We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Such a dissapointment”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Stone Maiden Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Stone Maiden Inn
Ranked #5 of 89 Stratford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Orange County, CA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Such a dissapointment”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

Travelling with a friend, we spent the first night of our three in Stratford at the Stone Maiden Inn. Right from the start, it was disappointing. The parking space was extremely cramped, so my friend stopped in the driveway for us to unload our bags near the entrance. I entered as she lugged a suitcase up the walk. When the owner finally appeared, he yelled at my friend to move her car so others could enter the driveway--sort of moot, since there was no parking space. The rather dour owner then left us, two women in their 60s, to get our bags up three flights of steep stairs to our room. The room was not only extremely small, it was dirty, including a pile of perhaps 100 or more bugs under the wooden chair which is described on the website as "a small sitting area." There was literally not enough floorspace in the room to set up the suitcase valet. The owner removed the bugs, but offered no apology. The window air conditioner was filthy. We had breakfast the next morning, but then, with trepidation, approached the owner and told him we could not stay the additional two nights because of asthma and allergy problems we were experiencing owing to the poor housekeeping. The best I can say about this stay was (1) the breakfast was very nice, and (2) he let us move out without an argument about a refund. We found a terrific place to stay in the middle of town that was five times the size, with kitchenette, and clean, at a lower price.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mommya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stonemaiden, Owner at Stone Maiden Inn, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
We are very sorry to hear that you were so disappointed with your stay at the Stone Maiden Inn. If you read our other Tripadvisor reviews, you will notice that your experience was unique and perhaps clouded by particular circumstances of the day and time which you arrived. However, we are always striving to improve and appreciate all feedback.
It is good to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast and that you found alternate accommodations that were more suitable to your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    62
    12
    4
    3
See reviews for
33
160
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

We spent two nights in the Secret Garden room and were very comfortable. Breakfasts are delicious and hosts are very welcoming and helpful
Was a very pleasant escape and Stratford is a great place to wonder
Mary & Roger

Room Tip: Secret Garden is cosy but spacious and very private
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 49MES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

Pat, the owner of The Stone Maiden was very friendly and helpful! We felt very welcomed upon our arrival. The building itself is gorgeous with a very historical feel, which we loved. The rooms were also stunning, each with their own personality. Breakfast the next morning was incredible! We would go back just for the food (yes, that good!) But there are so many other things to return for as well. We will defiantly bookmark this place as a local(ish) favourite of ours :)

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely, but the "Romeo and Juliet" suite was perfect for couples!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MandyJenkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

Spent a night at the Stone Maiden Inn as part of a weekend getaway. This is our third visit and we do enjoy it. Pat and Trish are very pleasant and helpful. Rooms are clean and comfortable, and breakfast is DELICIOUS! Richard & Sharon

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

Beautiful property, very helpful owner, so many options for rooms. The breakfast was fresh delicious and presentation A1.....Gorgeous dining room full of light decorated to match the Victorian building. We were there for the Christmas season special time of the year to enjoy the lovely tree and decor. Quiet bedroom on the 3 rd floor very comfortable. The owner provided all the little touches to make our stay more comfortable. Good brewed coffee, teas waiting for us in the morning before breakfast. Already planning to return in the spring with more friends. Will be our place to book in Stratford!

Room Tip: Lots of choice...maybe talk to owner for help choosing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judyk911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

Just spent a wonderful night at the beautiful Stone Maiden Inn. The hosts Pat & Trish were very welcoming and felt at home from the minute we stepped in the door. We were a small group of 8 and they were kind enough to put on a special lovely dinner for our group. The chef Erin did a fabulous job on dinner and even offered 2 entrée choices so that all the guests likes could be accommodated. Breakfast was amazing . . . definitely will be back for the Eggs Benedict. The room was charming and loved the special touch of the "towel swans" on the bed upon arrival. A lovely and quaint Inn with easy access to all the shopping that Stratford has to offer. Definitely will return . . .
Sandi

Room Tip: Each room is unique ... Romeo & Juliet perfect for a romantic getaway
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

This inn is a wonderful place to stay. Pat and Trish were great and the breakfast was excellent. Thanks again Pat and Trish. I would recommend
The Stone Maiden Inn to anyone that would like something different from the regular hotel. I will come again.
Very clean and decor is beautiful.
Norman

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manchester4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stratford hotels
0.4 mi away
Mercer Hall Inn
Mercer Hall Inn
#8 of 18 in Stratford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Arden Park Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Parlour Inn
The Parlour Inn
#3 of 18 in Stratford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Bruce Hotel
The Bruce Hotel
#4 of 18 in Stratford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.3 mi away
Annex Room Restaurant & Inn
Annex Room Restaurant & Inn
#13 of 18 in Stratford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.5 mi away
Agincourt Manor
Agincourt Manor
#33 of 89 in Stratford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stone Maiden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone Maiden Inn

Property: Stone Maiden Inn
Address: 123 Church St, Stratford, Ontario N5A 2R3, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Stratford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 89 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stone Maiden Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1873 Victorian Mansion with 14 guestrooms all with en-suite, antiques set in a quiet residential neighbourhood. Rated at 4.5/5 stars under the Federation of Bed and Breakfast Association of Ontario. Spa services now available. Hot chef prepared gourmet breakfast menu daily included. Park and walk everywhere. Stratford is home to Justin Bieber, the Stratford Festival, and many culinary events... always something to do year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Stone Maiden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stone Maiden Hotel Stratford
Stone Maiden Inn Stratford, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing