We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great B&B. Congenial hosts and wonderful breakfasts.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Shady Nook

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stratford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Shady Nook
Ranked #12 of 89 Stratford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
“Great B&B. Congenial hosts and wonderful breakfasts.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

We have stayed at D&K Shady Nook for several years and always found it to be a welcoming and comfortable place. The breakfasts are excellent and all the support is given to make us feel welcome and at home. The rooms are immaculately clean and the beds very comfortable. It is close to all the theatres and an easy walk to downtown. The gardens at the front and back are beautiful and provide an inspiration for all.
Andrea and Andre

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms are good for those with some mobility issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug W, Owner at The Shady Nook, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
It is always a pleasure when friends return and you find out what is happening in their life as well as what they think of the plays. As gardeners we love to talk about plants etc, agrowing subject!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
50
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sarnia, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

We happened to be able to book a room at D&K Shady Nook at the last minute and found it to be our luck. Kathy and Doug are great hosts - very friendly and helpful. While we have visited Stratford many times, they provided a dinner recommendation that was perfect, and a place we had not yet visited. The location of the B&B allowed us an easy 10 minute walk to the theater as well as dinner, thus avoiding the need to find parking. The room was comfortable, perfectly clean, and the rest of the house was very welcoming. It felt like a home away from home. Breakfast was excellent and very filling and the grounds very inviting. We would stay there again and would highly recommend D&K Shady Nook to anyone looking for a B&B in Stratford.

Room Tip: There are two rooms on the main floor for those not wanting to negotiate stairs. However, either ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean and Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug W, Owner at The Shady Nook, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
We are glad you found us and that we met your needs for fine dining and accommodation while
visiting Stratford, looking forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

If you want comfort, cleanliness, a more than ample breakfast, good beds, a pool and lovely garden - plus a central location for walking to theaters,The Shady Nook is the best place in Stratford for seeing plays and meeting interesting people. We have stayed there for more than twelve years. The owners, Doug and Cathy, are cordial, fun, and knowledgable about the Festival and the area. They really do make you feel at home. There is a refrigerator for wine and whatever food you want to bring and a bright, airy breakfast room. In the massive East Coast power outage in 2003, Doug and Cathy took care of everyone when theaters and restaurants were closed. They grilled steaks out of their freezer and kept everyone calm and happy until power was restored.

Room Tip: All rooms are comfortable but there are only four. Must be able to climb stairs for two of them. No...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug W, Owner at The Shady Nook, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
It's always a pleasure to have your guests return year after year when they are also the interesting ones people love to talk with and discuss plays etc. Looking forward to your return..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

My husband and I had a rare evening away this week and chose the D&K Shady Nook to stay in Stratford while we saw a show. We had a great stay. Our room was lovely and comfortable. The shower is powerful and a pleasure to use. Breakfast was delicious and served in a lovely sunroom overlooking the garden.Kathy and Doug were so nice to talk to as were the other guests. We'll recommend and choose Shady Nook the next time we are able to make it to Stratord.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug W, Owner at The Shady Nook, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Kathy& I are happy you had a great get away and look forward to having you return. Any thoughts you have for improving the Shadynook experience are always welcome. Thanks for your kind wordsand come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Canada
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Kathy and Doug made us feel very comfortable in their lovely home. Their recommendations for dinner and helpful directions in finding things in town and beyond, made our two day get-away feel more like a week! Thanks! We look forward to staying again.

Room Tip: The twin room served us well. It was nice to have our own ensuite bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lapolo306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug W, Owner at The Shady Nook, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Always glad to be able to help visitors to the Festival City and make their stay as enjoyable as possible. A world of great theater, fine dining and wonderful shops make Stratford a guests paradise. See you again soon.thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Park, IL
Level Contributor
92 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

Usually I am cautious about tripadvisor reviews that are uniformly excellent, but this place does deserve its rating and appreciation by the reviewers. Comfortable and clean with friendly hosts who make you feel like guests ... what a B&B should be.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug W, Owner at The Shady Nook, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
We are pleased you found our B&B measured upto the reviews are guests have been kind enough to write. we look forward to being able serveyou when you next return to Stratford,thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

I have been staying with the Whites since 2000 for my annual trip to the Festival. They are kindness and hospitality personified. As a woman who travels alone, that means a great deal. The location is quiet but within easy walk of all the Festival locations. The rooms are lovely and clean and comfortable. The breakfasts are bountiful and tasty (and they are good at making allowances for different tastes). They know the area and give excellent advice. Sadie, their sweet non-allergen-producing dog, adds a further friendly vibe. Staying with the Whites is more like visiting friends than a commercial transaction. I cannot recommend them highly enough!

Room Tip: All are lovely, depends on if you can handle stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Coralyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug W, Owner at The Shady Nook, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
It is hard to believe that it has been a dozen years of having the pleasure of your company at our humble B&B. Sadie looks forward to your return for a lucky thirteenth season and Kathy & I will have the pleasure of your company. Alway fun to hear what is new in SF.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stratford hotels
0.5 mi away
Mercer Hall Inn
Mercer Hall Inn
#8 of 18 in Stratford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Arden Park Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Parlour Inn
The Parlour Inn
#2 of 18 in Stratford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Annex Room Restaurant & Inn
Annex Room Restaurant & Inn
#13 of 18 in Stratford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.7 mi away
Stone Maiden Inn
Stone Maiden Inn
#5 of 89 in Stratford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ambassador B&B Guest Home
Ambassador B&B Guest Home
#25 of 89 in Stratford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shady Nook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shady Nook

Property: The Shady Nook
Address: 64 Earl St, Stratford, Ontario N5A 6G2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Stratford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 89 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On a quiet street we offer four en-suite bedrooms, a twin/king and queen on the main floor and two queens on the second floor. An easy walk to gourmet restaurants, theater and boutique shopping, as well as Art in the Park, our famous Swans and many photo opportunities along the Avon river await. We serve a full breakfast and cater to special diets. A large guest Frig for ice and to keep your refreshments cool awaits in our Sunroom where you can play cards or have a picnic lunch on a rainy day. Enjoy a refreshing dip in the pool, a bike ride or sun on the large deck, the coffee's on so come let us make your Stratford experience all it can be, see you soon. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Shady Nook Stratford, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing