We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming B&B with lots of character”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stratford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Blue Spruce B&B
Ranked #9 of 88 Stratford B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Start with a 100+ year old house loving restored and add wonderful hospitality and you have a real winner. Michael and Helen are wonderful friendly hosts. They have added every modern amenities but kept the old house warmth and charm intact. The rooms are are exceedingly well appointed plus non-charge coffee, water, snacks, etc.. Great breakfast and conversation. Easy walking distance to everything. We were sent on our way home with homemade banana bread to snack on. Yum! We will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: For ultra-quiet rooms, ask for the side or rear rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FuzzyBeaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MByrnes99, Owner at The Blue Spruce B&B, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

"Fuzzy" ... it was our pleasure to host you, your sister and your mom. A truly wonderful visit! We would be delighted to host you again and are very much looking forward to your next visit to the magical Festival City.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (198)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 198 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2013

Thanks to Michael and Helen for a wonderful stay. The food, the ambiance, the advice and accommodation to each guest's idiosyncrasies and wants makes for a memorable stay. Thank you for both delicious breakfasts ( a to go Sack was perfect for an early tee time). Their hospitality will make your Stratford experience top notch. Stay here and your vacation/holiday will be long remembered. Thanks again

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank judi432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MByrnes99, Owner at The Blue Spruce B&B, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Judith... We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We really did enjoy your visit and hope you had a great game of golf on the way out of town. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Have been going to Stratford annually since 2001 & The Blue Spruce is by far the best B&B in town. Would not consider staying anywhere else. Location is excellent & within easy walking distance from the downtown area. Hosts Michael & Helene Byrnes are extremely accommodating and go out of their way to ensure each guest has a pleasant stay. The breakfasts are varied and always delicious -- be sure you are hungry in the morning as the portions are generous as well!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judy-Spudbud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MByrnes99, Owner at The Blue Spruce B&B, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Judy... it was absolutely wonderful hosting you and your friends again this year! We are so glad we "inherited" all of you when we bought the property. It is always fun when you return to our lovely city and we are already very much looking forward to your 2014 visit. See you then!

PS... Dexter and Dixie say "Hello!"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We loved our stay at the Blue Spruce! After our first breakfast, Michael drove us around town and showed us where everything is located. This helped us greatly when we set out on our bikes for some exercise -- much needed after the wonderful breakfasts!
Michael was kind enough to lend us a safe place for the bikes, to make dinner reservations for us and to join us for a cocktail at the appropriate hour.
Helene and Michael are great hosts and really know how to run a first rate B&B. It was a pleasure staying there.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BellaMom04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MByrnes99, Owner at The Blue Spruce B&B, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Myra and Mike... Thank you for taking the time to review us. We enjoyed your visit with us and would love to host you again - assuming Mike feels like driving, that is :} We are very pleased we were able to help make your Stratford visit such a pleasant one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

I have stayed at many B&B's over the years and few have inspired me to rate them on tripadvisor. What made this one different? Michael and Helene - the inn keepers of the Blue Spruce.

Sure their B&B was comfortable, clean and welcoming. The location was fine - not perfect - but close enough to walk everywhere. The beds were wonderful, the rooms quiet and charming and the breakfasts delicious.

But it is Michael and Helene's embracing warmth that make one's stay at the Blue Spruce the wonderful experience it is. From the dinner reservations that were perfect right down to the bag of warm home-baked banana bread for our ride back to the airport, these two know how to make a guest feel like a welcomed relative.

Thank you for a wonderful stay!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rona o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MByrnes99, Owner at The Blue Spruce B&B, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Rona... We had such a lovely visit with you, Sammy and Eva. It really was our pleasure to be your hosts and to help make your visit to beautiful Stratford such a pleasant one. We would love for you to return for another visit one day, and to bring the girls with you. Dexter and Dixie tell me to say "Hi!"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

My grown son and I stayed at The Blue Spruce on August 28th and were very comfortable and well cared for. On such short notice, Michael, our charming host, gave my son his spare, private sitting-room which has a long sofa [comfy] with a washroom close by as well, so that we both had our own space and at no extra charge. Michael had checked firstly if there were other larger twin rooms available in Stratford that night, which there weren't. It was beyond gracious of him to help us out in this way. This kind of 'butler' style of service coupled with spotless and lovely rooms, great beds, bedding and bathroom decor and supplies, and his beautiful wife, Helen's added prowess in the kitchen [baked pears and eggs poached in champagne on spinach with croissants and homemade jams for breakfast] make The Blue Spruce a first rate accommodation. Coffee makers and good t.v's in the room, guest computer, complimentary snacks, waters etc., parking, and only a few blocks from the hub of Stratford's downtown area. We were given good restaurant recommendations, directions anywhere we wanted to go, and had lively discussions once breakfast was finished about this season's productions among many other things, at the table with our fun-loving hosts. High level of privacy and service mixed with warm, open and inviting hosts. How can you beat it?
Thanks Michael and Helen. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pamredfern57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MByrnes99, Owner at The Blue Spruce B&B, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

Pamela... Thank you for posting such a kind and generous review. We delighted in your visit and were happy to make sure your son had a comfortable place to lay his head. In a pinch, we are always happy to help in whatever way we can. We had a wonderful visit with both of you and would love to host you again in the future. Perhaps you'll be able to return to our wonderful city before the season concludes. Or, most certainly, next season - which has just been announced and looks amazing!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

In between ferrying my kids to camps, I had two nights to myself at the Blue Spruce. It was such a pleasure to be in such luxurious, clean and hospitable B&B. The breakfasts were outstanding - fresh, healthy and delicious. Michael and Helene were gracious and thoughtful hosts - from the menu accommodations, to the restaurant recommendations and the introductions to other guests. I walked easily to downtown (10 minutes) and the theatres (15-20 minutes) which completely eliminated the hassle of trying to park in a very busy tourist town. This place reminded me of a B&B that we used to visit in Winnipeg that made me a believer in the concept of B&Bs as a friendly and luxurious way to travel. I have stayed in a few B&Bs that I would rate very poorly so I am now much more careful about doing the research before I show up. I was thrilled with this gem of a find. I'll certainly be back the next time I visit Stratford.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MByrnes99, Owner at The Blue Spruce B&B, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Debra... Thanks so much for taking the time to post your kind review. It was our great pleasure to have you as our guest and we would love for you to visit us again sometime. We hope you had a great "rest of the summer". Again, many thanks for posting your review. Dexter and Dixie say "Hi!"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stratford hotels
0.4 mi away
The Stratford Hotel
The Stratford Hotel
#1 of 18 in Stratford
343 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stone Maiden Inn
Stone Maiden Inn
#5 of 88 in Stratford
341 reviews
0.8 mi away
Amadeus Haus Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Old Rectory
The Old Rectory
#7 of 88 in Stratford
152 reviews
0.6 mi away
Duggan Place
Duggan Place
#13 of 88 in Stratford
65 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Chisholms in Stratford
The Chisholms in Stratford
#14 of 88 in Stratford
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blue Spruce B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blue Spruce B&B

Address: 297 Erie St, Stratford, Ontario N5A 2N1, Canada (Formerly Erie Street Bed & Breakfast)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Stratford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 88 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful, fully renovated heritage mansion featuring new pillow-top mattresses, HD satellite TVs, iPod stereos and Tassimo coffee makers in each guest room. Three rooms have en-suites, one has a private washroom. All showers have massage shower heads and quality soaps and lotions. Beautifully appointed formal dining room and Library on main floor. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Blue Spruce B&B Stratford, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing