We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, quiet and adequate”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Travellers Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Travellers Motel
Ranked #76 of 89 Stratford B&B and Inns
Traverse City, Michigan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Clean, quiet and adequate”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for one night in August 2013. We were attracted by the low price and good reviews. We were not disappointed. The pros: The room was clean, beds comfortable and it was quiet. Cons: Everything dated and a bit down at the heels, it could be maintained better. But for the price it was hard to beat. It is located about 5 minutes from downtown Stratford and there are plenty of restaurant choices nearby. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pno2ner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TVM784, Manager at Travellers Motel, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the kind words regarding our motel. We are very pleased that you found your stay enjoyable and that we did not disappoint. Stratford is a beautiful city to be enjoyed from the lake front and the theatres and not from your hotel room; and so we price our rooms accordingly.

However, I'd like to remind you we are constantly renovating and working on improving our establishment. To see these improvement please visit our facebook page (http://www.facebook.com/TVM784)

Thank You and we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    22
    7
    2
    7
See reviews for
8
17
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

I have an open mind when it comes to motels. I just want a clean room and a friendly welcome. No problem with the rooms at Traveller's but I was put off by the indifferent welcome. The girl in the office didn't even say hello. Just checked me in. Seemed like I was an interruption. Not even a smile or a thank you. Because of this I would not return. Too bad as it is a good value.

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Jkent95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TVM784, Manager at Travellers Motel, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a response regarding our motel. I would like to sincerely apologize for my staff's behaviour. It is common courtesy to say hello, thank you, and goodbye. Not to mention being in the hospitality industry how much more important that becomes. I assure you my staff is a kind, friendly, and outgoing group and this is a rare incident.

I have spoken to my front desk clerk as well as the entire staff in regards to how important it is to maintain a level of professionalism and respect towards our customers.

Thank you for the kind words regarding our rooms and I truly hope you will give us another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Stratford hotels

Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed here at the end of May 2013 to (of course, it's Statford) see the plays. Travellers Motel is one of the last of the old car motels. I found it charming and retro. The room was a bit small (double with two beds), but entirely served our purposes. And the staff was great - thanks so much for the kettle! If you want something like a Holiday Inn, this is not it. If you want something for the budget, comfy and retro, this is it.

Room Tip: Rooms with double beds may be a bit cramped (double beds take up extra space).
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EFrenzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TVM784, Manager at Travellers Motel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for your review. Travelling can be difficult and stressful. So, if we are able to provide customer service that would lessen some of that stress, then we are on the right track.

We look forward to another opportunity to host you at our property, and once again, thank you for your positive comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

We've stayed here several times over the years, most recently in June of this year. We'll be spending several more nights here in August. Since we come to Stratford to see plays, the Travellers provides us just what we need: clean, comfortable room and polite,helpful staff.
Well doubtless be back in future years.

Room Tip: Room # 7 is nifty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TVM784, Manager at Travellers Motel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the comfort and convenience of our facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor,Ontario
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

This is a perfectly good budget hotel, the rates are good for a Stratford hotel. We've stayed here about four times in the last 2 years and have had no big issues. They are upgrading all their rooms, so obviously the new ones are a little better then the older rooms.
Rooms are available with a fridge.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Candance72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TVM784, Manager at Travellers Motel, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the feedback! It is wonderful to hear from our valued repeat customers and appreciate your continued patronage.

We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

I have been attending the Stratford Festival for 15 years and have always stayed at this hotel. The staff have always been friendly. I can now afford to stay at a more pricy hotel. I choose not to because this is truly a little gem for the budget minded traveller. If you require great luxurious surroundings don't stay here. However, if a clean room and a comfortable bed are all you need this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Violetshadow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TVM784, Manager at Travellers Motel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thanks for the kind words. We have been working diligently on improving our quality of service and our quality of product. We are constantly under renovations and trying to upgrade, but it is only possible because of you, our customers. It is on the backbone of our loyal customers that we are able to renovate, and improve our services.

So, sincerely from the management and staff at the Travellers Motel,

Thank you, and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atwood ON
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

Stay was nice and quiet, room was number 24 which we were told was recently renovated, and boy could you tell! The bathroom was nice and big with beautiful marble tops and a tub and shower combo. The room had a kitchenette which had matching marble tops. Only downfall was the heat. It took us a while to figure out the thermostat which was hidden behind the tv armoire My wife and I stayed the night as we had an early doctors appointment in Kitchener and didn't want to get stuck in the snow. Definitely well worth it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TVM784, Manager at Travellers Motel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for the encouraging words and taking the time to voice them. Room 24 has been recently renovated and is well liked by all of our guests. The layout and redesign of the room took some careful planning but it look like it has been worth the effort.

You can see our other renovated rooms on our Facebook page.

Best Wishes,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stratford hotels
1.3 mi away
Queen's Inn at Stratford
Queen's Inn at Stratford
#11 of 18 in Stratford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Arden Park Hotel
0.6 mi away
Festival Inn
Festival Inn
#14 of 18 in Stratford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Bruce Hotel
The Bruce Hotel
#4 of 18 in Stratford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Stratford Hotel
The Stratford Hotel
#1 of 18 in Stratford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
0.7 mi away
Majer's Motel
Majer's Motel
#12 of 18 in Stratford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travellers Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travellers Motel

Property: Travellers Motel
Address: 784 Ontario St, Stratford, Ontario N5A 3K1, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Stratford
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 89 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travellers Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Travellers Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travellers Motel Stratford, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing