We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Bruce Hotel(Stratford)
$300
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$153
$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mercer Hotel(Stratford)
$144
$122
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Forest Motel & Woodland Retreat(Stratford)(Great Value!)
$116
$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Suburban Motel(Stratford)(Great Value!)
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$250
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bentley's Inn(Stratford)(Great Value!)
$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Swan Motel(Stratford)(Great Value!)
$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Stratford Hotel(Stratford)(Great Value!)
$175
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stone Maiden Inn(Stratford)
$144
$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (37)
Filter reviews
37 results
Traveler rating
30
5
1
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
30
5
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmeadow suitequichegracious hostsminute driveavon theatreplace to stayin townstayed two nightsenjoyed our staydietary needsdowntown stratfordfree parkingnext yearbobveganconversationhome
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 37 reviews
Reviewed August 4, 2013

This B&B is average compared to others that we have stayed in. It is essentially just 3 second floor bedrooms that are rented out. We would not have felt comfortable spending time in other areas of the house. The location is not great. It is a couple of miles outside of Stratford so unfortunately one must drive to go to dinner, see a play, shop etc. The food was plentiful but average...frozen quiche, parfaits, packaged rolls etc. Our room was comfortable but tired looking. I felt like I was staying in my grandmother's house. The owners were pleasant. We will not stay here when we visit again next year as we have stayed in other B&Bs in Stratford that suit our tastes better.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed with another couple on a last minute trip.

Owners:
-the owners are very nice - they even offered to get us discounted tickets to a show when they realized that it might be possible (it didn't work out, but it was nice of them to try)!

Rooms:
-the rooms were nice and clean - we stayed in the Harvest Suite, which provided a great space for all four of us to spend time together (we loved the window bench).
-the shower in the Harvest Suite is TINY - i don't know if we could have managed for more than a day or so!

Breakfast:
-breakfast was plentiful: drinks (coffee, tea, pineapple juice, orange juice, apple juice), muffins, sausages, quiche and a berries/granola/yogurt parfait.
-the quiche is pre-made, so if you have food restrictions or allergies you need to let them know ahead of time (it has ham, asparagus, eggs and milk in it). i usually just ask for the ingredient that i can't eat to not be included in my dish, but that wasn't an option. actually, the same thing goes for the parfait (for those allergic to things like strawberries). there was enough other food that it didn't matter that i couldn't eat the "main" dish, but if that matters to you then mention it when making your reservation.

Amenities:
-there are very few B&Bs with hot tubs, which we enjoyed at night while consuming our complimentary wine.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank afaintcry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

My husband and I have enjoyed coming here the past 2 summers. The house is beautiful, very quiet, only 1/2 a kilometre from Stratfords' city limits, but located on the same road as the Avon Theatre! The hosts were so accommodating, and very helpful in ensuring that our stay was enjoyable. The breakfasts were so plentiful that we never had to eat lunch....money saver :) !! This Bed and Breakfast has everything that we were looking for, and look forward to coming back!
Thanks again Mieke and Bob for your hospitality!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank April_Sudbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

When we tried to book a place in Stratford early in the summer, every place we looked at was either booked or very expensive. Then we found the listing for this B & B. It had only one review at the time, but it was very good - so we took a chance and booked it. We stayed for three nights and thoroughly enjoyed our visit. Although the place is technically beyond the town limits, it is less than a minute drive from the edge of town and only about a five minute drive to the centre of town. Our room (The Meadow Suite) was huge and very lovely. It had a nice sitting area and a private balcony. A separate sitting room (shared between the three rooms at the B & B) has a fridge that is kept stocked with cold drinks for guests, which was great when we came back late afternoon after a day of shopping or touring. The breakfasts were both plentiful and delicious. Mieke, our host, is not only a wonderful cook, but also very informative about the town. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank mpcacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the Meadow Suite at this lovely B&B. The room was beautiful - spacious, tastefully decorated, clean and quiet. The location was excellent - only 5 minutes away from the Avon Theatre, but surrounded by peaceful country fields - so relaxing. We stayed two nights in order to explore the western shore of Lake Huron and found it an easy drive from there. Our hosts, Mieke and Bob are very accommodating and fun to chat with and made us feel very welcome; we felt like we were visiting friends. Breakfast was delicious ! We hope to return again when we can.Maddy and Terry

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Maddy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews