We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fine choice when in Stratford”
Review of Festival Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Festival Inn
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Stratford
Reviewed August 3, 2011

This was our second stay at the Festival Inn in Stratford. The rooms we've stayed in were both very pleasant, comfortable and quiet. The pool was a nice bonus, with a hot tub and sauna to go along with it (although the sauna did not get very hot). Breakfast was not very inspired, but with so many interesting dining choices in town, you'd be better off checking out the downtown area for something more creative and good. The location on the edge of town means you probably won't choose to walk to the downtown area or the theater, but being out of the central part of Stratford makes the room rate more reasonable. A worthwhile tradeoff.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tbbbnbab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (227)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

184 - 190 of 227 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2011

We went for three days to visit the town and catch a show. We checked out a few other places but either no pool or a poor excuse for one, so when we saw the one at Festival Inn it we were sold. Until we wanted to use it. It had been rented out for a birthday party of 8 little screaming yelling splashing boys with little or no supervision. We left eary to come home and enjoy our own pool.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank barney154990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2011

Stayed here as part of a group of 20 or so. We stayed in the courtyard section which is essentially a drive-up motel like experience. The rooms smell like musty old wood. I felt like we were camping. This was more like a $59 a night experience rather than a $139 one. It is several miles from the good part of Straftford, necessitating driving. This is a very very old section of the hotel, and the bathrooms were more like an old cottage than a nice hotel. There is no wireless but you can buy a cord in the lobby for $10. Several units had recurring electrical and HVAC issues as well. How this could be the #3 hotel for business is puzzling.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnnyninetynine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2011

My daughter got married this past weekend - and I booked several rooms for my family & friends. The management reserved a wing of the hotel for us - no others around!!(it was great) I asked family & friends if the rooms were okay that were ALL SO PLEASED with the rooms & service that received. We received a super great rate since we were booking several rooms. The continental breakfast the guest were very thrilled with, relatives that brought children said the pool/hot tub was GREAT - the whole weekend was GREAT!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Farmerwife6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2010

We had a confirmed and paid reservation at The Stratford Hotel for over a month prior to our scheduled stay in Stratford, but The Stratford Hotel cancelled us by phone only 4 days before our stay ,claiming they were doing renovations to our room. They sent us to the Festival Inn. No other hotel was available at this last minute, and we were concerned after reading the negative comments on this site about the Festival Inn.
We were pleasantly surprised by the very helpful staff, and very large room with a Queen sized bed plus a pull out sofa bed. There was a plasma TV and small fridge.The bathroom was small but everything was clean and in good working order,and there were no bed bugs at all. There was an older style heater which was too noisy to keep on during the night, so we were cold, but the staff said that they would be upgrading the heater soon. Also, the walls are thin, so we could hear everything in the adjacent rooms and hallway. The Festival Inn is a 10 minute drive to Stratford's downtown activities and theatres, but there are many places to eat nearby. The hotel guests were given complimentary buffet breakfast, which tasted good, and included hot breakfast items as well.The staff, especially the Front Office Manager, were very helpful and pleasant, and we would recommend this hotel .

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank naloe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2010

Service was good and people were warm. Room was clean and relatively modern with full sized flat TV and remote. Working modern fridge. Location is 10 minutes from Festival Theater by cab. Across from major shopping area. Parking was free. Internet was free but you need an ether net cable. (Wifi would have been nice) Lots of food choices even within walking distance.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BedbugPhobile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2010

The Festival Inn made a great venue for our wedding/reception. Their catering staff was friendly, the food good, and their banquet rooms and lobby are quite nice.

The disappointment came when we arrived to our Jacuzzi Suite. The Suites are in need of some TLC. The shower stall was covered in rust, I mean covered, which leads me to wonder how thoroughly it gets cleaned. There was a magazine laying open on the ledge next to the toilet as if someone had come in to use the john before we got there, which is a little strange. The room and decor was pretty blah, not very cozy feeling. I have stayed in much nicer rooms for much less than the $189 plus tax that we paid.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heatey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stratford hotels
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus The Arden Park Hotel
2.1 mi away
The Parlour Inn
The Parlour Inn
#5 of 18 in Stratford
414 reviews
2 mi away
Mercer Hall Inn
Mercer Hall Inn
#11 of 18 in Stratford
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Bruce Hotel
The Bruce Hotel
#4 of 18 in Stratford
184 reviews
1.9 mi away
Queen's Inn at Stratford
Queen's Inn at Stratford
#10 of 18 in Stratford
142 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Stratford Hotel
The Stratford Hotel
#1 of 18 in Stratford
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Festival Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Festival Inn

Address: 1144 Ontario St, Stratford, Ontario N5A 6Z3, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Stratford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Stratford
Price Range: $103 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Festival Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 182
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Festival Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Festival Hotel Stratford
Festival Inn Stratford, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing