrylic Dreams - it was a girls weekend and we can't wait to do it again next year. Jack and Karen are these lovely kind of bohemian, warm hosts and the B&B is just so cool - lots or wild flowers in the garden, eclectic art all over the walls, lots of interesting details. We sat out in the garden munching on appetizers and drinking wine and as it got later and later we realized we didn't even want to go to dinner because we were enjoying it in the garden so much. Karen came out with a lantern to give us some light as it got dark - so thoughtful. Love the place!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ThisandThatToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2009

Karen and Jack were wonderful hosts. Their hospitality was generous and heartfelt. Breakfast was delicious and included homemade goodies. We included a spa package and that was great too. Jack does a great chair massage, but don't pass up on Karen's reflexology treatment....an hour of pure delight. We look forward to staying with Jack and Karen again.

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Snickersma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2009

Acrylic Dreams B&B in Stratford was such a wonderful experience; not just for its comfortable room, scrumptious breakfast and caring hosts, but for the sheer luxury of my first ever reflexology treatment and chair massage. Thanks Karen and Jack for a very special mid winter getaway treat!
Judy Dickens, Deep River, Ontario

3  Thank jude05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2008

We had been to Stratford several times and had always been disappointed in the B&Bs we stayed in -- until now! Now that we've found Acrylic Dreams, we will never stay anywhere else when visiting Stratford. The room was beautiful, clean and comfortable; the food was fresh, abundant and delicious. The hosts were friendly, helpful and kind. A five minute walk to the train station and a ten minute walk to the theatre. What more could we ask for?

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MegInOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stratford hotels
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus The Arden Park Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Parlour Inn
The Parlour Inn
#5 of 18 in Stratford
400 reviews
0.7 mi away
Stone Maiden Inn
Stone Maiden Inn
#5 of 89 in Stratford
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Old Rectory
The Old Rectory
#7 of 89 in Stratford
149 reviews
0.7 mi away
Legacy House Bed and Breakfast
0.7 mi away
Arbour Garden Bed & Breakfast
Arbour Garden Bed & Breakfast
#36 of 89 in Stratford
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acrylic Dreams? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acrylic Dreams

Address: 66 Bay St, Stratford, Ontario N5A 4K6, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Stratford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 89 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford
Price Range: $108 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a feast for the senses and warm hospitality in an art inspired 1879 B&B in the heart of Stratford. Celebrate in style! Dream the night away in one of 4 unique and romantic guest bedrooms all with ensuites, free WiFi, bar fridges, wine glasses and corkscrews, most with TVs. Wake to festive, gourmet breakfasts. A welcoming sanctuary surrounded by gardens for theatre, travel, and art aficionados since 1987. Relax with our onsite spa amenities available including blissful reflexology and hands on chair massage. You may never want to leave... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Acrylic Dreams Stratford, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing