We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious and Pleasant - close to the Avon”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rene's Bistro

Rene's Bistro
Ranked #3 of 133 Restaurants in Stratford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $26
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Rene's Bistro is located at 20 Wellington Street in beautiful Downtown Stratford. Rene Delafranier is the Chef of our Bistro. Rene is also a graduate of the Stratford Chef School. Margaret Masters his fiancé is the front of house manager. Rene uses fresh local ingredients on the menu. Everything is made in house this includes the breads, vinaigrettes, soups and even the desserts. Thank you so much and we look forward to you dining with us. Please visit the website for the correct menu items. Thank you
Dayton, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
51 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Delicious and Pleasant - close to the Avon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

Finally decided to see what all the fuss is about: wow! Very good food and excellent, friendly service. We had reservation at 6:00 with show at the Avon at 8:00. This gave us plenty of time to enjoy our meal. Soup was puree of sweet corn with white truffle oil. I had the beef tenderloin, which was served with a poutine of roasted new potatoes, brie, and gravy, garnished with alfalfa sprouts. My wife, who is not a vegetarian (nor a tart for that matter), really enjoyed the vegetarian tart, which was a selection of cooked fresh vegetables on puff pastry with a black olive tapenade. The desserts were less unusual, but very tasty, and beautifully presented, with a nice selection of teas. I enjoyed a draft Flying Monkeys Amber Ale as well. Good time! Will definitely return.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    274
    96
    36
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Large portions of delicious food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

If you can go to the second sitting, you may have the place almost to yourself. The noise level at that time is perfect, the wait staff very attentive and friendly. There were four of us and, though we each had completely different meals, each one of us thought ours was best.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“avoid”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

App was great, pasta horrible service was bad and to topnoff a very expensive dinner we where told to hurry as table was needed and we were not there a total of sixty minutes... Much better out there avoid!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tammie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south bend
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Wonderful first-time experience at Rene's Bistro”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

Our family was in Stratford, ON for a long weekend to enjoy the town and, of course, the food & plays! We had never tried Rene's Bistro in the previous 7 seasons up in Stratford and so, on a whim, I walked in at about 4:00 p.m. on Friday and asked if they had any 2nd seatings left for 6 people, after the play crowd went on to their evening. They did and we were all very, very pleased with the entire experience. The waiter was helpful, attenttive but not pushy in any way-we hate to feel rushed, especially if there aren't lines & lines out the door waiting to be seated. The special was a lovely fish on cedar plank with sweet maple syrup...divine! My husband enjoyed the seafood mac-n-cheese, which I took a bit of...very creamy and wonderful too. All of the staff was friendly and helpful-we enjoyed talking about their city and the plays we had seen. Truly a wonderful meal & experience and we look forward to coming again next year!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sbendpassport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Terrific atmosphere and delicious food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

We had trouble finding our B&B and called Rene's Bistro for help. Not only did they give us directions, they called over to the B&B and stayed on the phone with us until we found it! The atmosphere is very cool. The server was very helpful with suggestions. The muscles she recommended were delicious as was the rest of the meal. Would absolutely return!

Helpful?
Thank Rand4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rene's Bistro also viewed

Stratford, Ontario
Stratford, Ontario
 
Stratford, Ontario
Stratford, Ontario
 

Been to Rene's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing