We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could be great” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of County Food Company

County Food Company
Ranked #30 of 133 Restaurants in Stratford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $15
Cuisines: Canadian, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout
Description: Our counters are full of freshly prepared healthy foods ,you can mix and match and build your own meal. We also have a great selection of Sandwiches...Our build your own picnic pails are a favourite ,ready in 5mins. During the summer season May-Late September,we offer a great Sunday Brunch menu in addition to our daily offerings. We make everything from scratch featuring local seasonal ingredients. We have offering for gluten free,vegetarians and Vegans
Bath, Michigan
Level Contributor
119 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Could be great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Good service and food was good, but everything is microwaved to heat and that was uneven. Nice location and easy to get to, but it left us cold, much like parts of our meals.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank B G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet A, Owner at County Food Company, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thanks for you comments, I couldn't agree more! Unfortunately for the time being we are stuck with microwaves, there is some great commercial reheating equipment available but it is prohibitively expensive for our size of business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    38
    7
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
55 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“"Yashar La'Eenyan": A Smart Place to eat in Stratford”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

This ready-to-eat establishment is an excellent alternative to fancy restaurants with long lines and long time to get through a meal: The quality of the food is very good, the service is good, the ambience is pleasantly simple, the price is unbeatable, and you can depend on being in and out in 20 minutes, with a short 5 minute walk to the Avon Theatre. Bon appetit! Ilan Rubin, Jerusalem.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ilanrubin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton Alberta
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“This is the best dessert I've ever tasted. I am in love with this dessert.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

The rest of the meal was very good. The lamb meatloaf was shared around the table and enjoyed immensely. The turkey chili got absolute top marks from a chili lover. The pork schnitzel was devoured! It's hard for a gluten free, nightshade free vegetarian to find a meal out, but Janet made something special for my sister. Thanks so much, Janet. She never gets to eat at a restaurant as most vegetarian meals are full of nightshades!
One diner loved the all the options - whereas so many restaurants have set items that come with different entrees.
Now to the dessert that caused a 23 year old man to make the above comments. Darn, I forget the name - but they are chocolate chip/coconut on a graham cracker crust. And they are awesome!
Very helpful and friendly staff behind the counter. Not fancy but the food is extremely good.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank catwing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet A, Owner at County Food Company, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
The dessert is Hello Dollies, graham cracker crust, chocolate chips ,coconut and walnuts baked with sweetened condensed milk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A great wedding meal for 54 people!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

We recently asked Janet at County Food Company to cater our back yard wedding in a somewhat crowded tent. She helped us plan the menu, was receptive to changes we wanted, made good suggestions. A real straight shooter, and fun to work with. The results were wonderful, people raved about everything, from the serving staff, to all the food from appetizer to dessert. They were real professionals, always in control, always pleasant. A most satisfactory experience, at a reasonable price.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SteveFromLondon77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Ontario
Level Contributor
453 reviews
200 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 282 helpful votes
“Wonderful choice for a quick casual lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

I stopped in to this small, cosy diner for a quick lunch as my usual Stratford restaurants were full with pre-theatre diners. County Food Company specializes in sandwiches, salads and soup. Our sandwiches were delicious, especially the schnitzel sandwich. Service was fast and friendly. Seating is casual but comfortable and there is a small sidewalk patio if you like to eat outdoors. There is an abundance of good restaurants in Stratford and this relatively new location is a welcome addition.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Geoscientist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed County Food Company also viewed

 
Stratford, Ontario
Stratford, Ontario
 

Been to County Food Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing