We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (38)
Filter reviews
38 results
Traveler rating
31
5
1
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
31
5
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmeadow suitequichegracious hostsminute driveplace to stayavon theatrestayed two nightsenjoyed our staydietary needsdowntown stratfordfree parkingnext yearbobconversationveganhomeplay
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 38 reviews
Reviewed July 12, 2017

We stayed at this B and B this week and all reviews I read are correct: Mieke and Bob are gracious hosts, and welcome you to make yourself at home. They are a happy and hard-working couple who are genuinely there to serve their guests: giving maps and directions, restaurant recommendations; as well as cleaning and maintaining their lovely spotless home. The breakfast they prepared and served was gourmet and delicious -- a rarer find at b and b's. We will be back the next time we are in Stratford to see a play. Bravo Mieke and Bob!

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank E H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2017

Stayed one night while in town to see a play. Mieke was very welcoming and seemed to revel in trying to help us make sure we enjoyed our stay in Stratford. We were in the room above the garage, which was very spacious with a lovely bay window. The bed was comfortable. Having a fridge in the room with some beverages was a nice touch. The whole house was immaculately clean. Breakfast was good - Mieke had no issues accomodating our vegetarian diets. The house is on the outskirts of Stratford - about a 25-30 minute walk to the Avon Theatre and main downtown area. Most of the walk has a sidewalk and is actually quite pleasant.

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank hbsfan93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2017

Bob and Mieke are very kind hosts. The bed and breakfast is just a few minutes from the downtown theatres in Stratford. The rooms are beautiful. There are three different suites. Our favorite suite is the Harvest, which has its own in room bathroom. The Meadow suite also has in room bathroom, but the Country Suite does not. The bathrooms are equipped with lovely shower products from Bath and Body Works, which is great especially if you forget to bring your own. Mieke is very accommodating in creating breakfast for those with dietary needs. My husband and I are vegan, and when we informed the B&B ahead of our arrival, she ensured to have a breakfast made for us that met our diet. She makes a delicious vegan French toast and homemade raisin oatmeal as well. Definitely inform ahead if you have any dietary needs, and they are very understanding in accommodating. This is one of the reasons we return to A Touch of Country; but one of the main reasons is the hospitality and genuine kindness from the owners, Bob and Mieke. We highly recommend this B&B as a place to stay while visiting Stratford!

Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Organictraveller83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2017

We were greeted warmly by the hosts, who are lovely people. Their house is beautifully maintained. Our room was quaint and comfortable.
The shower was a little tight (but manageable)...the bathroom was small.
The bed and pillows were comfortable.

Breakfast was tasty (Quiche, sausages, bread, sweet buns and fruit with yogurt) and a nice variety of juices.

This B & B is located 5 minutes from the downtown area.

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TheStarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2016

We really enjoyed staying with Mieke and Bob. We have stayed in many B & B's and this rates right up there at the top. Their home is well furnished and yet homey. It was very clean and quiet. We wouldn't have even known there were others there if we had not been told! The breakfast was very good and you felt right at home visiting with everyone. We definitely will stay there again when we are in Stratford!

Room Tip: All bedrooms are on the second floor. Pay only with cash or check.
  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 1stHiawathaTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews