We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food at a price”
Review of Sophisto-Bistro - CLOSED

Sophisto-Bistro
Price range: $31 - $39
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Rundles' Sophisto-Bistro will no longer be available. Rundles Restaurant will be open as usual, for our 40th season in Stratford, from May 20 to September 17, 2016. Cheers, The Rundles Team
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Sophisto is a pleasant place to spend some time. It is part and parcel of Rundles so the space is sophisticated-modern although a bit chilly. The menue is seperate from Rundles, limited , prix fix
and relatively less costly. Still the meal cost a pretty penny! We had Avacado and crab as one appetizer and crab bisque as the other. The main courses were hanger steak and two stuffed eggplants. Eachwas very good. The service while good was less attentive than one might expect in such an expensive place. Could the Bistro be considered second class? Who knows. All in all very good but perhaps a bit too expensive given some excellent alternatives.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Stubabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (50)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 33 of 50 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2012

We've had excellent meals at Rundles in the past, so we decided to try the Bistro. We were seated after the pre-theater crowd, as we had been to theater in the afternoon and had the evening free. We ordered a bottle of the house red. It was vinegary, spoiled, and we sent it back and ordered a bottle off of the wine menu which was only OK, and not worth the price. The appetizers were good, the charcuterie meats were extremely fatty, however. The two women in our group shared the $15/person extra angus rib steak. The cooked steak was presented to them before slicing on a platter as if it were a trophy. Expectations were high. When sliced, the flavor was good and it was cooked medium-rare as ordered, but it was quite tough! The braised short ribs were tender and good. Dessert cheeses were excellent. All in all, a mixed review. It's not as expensive as Rundles but it's not cheap, and you can do better for this price point.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
5  Thank vpoleshuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R M, Public Relations Manager at Sophisto-Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2012

Dear vpoleshuck:

We have "some problems" with your review.

Sorry you did not like your experience, but, we cannot understand your P.O.V. We recommend you dine elsewhere in future.

Cheers,

The Rundles Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Every dish we had was fantastic. If your are a foodie this is the place you should go. The service was good, the food was exquisite, it would rate high even in a high end city restaurant market. It's pricey for sure, but if you want fantastic food food and service in Stratford this is the place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R M, Public Relations Manager at Sophisto-Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2012

Dear Paul H.,

Thank you very much for dining with us at Sophisto-Bistro.

Your positive review is duly noted and appreciated by all of us here. We are a "foodie" restaurant of note in Stratford and area; we are very proud of the work we do each service, each season. It is nice to receive such positive recognition and support from Trip Advisor members like you.

We look forward to seeing you again in future. Until then, dine and drink well!

Cheers,

The Rundles Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

The wonderful juxtaposition of shrimp and pork belly. Great seed bread. Love the whimsical covers on the entrees

Thank Stephanae K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R M, Public Relations Manager at Sophisto-Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2012

Dear Stephanae K.,

Thank you very much for dining with us at Sophisto-Bistro.

Your positive review means a lot to us, T.A. members and travellers alike. We are glad you enjoyed the dumplings of shrimp and pork belly, our homemade breads, and our main dish lids we use to keep our cooked main dishes as hot as possible.

We look forward to seeing you soon.

Cheers,

The Rundles Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Having noted some of the reviews earlier this month complaining of poor service I was a bit apprehensive about trying the Bistro. However the owners obliviously pay attention to Trip Advisor because the service was very personable attentive and efficient. The food was sublime. I started with the dungeness crab which was beautifully presented and delicately flavored. I then had the pork and shrimp ravioli in a wonderful broth, this was the piece de resistence, I could live on this dish. The chef is a true master. My husband had the charcuterie platter and the hanger steak which was also impeccably prepared but I was so smitten by my dish nothing could surpass it.

Thank HamishToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R M, Public Relations Manager at Sophisto-Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2012

Dear HamishToronto,

Thank you very much for dining with us at Sophisto-Bistro.

We appreciate the time you took to write positively about your dining experience. And we cannot thank you enough for sharing your feedback with us, and fellow T.A. members alike. We hope to see you again in future.

Cheers,

The Rundles Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sophisto-Bistro also viewed

 
Stratford, Ontario
Stratford, Ontario
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing