We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Twelve years and continues to be an excellent choice and good value.Looking forward to our next visit. Fred and Lynda Mc”
Review of The Shady Nook

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stratford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Shady Nook
Ranked #11 of 89 Stratford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Canandaigua, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Twelve years and continues to be an excellent choice and good value.Looking forward to our next visit. Fred and Lynda Mc”
Reviewed June 18, 2012

We always meet interesting pleasant couples on every visit.

Room Tip: D&K have two first floor rooms which could be an important issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 937Emma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at The Shady Nook, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
Looking forward to your Fall return,have A GREAT SUMMER.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
55
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, Ontario, Canada
1 review
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Very convenient location, 15 minute walk to theatres. Excellent clean home. Beakfast served promptly at 8:30 am. Home cooking, excellent variety. Very nice property, patio deck, well gardened, small in ground pool.Fridge, bottled water, and glasses provided. Friendly small dog in the house.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darlene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at The Shady Nook, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
Thanks for the kind words,we look forward to seeing you again next season,Sadie say's
Hello.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockwood, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

We just returned from our visit to the D&K Shady Nook and will return. Our room was well appointed and the service here from Doug and Kathy was superb. In close proximity to the theatres and to downtown. A great breakfast, friendly owners, lovely grounds and interior made our stay the best!
Lynn and Mike

Room Tip: Our first floor room with en suite was convenient for coming and going
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynnandmike1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug W, Owner at The Shady Nook, responded to this review, June 17, 2012
Thanks for the great review, we look forward to your return next year, stay well.
Doug & Kathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2012

We recenlty stayed at the Shady Nook. The rooms and clean and nicely furnished. The location is on a quiet street in Stratford. A short walk to the Tom Patterson or Festival Theatre and restaurants. Once you stay here you will return. The owners are warm and welcoming and ensure that your stay is enjoyable. In a very short time it will feel like home.

Room Tip: The rooms have beautiful handmade quilts on the beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJG2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug W, Owner at The Shady Nook, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Glad you had a pleasent stay at our B&B, It is so nice to greet returning friends each year as well as new guest. We appreciate your kind comments, thanks D&K
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canandaigua, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2012

Wee have at the D&K at least. Once and several times more frequent. D &K is our only choice.One stay and you will want to return. Fred and Lynda McKkinley

Room Tip: All rooms equal value
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 937Emma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug W, Owner at The Shady Nook, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
Kathy and I wish to thank you both for being such great guests and friends over the years.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley NE
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 25, 2012

Every Aug. I travel to Stratford to attend the Festival. We stay a week so we can take in all the plays and the bonus is our reunion with Doug and Kathy. Very accomodating and dependable.

Room Tip: If you are a swimmer, there is a darling little pool out back. If flowers make your day, you will ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug W, Owner at The Shady Nook, responded to this review, February 29, 2012
We always have had a great time when your group come for a visit, good to see everyone.
How is Bob doing, hopefully he will be able to golf, maybe here one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2012

Since our 1st stay, years ago now, D&K has won our loyalty with its unswerving friendliness, warmth and comfort! Each year we find ourselves returning more often and staying longer. From the well-furnished comfy rooms, to the large living room, and the bright and airy dining room, our hosts have created a very inviting place to stay. Oh, and the breakfasts are sumptuous with variety for all tastes and dietary needs. In good weather the yard and pool are to be enjoyed and relaxed in too. Its a short walk to the theatresand restaurants, but just nicely away from the busy main areas. Its our place 'of choice' whenever we're nearby, both as a couple and when with great friends who we want to enjoy time with.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1750Spider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug W, Owner at The Shady Nook, responded to this review, February 9, 2012
Kathy and I would like to thank you for your wonderful review,we look forward to seeing you again in the near future, stay well and say hello to everyone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stratford hotels
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus The Arden Park Hotel
0.6 mi away
The Stratford Hotel
The Stratford Hotel
#1 of 18 in Stratford
305 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Bruce Hotel
The Bruce Hotel
#4 of 18 in Stratford
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Chisholms in Stratford
The Chisholms in Stratford
#10 of 89 in Stratford
275 reviews
0.2 mi away
Arbour Garden Bed & Breakfast
Arbour Garden Bed & Breakfast
#34 of 89 in Stratford
31 reviews
0.7 mi away
Stone Maiden Inn
Stone Maiden Inn
#5 of 89 in Stratford
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shady Nook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shady Nook

Property: The Shady Nook
Address: 64 Earl St, Stratford, Ontario N5A 6G2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Stratford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 89 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On a quiet street we offer four en-suite bedrooms, a twin/king and queen on the main floor and two queens on the second floor. An easy walk to gourmet restaurants, theater and boutique shopping, as well as Art in the Park, our famous Swans and many photo opportunities along the Avon river await. We serve a full breakfast and cater to special diets. A large guest Frig for ice and to keep your refreshments cool awaits in our Sunroom where you can play cards or have a picnic lunch on a rainy day. Enjoy a refreshing dip in the pool, a bike ride or sun on the large deck, the coffee's on so come let us make your Stratford experience all it can be, see you soon. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Shady Nook Stratford, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing