We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy ,centrally located and affordable!!”
Review of Stone Maiden Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Stone Maiden Inn
Ranked #5 of 89 Stratford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Classy ,centrally located and affordable!!”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

My daughter and I travelled to Stratford on a theatre vacation. We stayed in the" Petit Chambre" on the first floor. This room is very affordable for central Stratford and we were happy with the quiet location and comfortable surroundings.We enjoyed the outdoor patio and the welcoming parlor. This little room is perfect for two travellers who appreciate quality on a budget. We arrived by train and the VIA station is less than 15 minutes walk from the B&B. We walked to the Festival Theatre along the Avon River in 30 minutes and the B&B is only 10 minutes from the Avon Theatre.
We have had the opportunity to sample some wonderful accommodations and we were very impressed with the accommodating hosts. The breakfast was delicious and there are lots of options for folks with special dietary needs. We had an early departure and we were able to eat breakfast before the regularly scheduled time.
This is a wonderful property . You will appreciate the tranquil surroundings and helpful owners. The inn is an architectural gem and the enhancement of dependable wireless Internet and air conditioning enables you to stay in touch in comfort.
We hope to return for next year's line up of great theatre!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eastcoastdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStoneMaidenInn, Owner at Stone Maiden Inn, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
You feedback is so sweet as were the both of you. It was our pleasure to meet you and glad that we can offer a variety of rooms at a variety of prices for every budget. I like your term "quality on a budget" so hope you don't mind us using it. Our guests love the breakfast menu options as well as the option to eat at their own preferred time. Our new outdoor sitting area is a big hit with guests to enjoy morning, noon or night. It would be our pleasure to welcome you as friends next year as it is going to be another notable year for excellent plays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    64
    12
    4
    3
See reviews for
34
167
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
south bend
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Our first stay here out of the 4 years we have traveled up to Stratford. Lovely B&B in a lovely neighborhood. The room we had was "Harahel" which had a king bed, couch/sitting area, smallish bathroom with shower. It was on the 3rd floor which involved taking some stairs, but we did not mind. Just down our stairs was a fridge where we could store any food we brought along for the trip, ice buckets, ice, wine keys and glasses, etc. That was really nice to have so close by. They have a sweet little sitting area outside with wicker furniture where we enjoyed or coffee. We have stayed much closer to town and to the theatres so I would say that is the only drawback, the extra walking to and from restaurants and theatre. The breakfasts are very good, everyone was extremely helpful and nice. We traveled in a group and we all have nothing but good things to say about our stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sbendpassport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStoneMaidenInn, Owner at Stone Maiden Inn, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
We are glad to have met you and your friends and pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are about a 5 minute walk to the downtown core .. just far enough to be away from the busy street noise but in a quaint residential area. We appreciate your noting the guest fridge and stocked bar accessories for guest use... We love our outdoor sitting area and often find people napping/reading as they relax and rejuvinate. Glad you loved our breakfasts and our team is pleased to have been of help to your group. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

i absolutely love this inn the rooms are very quaint the breakfast unbelievably fantastic the innkeepers kim and pat extrememly down to earth and friendly the location walkable to everything only a few minutes from the avon river just beautiful a must stay if you are in stratford although i would like to keep it my own secret it truly is a wonderful spot this was our second stay with many more to come

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debbie k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStoneMaidenInn, Owner at Stone Maiden Inn, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Thank you and it was so nice to see you again and hope you had a very nice birthday stay. Sorry, the secret is out... we are very busy this year and already booking into next year. :) Glad you loved the breakfast and our beautiful Inn... hope to see you again soon. Come see us in the winter for our spa/romance package...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Stone Maiden Inn is a very nice B&B - we stayed in the Annabelle room. It was spacious with a separate loveseat sofa, as well as a large bathroom with clawfoot tub. The Inn was very quiet and we had no trouble sleeping - great mattress. The 2 breakfasts we had there were awesome - juices, fruit crumble, and your choice of 5 different breakfasts to choose from each day (and the menu changes daily). If you have a chance to get the Orange cream french toast, it was delicious! Walking to the Festival Theatre is do-able but it is a bit of a hike, but you're just a few blocks from Ontario and Downie streets - the main shopping areas. Innkeepers Pat and Kim were very helpful and made us dinner reservations. I would definitely return the next time we visit Stratford.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hoosiertraveler2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Stone Maiden Inn, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
It was a pleasure to meet you both. We appreciate your taking the time to provide the review and are very happy that you enjoyed your stay, breakfasts and dinner recommendations. Stratford is know for food, plays, and romance... We are very conveniently located to the downtown core with most guests able to park and walk. See you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Everything fresh and hot, tasty and beautifully presented, breakfast is a memorable start to the day of theatre, shopping and sightseeing, after a restful sleep in the lovely old house.

Room Tip: Stairs could be a problem for some.
See more room tips
Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank susan618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Stone Maiden Inn, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Thank you so much and we are glad you enjoyed your second stay with us. It's always a pleasure to see the smiling faces at breakfast and then the surprise when our guests get to choose their time for breakfast and their main dish off a menu. The ooh's and ahh's make it all worth while. Would love to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
1 review
Reviewed July 2, 2012

This past weekend I got married at the Stone Maiden Inn.

The staff: Kim and Pat - our hosts - ensured all of our guests felt right at home. The food, cooked by Chef Erin, was AMAZING. All of our food was local. Erin cooked enough food for 48 people and the 40 people who attended our wedding STILL devoured every last morsel. It was that good.

I highly recommend you and your's stay at the Stone Maiden Inn if you're anywhere near Stratford. Whether you want to hold an event like a wedding or you just want to stay their with your significant other for a night's stay, the Stone Maiden Inn is the place to go.

The rest of this review will detail how Kim, Pat, and Erin made our wedding day a magnificent day we will always remember...

General remarks related to the wedding itself: 40 guests attended the wedding ceremony and it was a perfect space to accommodate both standing and sitting room for that number. The B&B also has a splendid speaker system for the music that played during and after the ceremony. For the wedding my bride and I booked the entire building (13 rooms for us and our guests, plus 1 room for storage of chairs/tables). This allowed us to essentially "take over" the Stone Maiden Inn.

Photography: After the ceremony the Stone Maiden Inn's beautiful architecture naturally lent itself to photography. Many of our photos were taken right on site. However, the river that flows through Stratford, banked by many gorgeous gardens, also star in many of our photos if you want to get photos off-site as well.

The after party: many of the guests at our wedding are in their 20s, so our after party consisted of a Capture the Flag game, bocce ball, chirades, and lots of music. Even though our celebration was a little rowdy Kim and Pat were totally unrestrictive. They let us do what we wanted on our untraditional wedding day.

Reviews from our wedding guests: Every single wedding guest had nothing but glowing reviews of Pat, Kim, Erin, the food, their rooms, the building itself, and their overall experience at the Stone Maiden Inn.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Stone Maiden Inn, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Thank you for such a lovely review. We were so honoured to be part of your wedding day and you make a beautiful couple. We hope it was special and memorable but it was your friends and family that really was the icing on the cake. What wonderful guests and it was so nice that you chose to be relaxed and casual .. that really made it special for all - even us. We love to share our home and weddings make such lovely events.

Chef Erin Delarge and our team are estatic that you loved the food and service. The relaxed family style menu chosen and style of service made it feel more like a family dinner in which good friends, food and conversation were had. You guys did an amazing job at planning every detail to make your guests feel even more special. Congrats.

We can't wait to see your pictures so please send us some to share on our Facebook page. Let us know what dates work for your return next year in your anniversary month. Hope you have a wonderful honeymoon and please stop by when you are in the area. Congratulations again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augsburg, Bayern, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

My boyfriend and me loved this place very much. Especially we loved the unique rooms. The doors were open to the rooms that were not engaged and you could take a look to them. The hotel was clean, the hosts very friendly and obliging. And the best was the breakfast with three fresh and selfmade meals!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStoneMaidenInn, Owner at Stone Maiden Inn, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
Google Translation
Vielen Dank und seine immer ein Vergnügen, neue Freunde aus Deutschland zu treffen ...


Wir hoffen, Sie hatten einen guten Besuch in Kanada und würden uns freuen, Sie wieder zu sehen irgendwann.

Danke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stratford hotels
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus The Arden Park Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Parlour Inn
The Parlour Inn
#2 of 18 in Stratford
376 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Bruce Hotel
The Bruce Hotel
#3 of 18 in Stratford
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mercer Hall Inn
Mercer Hall Inn
#8 of 18 in Stratford
279 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Stratford Hotel
The Stratford Hotel
#1 of 18 in Stratford
287 reviews
0.3 mi away
Annex Room Restaurant & Inn
Annex Room Restaurant & Inn
#13 of 18 in Stratford
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stone Maiden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone Maiden Inn

Property: Stone Maiden Inn
Address: 123 Church St, Stratford, Ontario N5A 2R3, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Stratford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 89 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stone Maiden Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1873 Victorian Mansion with 15 guestrooms all with en-suite, antiques set in a quiet residential neighbourhood. Rated at 4.5/5 stars under the Federation of Bed and Breakfast Association of Ontario. Hot chef prepared gourmet breakfast menu daily included. Park and walk everywhere. Stratford is home to the Stratford Festival, Stratford Summer Music, and many culinary events... always something to do year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Stone Maiden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stone Maiden Hotel Stratford
Stone Maiden Inn Stratford, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing