We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our First B&B”
Review of Stone Maiden Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Stone Maiden Inn
Ranked #5 of 89 Stratford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Our First B&B”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

My fiancee and I stayed in the Romeo and Juliet Suite this July during our first trip to Stratford.
This was our first B&B experience so we did not know what to expect. We travelled by foot, so it was a bit of a hike from the train station to the house.

When we arrived, we were greeted kindly and allowed entry to our room even though we were a few hours early. We were impressed by the gorgeous 2 person tub and the comfortable bed with endless shapes and sizes of pillows! The 2 towels on the bed that were folded into swans were a cute touch. The bathroom in the suite was tiny and the shower wasn't well lit, but we did't mind since we took advantage of the tub. The house as a whole was quite charming (I love the collection of old cameras on the second floor mantle), very clean, and quiet.

The chef did an extraordinary job accommodating my dietary restrictions (vegetarian and diabetic!), making a delicious fruit crumble and breakfast risotto. My partner raved about the coffee cake all day.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rinmixer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStoneMaidenInn, Owner at Stone Maiden Inn, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review us and your first B&B experience. We are so glad that you loved your stay. We are about a 10 minute walk from the train station making it dooable on foot rather than a cab for those coming in by train. Glad you liked the swans - that's what Stratford is all about! We are only too happy to accommodate your dietary restrictions and are glad you loved the options. Would love to see you again sometime soon. All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    66
    13
    4
    3
See reviews for
36
177
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

property is clean but tired. broadloom needs replacing, too much furniture in small bedroom, bathroom needs renovating and decent sized soap! breakfast was very good and owners helpful, but there are better b&bs in Stratford. unfortunately many require 2 night minimum.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MVFM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStoneMaidenInn, Owner at Stone Maiden Inn, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
I am sorry you feel our property is lacking in period charm and wish you would have discussed it with us so that we could have accommated you with a move to another property. Our long term guests love and comment on how beautifully we are restoring our home to original at great time, effort and expesnse instead of just replacing with new, the amazing breakfasts, common areas for guest use etc. Yes, we have only had the property for two years and wish we could do all the changes at once but having already spent over $250K and some things just have to wait. The balance of the renovations are scheduled for this winter. We wish you well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We stayed at the SMI for an early anniversary get-away. Mostly the stay was lovely. Breakfast was FANTASTIC. I had a particularly good homemade scone and my husband raved about the coffee (I don't drink the stuff myself). Pat and Kim are gracious hosts, friendly without unwelcomed hovering and they are very helpful.

I would have given the property 5 stars, but for a few small issues. We stayed in Romeo and Juliet. The bathroom is incredibly small (claustrophobically small) with a linoleum floor. This surprised me considering the price of the room. Also, the room could probably use a bit of updating with fresh paint. Also we were woken by a train in the middle of the night. Obviously this is not something the innkeepers have control over, but just a piece of information to keep in mind.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmurray234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStoneMaidenInn, Owner at Stone Maiden Inn, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide your review. Yes, putting bathrooms into a 130 year old house is a bit of a challenge sometimes and the woman that designed the home for a B&B 30 years ago did well with what she had to work with in a few of the rooms. We've taken over the property two years ago and have done a ton of renovations so far but unfortunately just can't do it all at once - wish we could but that bathroom is on the list for this fall for a freshen. The room itself was just redone with new paper, flooring, two person soaker tub, furniture, rugs, fireplace, artwork etc. Glad you loved the breakfast and our Chef Erin is amazing. We get a lot of requests to take her home. The train, well, since the hurricane in Goderich, the train gets in and out when it can as so much damage was done to the salt mines. We generally don't see it for weeks on end and sorry that it happen to come by that night. You're actually the first to say they heard it at night as it generally goes between 9 a.m. and 4 p.m. Hope you have a wonderful summer and see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

My daughter and I travelled to Stratford on a theatre vacation. We stayed in the" Petit Chambre" on the first floor. This room is very affordable for central Stratford and we were happy with the quiet location and comfortable surroundings.We enjoyed the outdoor patio and the welcoming parlor. This little room is perfect for two travellers who appreciate quality on a budget. We arrived by train and the VIA station is less than 15 minutes walk from the B&B. We walked to the Festival Theatre along the Avon River in 30 minutes and the B&B is only 10 minutes from the Avon Theatre.
We have had the opportunity to sample some wonderful accommodations and we were very impressed with the accommodating hosts. The breakfast was delicious and there are lots of options for folks with special dietary needs. We had an early departure and we were able to eat breakfast before the regularly scheduled time.
This is a wonderful property . You will appreciate the tranquil surroundings and helpful owners. The inn is an architectural gem and the enhancement of dependable wireless Internet and air conditioning enables you to stay in touch in comfort.
We hope to return for next year's line up of great theatre!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eastcoastdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStoneMaidenInn, Owner at Stone Maiden Inn, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
You feedback is so sweet as were the both of you. It was our pleasure to meet you and glad that we can offer a variety of rooms at a variety of prices for every budget. I like your term "quality on a budget" so hope you don't mind us using it. Our guests love the breakfast menu options as well as the option to eat at their own preferred time. Our new outdoor sitting area is a big hit with guests to enjoy morning, noon or night. It would be our pleasure to welcome you as friends next year as it is going to be another notable year for excellent plays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south bend
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Our first stay here out of the 4 years we have traveled up to Stratford. Lovely B&B in a lovely neighborhood. The room we had was "Harahel" which had a king bed, couch/sitting area, smallish bathroom with shower. It was on the 3rd floor which involved taking some stairs, but we did not mind. Just down our stairs was a fridge where we could store any food we brought along for the trip, ice buckets, ice, wine keys and glasses, etc. That was really nice to have so close by. They have a sweet little sitting area outside with wicker furniture where we enjoyed or coffee. We have stayed much closer to town and to the theatres so I would say that is the only drawback, the extra walking to and from restaurants and theatre. The breakfasts are very good, everyone was extremely helpful and nice. We traveled in a group and we all have nothing but good things to say about our stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sbendpassport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStoneMaidenInn, Owner at Stone Maiden Inn, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
We are glad to have met you and your friends and pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are about a 5 minute walk to the downtown core .. just far enough to be away from the busy street noise but in a quaint residential area. We appreciate your noting the guest fridge and stocked bar accessories for guest use... We love our outdoor sitting area and often find people napping/reading as they relax and rejuvinate. Glad you loved our breakfasts and our team is pleased to have been of help to your group. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

i absolutely love this inn the rooms are very quaint the breakfast unbelievably fantastic the innkeepers kim and pat extrememly down to earth and friendly the location walkable to everything only a few minutes from the avon river just beautiful a must stay if you are in stratford although i would like to keep it my own secret it truly is a wonderful spot this was our second stay with many more to come

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debbie k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStoneMaidenInn, Owner at Stone Maiden Inn, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Thank you and it was so nice to see you again and hope you had a very nice birthday stay. Sorry, the secret is out... we are very busy this year and already booking into next year. :) Glad you loved the breakfast and our beautiful Inn... hope to see you again soon. Come see us in the winter for our spa/romance package...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Stone Maiden Inn is a very nice B&B - we stayed in the Annabelle room. It was spacious with a separate loveseat sofa, as well as a large bathroom with clawfoot tub. The Inn was very quiet and we had no trouble sleeping - great mattress. The 2 breakfasts we had there were awesome - juices, fruit crumble, and your choice of 5 different breakfasts to choose from each day (and the menu changes daily). If you have a chance to get the Orange cream french toast, it was delicious! Walking to the Festival Theatre is do-able but it is a bit of a hike, but you're just a few blocks from Ontario and Downie streets - the main shopping areas. Innkeepers Pat and Kim were very helpful and made us dinner reservations. I would definitely return the next time we visit Stratford.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hoosiertraveler2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Stone Maiden Inn, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
It was a pleasure to meet you both. We appreciate your taking the time to provide the review and are very happy that you enjoyed your stay, breakfasts and dinner recommendations. Stratford is know for food, plays, and romance... We are very conveniently located to the downtown core with most guests able to park and walk. See you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stratford hotels
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus The Arden Park Hotel
1.1 mi away
The Bruce Hotel
The Bruce Hotel
#4 of 18 in Stratford
164 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Stratford Hotel
The Stratford Hotel
#1 of 18 in Stratford
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mercer Hall Inn
Mercer Hall Inn
#9 of 18 in Stratford
286 reviews
2.2 mi away
Festival Inn
Festival Inn
#14 of 18 in Stratford
209 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Old Rectory
The Old Rectory
#6 of 89 in Stratford
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stone Maiden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone Maiden Inn

Property: Stone Maiden Inn
Address: 123 Church St, Stratford, Ontario N5A 2R3, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Stratford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 89 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stone Maiden Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1873 Victorian Mansion with 15 guestrooms all with en-suite, antiques set in a quiet residential neighbourhood. Rated at 4.5/5 stars under the Federation of Bed and Breakfast Association of Ontario. Hot chef prepared gourmet breakfast menu daily included. Park and walk everywhere. Stratford is home to the Stratford Festival, Stratford Summer Music, and many culinary events... always something to do year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Stone Maiden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stone Maiden Hotel Stratford
Stone Maiden Inn Stratford, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing