We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Festival hotel is a decent Stratford option”
Review of Festival Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Festival Inn
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Stratford
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Ah Tripadvisor.... I am a long-time reader, and occasional contributor, and find the reviews highly useful for trip planning. But I've learned to take many of the reviews, particularly some of the negative ones, with a grain of salt. Yes the Arden Park is newer than the Festival Inn. Most of the buildings on the property of the Festival Inn are an older style motel look, however, the interior of the rooms in all except one small building have been nicely renovated and are very similar to the Arden Park in style. The rooms that we have stayed in are all very adequate in size. There are rooms with two doubles or one king, depending on which building you are in. And I believe there are some with queens. Our room this trip had a king, a nice dresser/credenza with a refrigerator, a desk and chair, and two upholstered chairs with an end table.

We were in the main building near the back. I can't imagine why being further from the lobby would ever be considered a negative, unless you have difficulty walking. No part of the property is very far to walk.

Yes the hotel is a bit pricy, but people, this is Stratford in high season. The Festival Inn is slightly lower in price than the Arden Park. There are cheaper motels in Stratford. I've never stayed in any of them but they look rather dismal from the outside.

My husband went running in the morning, 40 minute run, making a loop from the hotel down to the river, past the Festival Theater and back. It would not be a very convenient walk from the hotel to the theaters. I imagine it could be done, but really requires driving.

The restaurant had a good selection of breakfast options and not very pricy compared to most hotel breakfasts at the hotels I stay in when on business. They do serve lunch and dinner, very inexpensive, but with all the excellent restaurant options in Stratford, I would only eat breakfast and would go elsewhere for lunch or dinner.

As reported in other reviews there is wifi in the lobby, the restaurant, and the annex. Otherwise you need to use your cell phone data plan, or check out an Ethernet cable from the front desk. The staff at the front desk were pleasant and helpful.

The waitstaff at the restaurant were ok. The restaurant could use a no better system for seating diners. The waitstaff double as hosts, and people do tend to queue up, although we never waited more than a couple of minutes. Also, management should tell the staff to circulate and refill coffee.

All in all our stay was pleasant and I would not hesitate to stay again. Wish we had time to enjoy the pool and outdoor patio.

Room Tip: Ask about bedding types before booking and make sure to get a renovated room.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DetroitSunlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (217)
There are newer reviews for Festival Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 217 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed at this motel on Aug 10th 2013. It was a very expensive stay and the accomodations were meager at best. Two double beads instead of queen beds in the room. The beds were hard and not very comfortable.

The rooms were clean but other than that there was nothing that would justify the $159.00 per night fee.

Room Tip: Go to another motel
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tm_k155019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

You can't actually complain about this tired property --companion to the Arden Park Hotel . But there's a reason why three times this year they've had room and the Arden Park didn't. Room 135 is a LONG way from the lobby. Room was acceptable. Air conditioning unit worked -- but not well -- and no thermostat. Just hi, medium and low. Waited at the dining room for seating at 8:30 am on a Saturday. There were five or six tables occupied and we waited and waited and waited. Then left to eat at McDonald's next door. Decent value for the price. These places need some stiff competition -- and there really isn't much .

Room Tip: Ask for the Annex.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Comfortable, clean, reasonable for Stratford. A bit worn looking in places. Really too bad about lack of wifi in the rooms. Good proximity to the theaters. Check in process and check out process was courteous and efficient.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank myroes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

My daughter and I spent 2 nights here. Great place great beds. Staff was very courteous and helpful. We had breakfast there two mornings and dinner one night. Food was good. Staff great.
We will stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LadyP2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We are currently staying at the Festival Inn on a long term stay. What has been a very stressful situation has been made easier by the wonderful staff. They have gone out of their way to make us comfortable. The long term rate was much better than expected. They are a pet friendly hotel, so my advice to anyone with allergies to dogs ( they do not take cats ) find another hotel to stay at. You pay a one time fee of 45.00 for special cleaning of the room when you leave, and that is it. No extra fees per night ! The rooms are very clean and comfortable. We have a room with 2 double beds. The room has been updated, and has a flat screen television. The bathroom is a bit old but also very clean, and that's more important. If you complain about the cost of their rooms the rates are competitive with other hotels in the area. Stratford caters to tourists, and the Shakespeare Festival so it is more expensive than other places in Ontario.

I had a favourite pillow go missing, and the housekeeping staff went out of their way to look for it. It turned up 4 days later, and they were genuinely excited about the fact it had been found.

We are here with our dog, and the staff go out of their way to say hello, and show her some attention. There is a lot of green space to let your dog run, out back, and there are picnic tables scattered throughout the property which makes it nice on a warm summer evening.

The restaurant menu is small, but reasonably priced for Stratford, and I have never had soup as good as what their chef makes. They have daily specials except for Sundays when the restaurant is only open for breakfast. The bar area is small and quaint.

I can not recommend this hotel enough, and would highly recommend it. There will always be people who like to pick things apart, and never seem to be happy, but my family and I have enjoyed our stay immensely.
The pool area is much nicer than most hotel pools, it is larger and deeper than most. The doors that open on to a patio from the pool lend a feel of being in a outdoor pool.
The beds are very comfortable, even if we are used to our king sized bed, there is a closet as well, something not many hotels have.

I am very grateful to the wonderful staff for making things a bit easier on us, and if the need ever arises again, we will definitely stay here !!!
The only thing I would change is offering room service and breakfast with the room rate, which they do not do...
There

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cynnie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

This is our 6th visit to Stratford. We've stayed at 3 b&b's and 2 motels. This was a good experience overall. The rooms are decent sized and clean. {Plenty of parking. The pool area is very nice. As others have commented the wifi works only in the lobby but the desk will supply ethernet cords if asked.
Skip the restaurant except for breakfast. We ate dinner there because we were pressed for time going to a play. Very mediocre.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank windycity_773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stratford hotels
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus The Arden Park Hotel
2.1 mi away
The Parlour Inn
The Parlour Inn
#5 of 18 in Stratford
397 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Stratford Hotel
The Stratford Hotel
#1 of 18 in Stratford
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Bruce Hotel
The Bruce Hotel
#4 of 18 in Stratford
171 reviews
2.0 mi away
Mercer Hall Inn
Mercer Hall Inn
#9 of 18 in Stratford
290 reviews
0.4 mi away
Majer's Motel
Majer's Motel
#10 of 18 in Stratford
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Festival Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Festival Inn

Address: 1144 Ontario St, Stratford, Ontario N5A 6Z3, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Stratford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Stratford
Price Range: $114 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Festival Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 182
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Festival Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Festival Hotel Stratford
Festival Inn Stratford, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing