We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, and play "spot the actor"”

Foster's Inn Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Foster's Inn Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #22 of 134 Restaurants in Stratford
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
111 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great food, and play "spot the actor"”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We try to make time to eat here every time we're in Stratford for the Festival. The service and food are excellent, and it's fun to spot the cast from the performance you just saw - who are sometimes eating at the table next to you.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank drb8053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    81
    42
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
stratford,ontario
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very Average”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Very inconsistant restaurant. Disappointed in Fosters food quality and will not be back. Food was drenched in oil and polenta had a burnt crust. Lately we have had more poor meals at this restaurant which is so disappointing since it is a great little place to meet for a drink.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kallietoby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wainfleet, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Tasty times at Fosters!”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We were recommended Fosters by my in-laws, and we decided to swing by after a long day Tubing in St. Marys.
The service was warm and welcoming when we arrived. We were a bit early for a dinner service, but nonetheless, the environment was calm and inviting. I always like it when there is an open kitchen, such as Fosters. The chefs seemed confident and professional, and people seemed to generally enjoy working there...
We started with the calamari with a homemade aioli..it was good but nothing special..a little too greasy even.. For our mains, my boyfriend and I both ordered the burger, but I opted for the vegetarian patty to switch it up (Im far from vegetarian). and he got the beef. It was promptly served on a fresh Brioche bun with hot, home cut fries. Another great aioli was served for the fries. My veggie patty was a bean/mushroom base and it was SO good..I never missed the meat once.
We shared a half litre of wine, and everything just went down SO good. I almost made myself sick because I just couldnt STOP eating..it was great!
For some insane reason, even though we were so full, we opted to try their homemade walnut brownie sundae with cinnamon ginger ice cream. Very good as well!

Nothing really bad to say about this place, hopefully we'll be back:)

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NiagaraK8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco Island, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Foster's On the Upswing”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Foster's had a few ups-and-downs. For years it was excellent, and for a few more it was just so-so. It's back now among the really good restaurants in Stratford. Menu selections are good and the quality is very fine. Service has always been outstanding, and it still is.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank bengoshi5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Breakfast!”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is my favourite breakfast place in Stratford. The range of items gives lots of latitude -- the guys in the open kitchen do a really good job.
The Crab Cakes Benedict is my consistent choice. Huevos Rancheros will keep heartier appetites sated. And the coffee is good.
The decor is warm and welcoming.
Foster's is a good place for lunch.
In summer, their west facing sidewalk patio is prime.
I haven't been in for dinner.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Shrewsbury55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Foster's Inn Restaurant also viewed

Stratford, Ontario
Stratford, Ontario
 

Been to Foster's Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing