We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Spot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Chisholms in Stratford
Ranked #12 of 88 Stratford B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Chisholms is a beautiful B&B. Rooms are well-appointed and breakfast is fabulous. The hosts, Diane and Kent, are informative and delightful. Kent tells wonderful theatre stories. Location is perfect - 15 minute walk (maximum) to the theatres and shopping/dining district. I travelled with my teenage daughter and it was tremendous time. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maggie2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (275)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 275 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2013

This is the second visit to The Chisholms for my wife and I and there was just no other choice for us.
The B&B is a close walk to both the Avon and Festival theatres, the beautiful Avon river and the downtown restaurants and shopping. This year we enjoyed the play "Tommy" at the Avon Theatre.
Before the theatre, we had a delicious and good value Italian dinner at Fellini's. We had two salads and shared a pizza and with wine/beer the bill was under $50.
Our accommodations in the "Touch of Asia" room were ideal. We found the room well equipped, quiet and comfortable. We also appreciated the fridge stocked with complimentary water and juices and the special touches in the room.
The breakfast was delicious and consisted of fresh fruit, muffins, waffles, sausages and beverages.
We are looking forward to our return trip next year.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alscriven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

What an experience!! We have stayed at a number of B&B over the years but I must say this one really impressed us . The comforts provided in the room was over the top. Having a coffee maker, with teas and coffees chocolates, candies ,cookies , and a well stocked fridge right in the room was wonderful. The wing back chairs and reading lights to read at night was such a treat. The bathrooms were luxurious and the claw footed bathtub was the icing on the cake for me!! The breakfast was delicious and I m sorry now that I did not help myself to the home made muffins for the road as you offered. A truly relaxing weekend stay. You cant beat the location - you are able to walk to the theaters and restaurants in no time. Thank you Kent and Diane for wonderful, memorable stay in Stratford.

Room Tip: Must have the English Room with the claw bath tub - divine luxury!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Franca Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

This is one of the best places we have ever stayed. The owners are extremely friendly and bend over backwards to see that your stay is the best. It is centrally located with a less than 15 minute walk from all the theatres and restaurants. The room we had was warm and inviting from the welcome candies and chocolates to the free water, juices and pop in the in room bar fridge. We also had a coffee maker with a huge selection of coffees and teas. The comfy king bed was very relaxing. The breakfast spread we incredible with warm muffins, bread, scones, fruit in the first course to the pancakes, peameal bacon, sausages or quiche we had in the second course. We were so full from breakfast one day we split a burger and fries for lunch. If you are staying overnight in Stratford the Chisholms is a must.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charles R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We spent the past weekend at the Chisholms and were made to feel very welcome (by both the hosts and their adorable dogs!) and comfortable in this beautiful home. The house is conveniently located about a 10 minute walk from downtown Stratford and from the theatres. I was a bit concerned that it might be noisy at night since it is on a main street, but it was very quiet - no traffic noise at all even though our room was at the front of the house. The hosts are very knowledgeable about Stratford and the festival. Copies of programs and information about attractions were easily available, and there is a computer for the use of guests. Our room was spacious, comfortable, beautifully decorated, and very well appointed; for example, even though we didn't need them, I was very impressed that extra toothbrushes and toothpaste and other things we might have forgotten were provided in the room. The breakfasts were abundant and delicious; I found the portion size of the fruit a bit overwhelming - felt guilty not eating it all, but I knew there was more to come! And the extra muffins for the road were much appreciated. The large verandah is a great place to sit and relax and watch the world go by. All in all, a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: We peeked into the other rooms after the occupants had left and they all look equally lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TOwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Diane and Kent are very knowledgeable and gracious hosts. The rooms were lovely and well appointed - loved the individual Keurig machines in the rooms. Enjoyed sitting on the veranda for a noon break with tea and cookies. Breakfasts were delicious and plentiful, and we appreciated the doggie bags of the breakfast muffins and breads to take with us during the day. A wonderful place to stay in Stratford, that adds to the experience.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KMJackson60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

This was the best place we've stayed yet. The reservation process was easy and reassuring. We appreciated that our room was made available to us prior to the matinee show. We arrived later than planned in a rush to our next gig, but we got checked in swiftly and were on our way in no time. All the comforts of home were provided in this sumptuous setting. We truly felt pampered. The décor was refined and fresh. The breakfast was well timed - at 8:30 a.m. It was ample, varied, and carefully prepared and presented. Our hosts were very friendly, helpful and attentive. We can't wait to return to relax and enjoy the place longer.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stratford hotels
0.4 mi away
The Bruce Hotel
The Bruce Hotel
#4 of 18 in Stratford
184 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus The Arden Park Hotel
0.3 mi away
Duggan Place
Duggan Place
#14 of 88 in Stratford
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Amadeus Haus Bed & Breakfast
0.5 mi away
Edison's Cafe Bar and Inn
Edison's Cafe Bar and Inn
#18 of 88 in Stratford
19 reviews
0.7 mi away
Stone Maiden Inn
Stone Maiden Inn
#5 of 88 in Stratford
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chisholms in Stratford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chisholms in Stratford

Address: 310 Ontario St, Stratford, Ontario N5A 3H5, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Stratford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 88 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford
Price Range: $236 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Chisholms in Stratford 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historically designated 1881 Italianate home in downtown Stratford, Canada. Park & walk everywhere. 3 large en-suite bedrooms with TV, fridge, electric fireplace, A/C, Wi-Fi, breakfast, Open all year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Chisholms in Stratford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chisholms In Stratford Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing