We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the splurge!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Stewart House Inn, Stratford, Ontario
Ranked #16 of 89 Stratford B&B and Inns
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Worth the splurge!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2011

This was our second trip to Stratford together and we decided to spend a little extra on our lodging in order to try out The Stewart House. We were so impressed with the beautiful rooms (we stayed in two over the course of our visit due to availability), wonderful breakfasts, and attention to detail.

Breakfast was served, when weather permitted, in a beautiful poolside setting. Separate tables were used to allow multiple dining areas, which was a nice compromise between dining alone if you pleased, or chatting with others just a table away if feeling more social. Two friendly house dogs wandered about to make their greetings.

I could go on and on about the great things -- relaxing swims in the pool, tasty breakfasts, small snack and drink placed in the room each evening, and even a gifted bottle of wine from our host, Mark, to save us a trip to the store.

On the down side, the two rooms where we stayed did not have windows that opened. I believe other rooms may have windows that open, so ask before you reserve if this is an important point for you!

All in all, Stewart House was definitely worth the splurge! Mark is a wonderful host!

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RUindiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
53
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2010

I recently returned from a weekend stay at Stewart House and I feel compelled to share my experience. The home is beautifully decorated and very comfortable with many areas for lounging. The bedrooms are gorgeous and the linens are luxurious. Breakfast was a true highlight of our stay. Not only was everything beautifully presented but the bounty of food was exceptional. Our hosts were amazing and anticipated our every need. I look forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElaineK04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2010

I have never been made to feel so welcome at even a relative's home! Mark and Mary went beyond the call at every opportunity! The Stewart House is a fantastic property with the most beautiful decor and gorgeous landscaping. I was with 4 girlfriends and we truly felt we were part of the Armstrong family when we left! The breakfast surpassed any that I had at some of the finest hotels in the world. We truly felt that Mark made it his mission to ensure that we had a memorable weekend and we did! It was hard to leave but I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lexamber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2010

This is our new favourite B & B in Canada. Reading through the 21 other “excellent” reviews will give you an idea of what to expect from this beautiful inn and its wonderful host Marc Armstrong. They are all accurate, and perhaps a little understated. There are other accommodations that can match the sumptuousness of the Georgian Room, and a few might offer the equal of their delicious breakfasts, but no one provides the level of service and the unexpected extras that are part of the superb Stewart House Inn experience.

Over the past 25 years we’ve enjoyed many of the B & B’s and hotels in the Stratford area. This serene, elegant inn is so superior by comparison, that it will be an easy choice for us for as long as Marc, Mary and Lynn are at the helm. The Stewart House Inn is an epicurean’s dream come true.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denmor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2010

Stewart House isn't cheap, but it delivers. The rooms are gorgeous. Breakfast by the pool on a beautiful summer morning is about as close to paradise on earth as I can imagine. The service is impeccable. And then there's the Stratford Shakespeare Festival--the only place in North America where you can reliably experience some of the world's best productions of play's by the English language's greatest playwright--as well as fabulously staged Broadway musicals and theatre classics you'll seldom find outside a festival setting. And Stratford is also renowned for its fine restaurants. We always reserve one night of our stay just for a long, leisurely dinner after the pre-theatre crowds have dispersed.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rickdana_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2010

Just returned from an amazing night at the Stewart House. We had a wonderful experience! The house is beautiful and our room was lovely and spotless. The bed was exceptionally comfortable. The experience was most relaxing with a very accomodating staff. Looking forward to a return visit!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skeeter005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2010

My husband booked this Inn for our 10th Wedding Anniversary. It's a beautiful property with amazing service! There's a nice pool, cappacino/espresso machine and beautiful gardens. Marc (the owner) was very friendly and extremely helpful. He made our dinner reservations (at Woolfy's, which was great), gave us directions to the play and helped us will all our other little questions. We stayed in the China Trade room, which was very nice, and had our own private bath. Our breakfast was delicious - spinach and goat cheese frittatta, sweet potatoe hash, fried tomato and ham! Marc and his staff make sure that all the little touches are there for you to have a wonderful stay. The service was great, the Inn was clean, the food delicious - we would definetly recommend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nancyanddave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stratford hotels
1.5 mi away
The Bruce Hotel
The Bruce Hotel
#4 of 18 in Stratford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mercer Hall Inn
Mercer Hall Inn
#8 of 18 in Stratford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Parlour Inn
The Parlour Inn
#3 of 18 in Stratford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Arden Park Hotel
0.5 mi away
Stone Maiden Inn
Stone Maiden Inn
#5 of 89 in Stratford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
0.5 mi away
Legacy House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stewart House Inn, Stratford, Ontario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stewart House Inn, Stratford, Ontario

Property: Stewart House Inn, Stratford, Ontario
Address: 62 John St N, Stratford, Ontario N5A 6K7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Stratford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 89 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Stewart House Inn, Stratford, Ontario 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxurious private retreat set on an acre of residential woodlands, overlooking the Avon River parklands and within two blocks of the downtown core. All rooms are exquisitely furnished with ensuite bathrooms. Features include fine Egyptian linens, all-season goose down duvets, robes for each season. wireless internet access, flat screen TV with DVD, and stereo CD/Clock radio. Tariff includes morning silver coffee service, gourmet breakfast, full evening turndown, and seasonal heated salt-water pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Stewart House Inn, Stratford, Ontario reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stewart House Inn, Stratford, Ontario Hotel Stratford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing