We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super anniversary!”
Review of Buckingham House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Buckingham House
Ranked #32 of 88 Stratford B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 18, 2012

We have stayed at a few B & B's in Stratford and this was one of the best. Beautiful garden area, delicious healthy breakfast, very clean and confortableroom and a super host. It was a good location too for the Festival Theatre and downtown.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travelerqueen_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (32)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 32 of 32 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2011

Buckingham House if the perfect spot for three couples who are all friends. The third floor has a bedroom for each and a comfy lounge for drinks, reading or tea before or after a play. My best friend and I organized a birthday celebration there together in August. We were warmly welcomed by owner Shelly, who took time for a convivial chat and made sure all was ready in the gorgeous bedrooms and washrooms. Breakfast was yummy, fresh fruit and a decadent egg dish. Again, she had time to chat over coffee and share stories of Stratford and herself. All in all, a warm, comfortable hostess.

Room Tip: The room at the back is large and the most quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank PSL7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

We have stayed at several B&Bs and hotels in Stratford. Buckingham House was by far the best combination of comfort, location, and company. Shelley prepared lovely breakfasts, was very attentive to our needs, and made our stay very pleasant. We will return!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarionIlene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2011

We stumbled on this place by accident but were thrilled that we did. Shelly is a wonderful host, and provided many thoughtful touches to make our stay so pleasant. The common areas were well-equipped with complimentary beverages, travel brochures and weather reports, and wi-fi. The rooms were cozy and well-appointed. Most attractions are a short walk away.

The highlight, however, was breakfast--fresh Ontario strawberries, just-baked lemon cranberry loaf, crust-less quiche and a mouthwatering vegetable hash.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Small_Cask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stratford hotels
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus The Arden Park Hotel
2.4 mi away
Forest Motel & Woodland Retreat
0.3 mi away
The Parlour Inn
The Parlour Inn
#5 of 18 in Stratford
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mercer Hall Inn
Mercer Hall Inn
#11 of 18 in Stratford
298 reviews
2.2 mi away
Majer's Motel
Majer's Motel
#12 of 18 in Stratford
143 reviews
0.1 mi away
Duggan Place
Duggan Place
#15 of 88 in Stratford
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buckingham House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buckingham House

Address: 67 Douro St, Stratford, Ontario N5A 3R2, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Stratford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 88 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford
Price Range: $153 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buckingham House, a bed and breakfast in the heart of Stratford, is a short walk from downtown shops, services, restaurants and the Avon and Studio Theatres. The Festival and Tom Patterson Theatres are within easy walking distance too. The house is Italianate in design, its exterior features include decorative brick details, high windows, overhanging eaves and period wooden bracket trim. There is a downstairs parlour and an upstairs sitting room inside for relaxation and conversation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Buckingham House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buckingham House Stratford, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing