We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience all around”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stratford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Blue Spruce B&B
Ranked #9 of 89 Stratford B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Michael and Helene provided a fantastic experience for us. They are very friendly and knowledgeable about the area.

Breakfast was delicious both days, and they were more than happy to accommodate special dietary restrictions.

We look forward to coming back and seeing them again!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank polarbear32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MByrnes99, Owner at The Blue Spruce B&B, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

PB ... Thank you for taking the time to post your kind review of our B&B. We really enjoyed your visit and are so pleased you had such a good time in our lovely city. It is our hope that you will return for another visit before too long.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (197)
There are newer reviews for The Blue Spruce B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 197 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2013

Our hosts, MIchael and Helene, made this an exceptionally memorable stay: rooms-super comfortable with supplies including coffee machine and T.V; gourmet breakfasts, featuring home-made jams, made to suit individual preferences and dietary restrictions; advice and directions to points of interest in Stratford--which led to superb and reasonably priced restaurants. We were treated like personal friends, even to the point of gifting us with a snack of lovely warm banana bread for the trip home!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary Lee O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MByrnes99, Owner at The Blue Spruce B&B, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Mary-Lee... It was our great pleasure to have you as our guests! It is always fun for us when we host such nice people as yourselves and I can assure you we enjoyed your visit at least as much as you did! We would very much like to visit with you again, so please keep us in mind for your next visit to our wonderful city!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed here August 14-17, and we had a wonderful time! The room was very comfortable and the gourmet breakfasts were delicious. Michael and Helene are warm and gracious hosts who make every effort to ensure that their guests feel welcome and well cared for. There were many thoughtful details (thorough information package, tasty treats, helpful tips and recommendations, the lounge) which made it a highlight of our trip. We look forward to a return visit!

Room Tip: Violet Penny room was very comfortable!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Green2707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MByrnes99, Owner at The Blue Spruce B&B, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

We had such a delightful time hosting you. We are so pleased we were able to help make your stay in beautiful Stratford, Ontario such a good one. It would be our pleasure to host you again, so please come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Start with a 100+ year old house loving restored and add wonderful hospitality and you have a real winner. Michael and Helen are wonderful friendly hosts. They have added every modern amenities but kept the old house warmth and charm intact. The rooms are are exceedingly well appointed plus non-charge coffee, water, snacks, etc.. Great breakfast and conversation. Easy walking distance to everything. We were sent on our way home with homemade banana bread to snack on. Yum! We will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: For ultra-quiet rooms, ask for the side or rear rooms.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FuzzyBeaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MByrnes99, Owner at The Blue Spruce B&B, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

"Fuzzy" ... it was our pleasure to host you, your sister and your mom. A truly wonderful visit! We would be delighted to host you again and are very much looking forward to your next visit to the magical Festival City.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Thanks to Michael and Helen for a wonderful stay. The food, the ambiance, the advice and accommodation to each guest's idiosyncrasies and wants makes for a memorable stay. Thank you for both delicious breakfasts ( a to go Sack was perfect for an early tee time). Their hospitality will make your Stratford experience top notch. Stay here and your vacation/holiday will be long remembered. Thanks again

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank judi432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MByrnes99, Owner at The Blue Spruce B&B, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Judith... We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We really did enjoy your visit and hope you had a great game of golf on the way out of town. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Have been going to Stratford annually since 2001 & The Blue Spruce is by far the best B&B in town. Would not consider staying anywhere else. Location is excellent & within easy walking distance from the downtown area. Hosts Michael & Helene Byrnes are extremely accommodating and go out of their way to ensure each guest has a pleasant stay. The breakfasts are varied and always delicious -- be sure you are hungry in the morning as the portions are generous as well!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judy-Spudbud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MByrnes99, Owner at The Blue Spruce B&B, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Judy... it was absolutely wonderful hosting you and your friends again this year! We are so glad we "inherited" all of you when we bought the property. It is always fun when you return to our lovely city and we are already very much looking forward to your 2014 visit. See you then!

PS... Dexter and Dixie say "Hello!"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We loved our stay at the Blue Spruce! After our first breakfast, Michael drove us around town and showed us where everything is located. This helped us greatly when we set out on our bikes for some exercise -- much needed after the wonderful breakfasts!
Michael was kind enough to lend us a safe place for the bikes, to make dinner reservations for us and to join us for a cocktail at the appropriate hour.
Helene and Michael are great hosts and really know how to run a first rate B&B. It was a pleasure staying there.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BellaMom04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MByrnes99, Owner at The Blue Spruce B&B, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Myra and Mike... Thank you for taking the time to review us. We enjoyed your visit with us and would love to host you again - assuming Mike feels like driving, that is :} We are very pleased we were able to help make your Stratford visit such a pleasant one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stratford hotels
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus The Arden Park Hotel
0.6 mi away
Mercer Hall Inn
Mercer Hall Inn
#9 of 18 in Stratford
290 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Bruce Hotel
The Bruce Hotel
#4 of 18 in Stratford
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Festival Inn
Festival Inn
#13 of 18 in Stratford
217 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Stratford Hotel
The Stratford Hotel
#1 of 18 in Stratford
320 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stone Maiden Inn
Stone Maiden Inn
#5 of 89 in Stratford
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blue Spruce B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blue Spruce B&B

Address: 297 Erie St, Stratford, Ontario N5A 2N1, Canada (Formerly Erie Street Bed & Breakfast)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Stratford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 89 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful, fully renovated heritage mansion featuring new pillow-top mattresses, HD satellite TVs, iPod stereos and Tassimo coffee makers in each guest room. Three rooms have en-suites, one has a private washroom. All showers have massage shower heads and quality soaps and lotions. Beautifully appointed formal dining room and Library on main floor. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Blue Spruce B&B Stratford, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing