We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A true home away from home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Shady Nook

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stratford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Shady Nook
Ranked #12 of 89 Stratford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cartersville, Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A true home away from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

We have stayed with Doug and Kathy White two years in a row and have already booked this wonderful bed and breakfast for our Stratford Shakespeare Festival trip in 2013. The rooms are spacious and well-appointed, each with a full separate bathroom. The breakfasts are served in a beautiful solarium and they are substantial, more than enough to see us into the mid to late afternoon. Doug and Kathy are an engaging and extremely thoughtful couple, who go out of their way to make our stay a comfortable one. For even the moderate walker, this facility is well-located; we have walked, at least once, to each of the three main Festival venues.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jpnewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug W, Owner at The Shady Nook, responded to this review, July 21, 2012
Thank you for the glowing review,we will strive to maintain your confidence and patronage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
50
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Beverly Hills, MI
Level Contributor
101 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

We stayed at D&K overnight on June 30th, and had a wonderful, restful time. Have been to Stratford many times and usually stay elsewhere, but they were full so we tried D&K. This is now our preferred B&B in Stratford! We agree whole-heartedly with the other reviews - everything was perfect and cozy and home-like. We forgot toothpaste and my husband ran to the store, but I have no doubt Kathy would have given us some :) I enjoyed the pool - glad I spied it on the website the day before - it added to the getting-away feeling! Room was of good size and great layout. Good closet and I LOVE that the bathroom sink had ample counter space - that is important to me!! Met some very nice people. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BuffyLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at The Shady Nook, responded to this review, July 8, 2012
Looking forward to your return, glad everything was to the enjoyment and pleasure at the theater and restaurants, Stratford has a lot to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkston, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

We enjoyed our stay with Doug and Kathy White and their dog Sadie at the Shady Nook. Rooms were good size with attached wash rooms and ample closet space. Suggest the "lavender room" which is upstairs and furthest corner from the common areas if busy. The property is easy walking distance to the river, two theaters, and downtown. Our first trip to Stratford we enjoyed plentiful breakfasts with morning and afternoon swims at the in-ground pool. (We visited during a record-breaking heat wave so the pool was a real god-send for us.) Sadie is a very friendly dog and a happy trip mascot. Would return again.

Room Tip: Upstairs queen room is the "lavender room" due to the linens and painting. Don't worr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bruinz50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at The Shady Nook, responded to this review, July 8, 2012
We hope all your expectationsfor theater, food and accommodatioms where met, come visit
again soon, we will be glad toserve you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

Although this was our first trip to the Stratford Shakespeare Festival, everything was perfect. Staying at Doug and Kathy's Shady Nook was the main reason! Relaxing at their cozy and comfortable B&B gave us the energy to do twice as much as we had originally planned. We saw five plays in three days, and yet still visited with our hosts and their other guests, sitting in the beautiful gardens at Shady Nook! Doug and Kathy also gave us excellent advice about restaurants, planning our time, and other things that made it such a great experience. We are already looking forward to our return visit!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maureen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at The Shady Nook, responded to this review, July 8, 2012
Glad you found everything okay,any time you have an idea to improve us , tell us,thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

A very home-like, comfortable, relaxing place, with great hospitality and service from the owners, Kathy and Doug. I loved the small in-ground pool set in a well-kept, attractive yard with several seating areas. The room was attractive, comfortable and very clean with A/C and ceiling fan. Breakfasts were varied and very nice, and served in a sunny room with windows on two sides into the yard. Friendly, quiet little dog on the premises. Easy 10 min walk to downtown and theatres. Thanks Kathy and Doug - will see you again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at The Shady Nook, responded to this review, July 8, 2012
Thanks for the kind words, we are glad you enjoyed your stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

We just returned from our theater trip to Stratford. We have been going there for many years but this is the first time we stayed with Doug and Kathy. We think this was the best yet. Our hosts are so accommodating and friendly yet not intrusive. The house and gardens are wonderful. The deck and sunroom are bright and cheerful and the flowers amazing. Our breakfasts were delicious and Doug even made a special effort to allow for my husbands food requirements. Above and beyond. We will certainly return the next time we attend the Festival.

Room Tip: Room 4 upstairs is really nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank streeterville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at The Shady Nook, responded to this review, July 8, 2012
Great weather and guest that are having a good time makes Stratford wonderful, see you
next year
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

This was my second visit to Doug and Kathy's place. I really felt like I was coming home. From the warm welcoming Sadie to the comfortable accommodations. It really does feel like home. Doug and Kathy really make you feel welcome. They are very knowledgeable about the area, restaurants and theater. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. The house is roomy with a spectacular sun room where a delicious breakfast is served. The gardens are lovely. If you are looking for a great place to stay in Stratford that is convenient, comfortable and inviting, D&K Shady Nook is it!!! If you have a chance, take a look at Kathy's wonderful scarves and blankets. Great gifts!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hodgeskaren007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at The Shady Nook, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
What a wonderful review,we are glad to be able to make our guests feel at ease
and help with visit to Stratford. We will see you next season,thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stratford hotels
0.5 mi away
Mercer Hall Inn
Mercer Hall Inn
#8 of 18 in Stratford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Arden Park Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Parlour Inn
The Parlour Inn
#2 of 18 in Stratford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Annex Room Restaurant & Inn
Annex Room Restaurant & Inn
#13 of 18 in Stratford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.7 mi away
Stone Maiden Inn
Stone Maiden Inn
#5 of 89 in Stratford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ambassador B&B Guest Home
Ambassador B&B Guest Home
#25 of 89 in Stratford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shady Nook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shady Nook

Property: The Shady Nook
Address: 64 Earl St, Stratford, Ontario N5A 6G2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Stratford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 89 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On a quiet street we offer four en-suite bedrooms, a twin/king and queen on the main floor and two queens on the second floor. An easy walk to gourmet restaurants, theater and boutique shopping, as well as Art in the Park, our famous Swans and many photo opportunities along the Avon river await. We serve a full breakfast and cater to special diets. A large guest Frig for ice and to keep your refreshments cool awaits in our Sunroom where you can play cards or have a picnic lunch on a rainy day. Enjoy a refreshing dip in the pool, a bike ride or sun on the large deck, the coffee's on so come let us make your Stratford experience all it can be, see you soon. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Shady Nook Stratford, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing