We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Anniversary dinner” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wellington Court Restaurant + Catering

Wellington Court Restaurant + Catering
Reserve with OpenTable
Wellington Court Restaurant + Catering is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 427 Restaurants in St. Catharines
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Soups, International, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: Well established as one of the top spots to dine in Niagara. The quality, fresh ingredients that go into creating a cuisine inspired by the beauty and bounty of the Niagara Region. Wellington Court offers a relaxing atmosphere catering to diners looking for the best quality and best value. Guests will be interested to know that the restaurant was the childhood home of Chef/Owner Erik's mother. It is all grown up now with an interior that balances contemporary with comfort, in a current and pleasing colour scheme. Erik is often behind the stoves and always behind the menu, it's flavours and the concept. His wife Dale is a warm presence in the dining room. Keeping a solid connection with the local farmers Erik incorporates what is locally available into his creations. The wine list pays tribute to what Erik and Dale feel is also special about Niagara ... it's booming wine industry. Wellington Court Catering offers services from intimate dinners to corporate parties and weddings for hundred+. Closely associated with some of the premier event locations in the area Erik's reputation, background and team never compromise on the details.You won't be disappointed at Wellington Court Restaurant + Catering!
Lancaster, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Anniversary dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

My wife and I dined here for our 44th wedding anniversary;we were staying nearby at the Springbank House B&B;our hostess Andrea suggested this restaurant.The service and food were both superb.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Paddlervet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    24
    7
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“"Outstanding" does not do it justice....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

Wellington is one of those rare gems in a tourist area. It is the apex of culinary excellence, and unlike most restaurants in a tourist region, it is not generally on the travelers radar. It is just the kind of place I look for when traveling...where the locals "in the know" eat. The presentation is impeccable...the kind of thing you strive for when doing a dinner party at home, all the while knowing you can't ever replicate the effect, as the chefs here are at the top of their game. The atmosphere is more casual than one would expect from an establishment like this, which suits me just fine...fabulous food without the jacket and tie...and certainly no "stuffy" atmosphere. The menu changes every few months to reflect the seasons and available produce, and at special times, the availability of game dishes when available. This is a VERY special place that is fabulous for anything from date night, business lunches, family outings, to nights out with friends. I have never had a meal here that wasn't spectacular....and have had my most spectacular night of dining in my life here as well. The staff is both friendly and professional and above all, the food is something to tell your friends about. It is not uncommon to see patrons taking photos of their dinners before eating...as presentation here is second to none. But the beautiful presentation is not the only great feature...the food will blow you away. A discerning critic, (my son), once suggested that the chef be featured on The Iron Chef Show. I can't disagree.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Loves the food here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

Excellent date spot! we love the creative takes on dishes. pricey but it`s a special occasions place, anniversary, bday etc. realy enjoy the daily specials!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank EliMeli21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“pleasant but disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2012

We recently dined at Wellington's on the advice of a friend. The service, presentation and atmosphere were good. The food was disappointing. The caesar salad looked familar to the stuff you buy at the deli counter with Renee's dressing. The steak was thin and very chewy and served with french fries. The portions were small and the the price was high for what we got.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank florida8349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“"The very best"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2012

The Wellington is my favourite "all time" restaurant. The food is prepared beautifully and is always delicious. The servers are pleasant and helpful. We have travelled many places but have never enjoyed any restaurant as much as the Wellington. Fabulous.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon155013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wellington Court Restaurant + Catering also viewed

St. Catharines, Ontario
St. Catharines, Ontario
 
St. Catharines, Ontario
St. Catharines, Ontario
 
St. Catharines, Ontario
St. Catharines, Ontario
 

Been to Wellington Court Restaurant + Catering? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing