We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent in Every Way”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Queen and Albert B&B
Ranked #18 of 89 Stratford B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 13, 2012

This is a top notch B&B. We stayed in the Paris Room which has an adjoining small deck off the bedroom. It was delighful. The room was large as was the bathroom. The overall feel is welcoming without being intrusive. The dining room is large and guests have their own tables. The room also has a very nice sitting area which is very comfortable. The breakfast was excellent. The host is professional and friendly.
It is at the higher end of the scale by way of price however it is totally worth it.
No hesitation to highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ontmajo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (143)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 143 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2012

I was visiting Stratford and seeing shows at the Festival ( a number of great plays) and I was very happy staying for three nights in the large and airy New York Room at the charming and ecclectic Queen and Albert B&B. The room was very comfortable, well kept and cool with a sunny terrace and large bathroom. It boasts a large comfortable couch and sitting area. Theres lots of closet space and a small fridge. The other rooms looked lovely as well, though not quite as spacious. Willian is an inventive chef and a gracious host. Breakfast was fresh and tasty. Five minute walk to the festival theatre and maybe ten minutes to the downtown core...a lovely stroll in a charming neighbourhood. It's a little pricier than some other B&B options but definitely worth it.

Room Tip: The New York room is highly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Hubby surprised me with a trip to Stratford, which was exciting enough, but he picked the perfect place to stay. It really is a crime that it's only rated #8 because it is number #1 to me and I can't wait to go back next season.

Everything was perfect. William is an awesome host and cook. He's very knowledgeable about Stratford and the nightlife and the food. And he's a great cook. The quiche the first day was so good I had a second piece and begged for the recipe. He's also very attentive. He got us settled up in quick order when we came in and he leaves out a ton of amenities on a bar alongside of the diningroom.

Our room was equally amazing. We had the New York suite which is the largest by far and so neatly arrayed. There are french doors onto a shared patio, a couch with a fireplace, a little dining area and a very cushy bed, PLUS a microwave and a very sizable bathroom. We spent several hours in the room hiding from the heat very comfortably. I peeked into the other rooms and looked on the website and each of them has these nifty french doors overlooking the diningroom. It's a very nice layout.

Also, the location is perfect. It's tucked off the main street by a block but it's convenient to everything. We never used our car until the day we left. It's three blocks from one theatre and like four blocks from downtown. With the sunny weather, we enjoyed breakfast and then popped out to enjoy the city and our plays.

In short, this place is amazing and I can't wait to go back. Thank you so much for helping me have an awesome birthday, William!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We enjoyed our stay in the New York room. There were two set of French doors in the room. One led to an outdoor terrace that had tables and chairs. The room is spacious, as is the bathroom. Plenty of counter space in the bath and closet space (with a little refrigerator) in the main room.
William, our host, is a world traveler who has decorated using lovely things he has collected in his travels. He is relaxed and fun to be around. The breakfasts included fresh fruit, and homemade breakfast dishes, such as quiche. We were able to walk to the theaters and the downtown area.
It is a very appealing spot and we will definitely go back to it.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mandp60201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

My husband and I spent 4 wonderful nights at the Queen and Albert B&B. William, the proprietor, is great and alot of fun to talk to. We were traveling with another couple. We booked the New York and Paris rooms, and were delighted to discover they share a deck. One evening we picked up a pizza and some wine and dined on the deck. Very fun. The room was big, the bathroom was big, and the bed was very comfortable. The room was so nicely decorated. The living room and dining area downstairs were filled with wonderful memorabilia from William's many trips. The breakfasts always started with fresh fruit and yogurt, and good coffee. The rest of the breakfast was hot and nummy. We liked the location of this B&B - it was especially easy to walk to the Festival Theater. We did not use our rental car much during our stay. We would always return to the Queen and Albert for future trips to Stratford.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MandSEvanstonIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

This is the best B&B I have stayed at in Stratford. It has a great location and the ensuite room is some nice & private. The host is warm and wonderful. He has decorated the B&B with things from his travels and cooks great. The location is close to everything, especially the Festival. Thank you William, I am sure we will see you again next year!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nita C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We spent four days at The Queen and Albert. What a great place...impecabbly clean and spacious rooms with ensuite bathrooms. Each day we were served a different sumptuous breakfast. Close to all resturants and only a five minte walk from Festival Theatre. We'll be back and that is for sure!
Philip and Diana

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PNHMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAKB, Owner at The Queen and Albert B&B, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2012

I am glad you both enjoyed your first Stratford experience! I like to think of Stratford as being offered as a package: a great B&B of course lol but also the fantastic high quality theatre, the fabulous restaurants, quality shopping and wonderful walking areas along the river and more! I am glad you enjoyed and look forward to seeing you both next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stratford hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus The Arden Park Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Parlour Inn
The Parlour Inn
#5 of 18 in Stratford
400 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Stratford Hotel
The Stratford Hotel
#1 of 18 in Stratford
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Bruce Hotel
The Bruce Hotel
#3 of 18 in Stratford
175 reviews
1.4 mi away
Festival Inn
Festival Inn
#13 of 18 in Stratford
224 reviews
0.8 mi away
Stone Maiden Inn
Stone Maiden Inn
#5 of 89 in Stratford
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queen and Albert B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queen and Albert B&B

Address: 174 Queen St, Stratford, Ontario N5A 4N7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Stratford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 89 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford
Price Range: $152 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Queen and Albert B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect Location. Just up the street from the Stratford Festival Theatre and a short walk to downtown Stratford for the Avon, Tom Patterson and Studio theatres as well as Stratford’s fine restaurants and boutiques. Park your car, walk around town, soak up the ambiance of Stratford. Stratford’s original boutique B&B has four well-appointed suites for a soothing and relaxing stay. Well known for superb breakfasts, original artwork and eclectic decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your The Queen and Albert B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Queen And Albert B&B Stratford, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing