We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Birmingham Manor Experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stratford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Birmingham Manor Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 89 Stratford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
San Diego, California, United States
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Our Birmingham Manor Experience”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Our hosts, Elena & Dom, were very warm and gracious hosts. Birmingham Manor is a lovely B & B, with comfortable, well-appointed rooms. But, the creme de la creme was ELena and Dom's breakfast, which were unlike any others we had ever experienced---- three courses of made from scratch delights. Each breakfast was amazing! But, the main factor was a lovely ambiance created by our wonderful hosts, who made the entire experience truly enjoyable. We would return in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
234
8
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Port Hope, Canada
1 review
Reviewed July 23, 2012

I recently spent 3 nights at Birmingham Manor. It is excellent. Not only are Dom and Elena warm and caring people but their attention to detail is superlative; From the soft pillows to high thread count sheets, to fresh homemade biscotti available throughout the day to free long distance phone calls within Canada, to a willingness to make and unmake arrangements, to knowledgebility about restaurants and the plays. They pride themselves on never having served eggs and toast. Instead they serve a gourmet 3 course breakfast that is so good that the 3 days I was there I didn't have room for lunch. I have been going to Stratford for many years looking for the perfect B&B. Now I've found it

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GHC928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

The two necessary attributes of a good place to sleep away from home are a good bed and blinds that cut out the light. Our room at the Birmingham Manor had both. But that's just the beginning. This place is extremely clean and meticulously maintained. It's lke being in a 1904 house, but with all the modern conveniences. The hosts are gracious and the use of local foods and herbs from the garden in the house makes the breakfast a unique gourmet experience. We enjoyed a pleasant and lively conversation with the other guests in the morning - the morning after I'd had some of the most restful sleep I've ever had on the road. The Manor is about 2 km from the theatres, a distance that makes the surroundings quite peaceful. If you haven't tried this place - treat yourself.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, FL
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

This was our 7th annual stay at the wonderful Birmingham Manor while seeing great plays at the Stratford Shakespeare Festival. We again had a delightful stay!! The new owners, Elina and Dom, were outstanding hosts. They made a few decorating changes which were not necessary but which made the B@B even more beautiful than it was before. We again stayed in the Balmoral room which is lovely. On both mornings of our stay, Elena and Dom made the breakfasts not only a culinary delight, but also engaged us in interesting conversation during an extended breakfast. Our first 3 course breakfast included a fruit and yogert parfait, buttermilk waffles with walnuts and fruit, and vegan cake with blueberries. Everything was delicious, homemade, healthy and served beautifully. The second morning's breakfast was another 3 course delight -- fresh fruit with baked peaches, puff pastery pouches filled with veggies, and cranberry scones with wipped cream. Again, a culinary delight! Elena and Dom were so nice -- they made us dinner reservations, gave us water to take on our walk around the lake, as well as water and a few scones for our drive to Niagara-on-the-Lake. Thank you so much Elena and Dom. See you next year.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JerryDelrayBeach_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Dom and Elena have created a warm and welcoming ambiance at Birmingham Manor and are experienced and adept at welcoming guests and making them feel at home. The guest, living and dining rooms are very comfortable and nicely decorated in traditional styles with an eclectic twist or two in each setting - check out the phone booth in the front parlour! The breakfasts were delightful with unique and interesting servings that were attractively presented and left you ready to take on the day. A second floor refigerator with complimentary refreshments is an added feature and the hosts are ever ready with tips and assistance at making your stay in Stratford a rewarding experience. Dome and Elena have an evolving and well thought out vision for the Manor which will position it well as a leading accomodation into the future.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank alex g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
1 review
Reviewed July 21, 2012

My girlfriend and I went to Stratford for the weekend to see a show, dinner and stay over for her birthday. Originally I was considering getting a hotel but I'm really glad that I didn't. The Birmingham Manor was fantastic. The room was incredibly clean, there were complimentary soft drinks and bottles of water. It was also incredibly close to downtown Stratford. We actually ended up walking to the restaurant and back. It was perfect. Then the Breakfast in the morning was out of this world. 3 courses, all very elegant, delicious but all homemade and fairly healthy for that matter. The price was right too. I would definitely recommend giving this place a try if you're ever in Stratford. Great job Dom and Elena! (the owners)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed July 20, 2012

A beautiful experience. Clean, airy and comfortable. Elena and Dom were engaging, attentive and very accomodating. Breakfast was a gastonomique delight. For our twenty-fifth anniversary, our son couldn't have chosen a more delightful place for us to stay. We won't be waiting twenty five years before visiting again.

Room Tip: We were fortunate to able to book mid-week which meant restaurants and other city experiences were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malhamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stratford hotels
1.4 mi away
The Bruce Hotel
The Bruce Hotel
#4 of 18 in Stratford
158 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus The Arden Park Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Stratford Hotel
The Stratford Hotel
#1 of 18 in Stratford
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Mercer Hall Inn
Mercer Hall Inn
#9 of 18 in Stratford
283 reviews
0.3 mi away
Stone Maiden Inn
Stone Maiden Inn
#5 of 89 in Stratford
288 reviews
0.9 mi away
Amadeus Haus Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birmingham Manor Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birmingham Manor Bed and Breakfast

Property: Birmingham Manor Bed and Breakfast
Address: 240 Birmingham St, Stratford, Ontario N5A 2T5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Stratford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 89 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Birmingham Manor is a beautiful Heritage Mansion in Stratford, Ontario Canada. We are within walking distance to the city centre. Stratford is only 1.5 hrs from Toronto and 45 min. from Lake Huron. Our rooms are beautiful and comfortable and we serve a great breakfast! We also offer vegetarian, gluten free and vegan meals. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Birmingham Manor Bed And Breakfast Stratford, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing