We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful experience hosted with personality!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Blue Spruce B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stratford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Blue Spruce B&B
Ranked #8 of 89 Stratford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Gore Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Delightful experience hosted with personality!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

We really enjoyed getting acquainted with hosts, Mike and Helen, as they were of generous spirit and enjoyed sharing stories and information which made us feel comfortable, welcome and relaxed. With attentive service, a lovely ambience was provided with delicious breakfast cuisine. Pleasant fun conversations with other guests also ensued naturally as fellow Stratford Theater goers shared a table in the elegant Blue Spruce dining room.

Room Tip: All options seemed special in their own ways and each contained some fun signed memorabilia from hos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ROScribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MByrnes99, Owner at The Blue Spruce B&B, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you for your review of our B&B. We enjoyed meeting both of you and we are happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    15
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
110
10
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

Had a great time at the Blue Spruce B&B in Stratford ON. Mike and Helen were great hosts and the ambiance was everything that we could have wished for. Food was amazing, as was the room and the price! We will be recommending the place to our friends.

P.S. Amazing Espresso!!!!

Room Tip: The swimming pool and fitness centre were not applicable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Quistian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MByrnes99, Owner at The Blue Spruce B&B, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Thank you so much for your review. It was fun hosting you and we are glad we were able to exceed your expectations! We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to beautiful Stratford! (PS... The coffee really is good, isn't it!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

Helen and Mike were wonderful and their house was full of signed pictures and albums of famous musicians. The guests were treated to every convenience you could imagine. We would recommend them highly.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank billy501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MByrnes99, Owner at The Blue Spruce B&B, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Bill... Thanks for your review. It was nice to meet you. Happy anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Lovely room with everything you could need including snacks and a frig in the hall and good reading lights. Great host who arranged our play tickets at last minute and made dinner reservations. He also found us a room for the next night since he was booked. Fun to discuss the plays with other guests and our hosts. Walking distance from everything. Pretty garden to lounge in.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Penny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MByrnes99, Owner at The Blue Spruce B&B, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Penny... Thank you so much for your kind review! It was our pleasure to host you and we would love to see you again on another trip to Stratford. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at The Blue Spruce very much. The house was filled with interesting books, signed memorabilia, and beautiful antiques. The breakfast was just delicious! The owners were friendly and accommodating. It was a bit of a walk to the main core of Stratford, but a quick cab ride wasn't a problem. We would recommend The Blue Spruce to family and friends who are planning on visiting Stratford, Ontario.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AuthorVanessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MByrnes99, Owner at The Blue Spruce B&B, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Vanessa... Thank you for your review! It was nice hosting you and your friends. We enjoyed Nick's stories from his child acting days and even dug up an old copy of the movie he was in with Brian Dennehy and watched it. Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

We really enjoyed our overnight @ the Blue Spruce. Service was excellent with very much appreciated added amenities like cookies & chocolates when we got back at night. Food was excellent & hosts provided a lot of helpful local tips. Rooms had everything including coffee & comfortable beds!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MByrnes99, Owner at The Blue Spruce B&B, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thank you for your review of our bed and breakfast. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec, Quebec, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

In May, we enjoyed a brief but wonderful stay at the Blue Spruce in a spacious, well-appointed room with a private balcony! The special home-away-from-home touches are what make this B & B a unique choice: chocolates on our pillows, fresh fruit and snacks in the hallway, not to mention the delicious breakfast feast. Following Mike's savvy tip we dined on pizza at a quaint Italian restaurant a short drive down the road before our 7 pm show. From there we walked to the Stratford Theatre. Perfect!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MByrnes99, Owner at The Blue Spruce B&B, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Brenda... Thank you for posting your review of our property. It was a pleasure meeting you and we hope you will return to The Blue Spruce the next time you visit Stratford!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stratford hotels
0.6 mi away
Mercer Hall Inn
Mercer Hall Inn
#8 of 18 in Stratford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Parlour Inn
The Parlour Inn
#2 of 18 in Stratford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Bruce Hotel
The Bruce Hotel
#4 of 18 in Stratford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Stone Maiden Inn
Stone Maiden Inn
#5 of 89 in Stratford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
0.6 mi away
Duggan Place
Duggan Place
#15 of 89 in Stratford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.8 mi away
Amadeus Haus Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blue Spruce B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blue Spruce B&B

Property: The Blue Spruce B&B
Address: 297 Erie St, Stratford, Ontario N5A 2N1, Canada (Formerly Erie Street Bed & Breakfast)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Stratford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 89 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful, fully renovated heritage mansion featuring new pillow-top mattresses, HD satellite TVs, iPod stereos and Tassimo coffee makers in each guest room. Three rooms have en-suites, one has a private washroom. All showers have massage shower heads and quality soaps and lotions. Beautifully appointed formal dining room and Library on main floor. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Blue Spruce B&B Stratford, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing