We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“small-town inn” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Albert Street Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Albert Street Inn
Ranked #17 of 18 Hotels in Stratford
Gatineau, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“small-town inn”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

I know I'm going against the tide, but my daughter and I stayed here on July 30 and 31. Possibly those theatre-goers who pay over $100 a ticket to see a play expect high-quality accommodation. For those of us who really want just a good location, a clean and spacious room and who don' t mind a past-its-prime somewhat run-down small town hotel, the Albert Inn will do just fine. If not, there are many B&Bs in Stratford. But for us, the Albert Inn is nicely impersonal and nostalgically reminded us of student lodgings. Plus there was AC!

Room Tip: We liked the 2 double beds with our own space/ bedside lamps.
See more room tips
Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Claire182166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    39
    33
    39
    49
See reviews for
27
66
22
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dearborn, Michigan
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

We stayed for two nights on August 2nd and 3rd because the hotel we normally stay at was booked and we had play tickets. This hotel was a dump - horrible in every way. We were "stuck" because we had play tickets. The carpet in the hallways were filthy - and no one is at the desk after 8 pm so after the play you walk into an empty semi-lit lobby. The parking spaces were all taken, even though I had arranged for a spot, and the answer was to park across the street until the next day because parking is free after 6 pm. (then what?? - parking meters start at 9 am). Given the graffiti on the building outside it didn't seem real safe to park there anyway. The room was old - furniture drawers unable to close, bathroom door unable to close - no peep hole in the door to see who might be out in the hallway. We were on the "second floor" which meant going down some stairs after walking down a long hallway - we felt unsafe. Window air condidtioner did not allow you to close your drapes - so morning sun woke us up at 6 am (like someone had turned on all the lights in the room) along with the trash men at 7 am to empty the dumpster and a delivery truck at 7:30 am. Bedding seemed to be clean - no headboards. Faucet in bathroom sink had not been updated since the days of hot faucet on the left - cold faucet on the right so washing your hands was either hot or cold. Paint was peeling off of the wall. Tub was lined with linoleum type tile, but seemed to be clean. There was a dirty plunger in a bucket by the toilet that we didn't have to use. We were told that we could get ice from the restaurant next door - but no ice buckets available. We were given a bowl to use. The ONLY good thing about this hotel was the location. I feel sorry for the ladies who work behind the desk.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Serena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Stratford hotels

Willow Beach
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

The only redeeming feature is that the bedding appears to be very clean. Bathroom walls cracked, room crowded, front desk only open between 8 a.m. and 8 p.m. They even gave me grief when I wanted to check out shortly after 8 a.m. . . . said check out wasn't until 11. No parking available unless you check in early.

Never again.

Room Tip: read the reviews . . . I went on recommendation of an agency . . . would not recommend this to anyon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Schnigglefritz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

Run down, dirty carpets, rooms reeked of paint. STAY AWAY!!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wxuz11234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2012

We were staying in Stratford for the weekend, so we checked in on Saturday and the desk clerk tells us that she's leaving at 6 PM, and that there will be no staff at the hotel for the rest of the weekend (it was New Year's Eve). We were given the front door keys to the hotel, and were told that there was no rush checking out the next day, just leave the keys at the desk when you leave. We were the only guests in the entire hotel that night. Talk about small-town trust - we had an entire hotel to ourselves, with no staff, guests or security.
The hotel itself is just good enough to do the job - great location, filled with Stratford Festival memorabilia on the walls, the price is right - but still a bit of general dustiness and disrepair (our TV was straight out of the late-80s) to remind you that this hotel is a relic from a bygone era when it must have been quite the luxury destination. We wandered around the halls a bit (hey, it was our own hotel for the night) and couldn't help but get a general sense of creepiness from the winding, dim corridors and creaky floorboards, like this was a horror movie waiting to happen. Our taxi driver later matter-of-factly told us that the hotel was haunted by several ghosts, one of whom was a young girl, and one of whom was a bride who died on her wedding day (in room 301, if you were wondering.) I'm not a big believer in ghost stories or anything, but it was enough to creep us out.
Overall if you're looking for quirky charm and character this is your place in Stratford, but if you want perks (like, say, an elevator, or clean carpets) I'd splurge on the Festival Inn.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Matthew E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2011

Just got back from a business trip to the Stratford area.I stayed at the Albert St Inn.This small hotel could have possibilities, and be a sweet little place to stay, but the owners have let it fall into a disgusting state.The carpets are filthy.They close the front desk at 7 Pm,which is weird,since no one is there in care of a problem.The room heating stinks.Anyways if the owner put a few dollars into the place it would be so nice.If I owned it, or managed it, it would be the toast of the town!!!!

Room Tip: Stay way from the front rooms facing the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Earl Issac K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2011

This, I imagine, was once a lovely building in it's prime. Unfortunately, it is very run down. The carpets are stained, the hallways are dark and dingy. There is no elevator, but it Stratford's boutique hotels that is to be expected so for us, not a deterrent, but others may struggle. The room was very small, at some point our window had been egged (long ago, I suspect) but never cleaned up, stains on the carpet and duvet, and the bathroom is the smallest I've ever seen. I mean you can sit on the toilet and brush your teeth in the sink without leaning forward while soaking your feet in the tub. There is a wee little coffee maker in the room, but no fridge. If you want ice you have to get it from the restaurant downstairs. There is no staff on site overnight, they begin work at 8am; we were at the front desk at 8am to check out. Do yourself a favour and stay at Mercer Hall instead.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Picky74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stratford hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercer Hall Inn
Mercer Hall Inn
#8 of 18 in Stratford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Arden Park Hotel
0.1 mi away
Queen's Inn at Stratford
Queen's Inn at Stratford
#11 of 18 in Stratford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Parlour Inn
The Parlour Inn
#2 of 18 in Stratford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
0.0 mi away
Annex Room Restaurant & Inn
Annex Room Restaurant & Inn
#13 of 18 in Stratford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.3 mi away
Stone Maiden Inn
Stone Maiden Inn
#5 of 89 in Stratford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albert Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albert Street Inn

Property: Albert Street Inn
Address: 23 Albert St, Stratford, Ontario N5A 3K2, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Stratford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 18 Hotels in Stratford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Albert Street Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Albert Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albert Street Hotel Stratford
Albert Street Motel
Albert Street Inn Stratford, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing