We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“... when in Stratford ... stay @ D&K!”
Review of The Shady Nook

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stratford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Shady Nook
Ranked #12 of 89 Stratford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stratford, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“... when in Stratford ... stay @ D&K!”
Reviewed February 7, 2012

Since our 1st stay, years ago now, D&K has won our loyalty with its unswerving friendliness, warmth and comfort! Each year we find ourselves returning more often and staying longer. From the well-furnished comfy rooms, to the large living room, and the bright and airy dining room, our hosts have created a very inviting place to stay. Oh, and the breakfasts are sumptuous with variety for all tastes and dietary needs. In good weather the yard and pool are to be enjoyed and relaxed in too. Its a short walk to the theatresand restaurants, but just nicely away from the busy main areas. Its our place 'of choice' whenever we're nearby, both as a couple and when with great friends who we want to enjoy time with.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1750Spider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug W, Owner at The Shady Nook, responded to this review, February 9, 2012
Kathy and I would like to thank you for your wonderful review,we look forward to seeing you again in the near future, stay well and say hello to everyone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
52
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2012

I first stayed at D & K Shady Nook in 1990 and have returned every year since . . . what better recommendation could I give? A lovely home, such a pleasant breakfast room, a great location, and such warm and friendly hosts. Having come with a variety of family and friends over the years--including a mother and an aunt in their nineties--we have had some problems and unexpected situations and have so appreciated Doug and Kathy's sincere support and help with problem solving--wonderful welcoming people! As soon as my stay with them ends, I begin looking forward to my return the next year!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dduttonturner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug W, Owner at The Shady Nook, responded to this review, February 9, 2012
Kathy and I would like to thank you for your wonderful review,we look forward to seeing you again in the near future, stay well and say hello to everyone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle Creek, MI
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 7, 2012

We've stayed there many times. Clean, quaint, and comfy, with beautiful landscape (complete with a pool). Good breakfast and caring hosts. We'd recommend it!

Room Tip: All rooms have a private bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveToSingAndRead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug W, Owner at The Shady Nook, responded to this review, January 14, 2012
We look forward to welcoming our friends back, having a game of golf or just talking about whats happening in life. Thanks for reviewing our B*B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prospect, Kentucky
2 reviews
Reviewed January 7, 2012

My husband and I and our friends have stayed at D & K Shady Nook B & B for several years when we go to the Shakespeare Festival in Stratford Ontario. During our stay we relax in the spacious family room and sunny kitchen any time during the day or night. A delicious, freshly made breakfast is included with your stay.This B & B is clean and well taken care of with tender loving care by it's hospitable, friendly owners. They help with any question you may have about the town and the theatre.

Stratford on the Avon is a beautiful quaint town with numerous, wonderful restaurants. This has become an annual tradition and get away for us for the last 10 years. The live theatre is wonderful and professionally performed. It is Ontario's answer to Broadway! We look forward to our visit to D & K Shady Nook, a visit with our friends, the superb theatre, and the town of Stratford each year with great anticipation!

Room Tip: All rooms are comfortable, clean, and nicely decorated. You can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bgromine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug W, Owner at The Shady Nook, responded to this review, January 14, 2012
We are always glad to be able to accommodate when you are in Stratford The Festival City
Thanks and we look forward to your return
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
1 review
Reviewed January 4, 2012

I've really enjoyed my many visits.They always make you feel like part of the family! Amazing breakfast and very great hosts! I Recommend this to anyone looking for a quiet weekend away.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug W, Owner at The Shady Nook, responded to this review, January 14, 2012
Our home is your home when you are visiting Stratford,we are here to make everything you
need available for a fun stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stratford hotels
0.5 mi away
Mercer Hall Inn
Mercer Hall Inn
#8 of 18 in Stratford
279 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Parlour Inn
The Parlour Inn
#2 of 18 in Stratford
376 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus The Arden Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Stone Maiden Inn
Stone Maiden Inn
#5 of 89 in Stratford
280 reviews
0.2 mi away
Arbour Garden Bed & Breakfast
Arbour Garden Bed & Breakfast
#36 of 89 in Stratford
30 reviews
0.2 mi away
Amadeus Haus Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shady Nook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shady Nook

Property: The Shady Nook
Address: 64 Earl St, Stratford, Ontario N5A 6G2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Stratford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 89 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On a quiet street we offer four en-suite bedrooms, a twin/king and queen on the main floor and two queens on the second floor. An easy walk to gourmet restaurants, theater and boutique shopping, as well as Art in the Park, our famous Swans and many photo opportunities along the Avon river await. We serve a full breakfast and cater to special diets. A large guest Frig for ice and to keep your refreshments cool awaits in our Sunroom where you can play cards or have a picnic lunch on a rainy day. Enjoy a refreshing dip in the pool, a bike ride or sun on the large deck, the coffee's on so come let us make your Stratford experience all it can be, see you soon. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Shady Nook Stratford, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing