We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent coffee” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Balzac's Coffee Roasters

Balzac's Coffee Roasters
Ranked #1 of 6 Coffee & Tea in Stratford
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
166 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Excellent coffee”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

Nice spot, great coffee. Even got a short lesson in latte art. Better than your average 2nd Horbucks.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank aMarmiton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    62
    19
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sterling Heights, Michigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good coffee shop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

We went to this restaurant to get a breakfast bite to eat before going to lunch later. The service was prompt and friendly. The coffee was delicious and my scone tasted just the way I like it--flavorable, but not too sweet. The inside is nice but not huge, but there was also seating outside in the front and in the back. I recommend this place for good coffee and baked goods.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ccteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

A trip to the western parts of Ontario, that is west of Ottawa, always calls for a trip to Balzac's. We were down for a few plays in Stratford and stopped in each day for a coffee, and a treat. The coffee is alwasy first rate, and the snacks very good. And as been commented on elsewhere, the coffee is not for the faint of heart. It is a proper cup.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Russell P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The Mighty Bean”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

I have to say that I have been to Balzac's several times. I find the coffee typically is too strong for what I suppose is the "average" coffee drinker. Perhaps connoisseurs of the beverage may enjoy the offerings, but those who are only looking for a cup of java are best to keep walking up the street. The baked goods are fair, but I can say that the service has been exceptional.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jackie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Marys, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Terrific coffee, by the bean or the cup.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

Balzac's is a real local downtown hangout. Busy year round and deservedly so. A lovely place to have an excellent coffee and dessert, or cookie. Some sandwiches, but it's really a coffee and conversation place. Free WiFi now - yay. Open very long hours from morning to night. Plus free dog biscuits for fido on the doorstep :)

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank RubyOpaltones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Balzac's Coffee Roasters also viewed

Stratford, Ontario
Stratford, Ontario
 
Stratford, Ontario
 

Been to Balzac's Coffee Roasters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing