We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good spot to stop”

Swiss Chalet Rotisserie & Grill
Ranked #118 of 429 Restaurants in St. Catharines
Cuisines: Canadian, American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Fairview - Facer
Description: Since our doors first opened in 1954, Canadian families have been coming back to Swiss Chalet generation after generation. Our rotisserie ovens only accept fresh (never frozen), grain-fed, Canadian Grade A chickens, because quality is all we know. So what will it be? A Quarter Chicken with fries?
Hood River, OR
Level Contributor
205 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A good spot to stop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stopped for dinner on a Saturday evening in June. We were seated immediately, even though the place was really busy. This is a place that locals and tourists obviously enjoy. We had a great waitress (Deanne) and a super meal along with not feeling rushed so that they could sit more people. The ribs were good -- along with the chicken, poutine, and salads. if you're not wanting to wait in lines in Niagara for a good meal, drive a little north and go to the Swiss Chalet. It'll be worth the trip! Our bill for 2 was $35.88.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Judy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    24
    16
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness
Level Contributor
232 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Food OK but fries are very good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

In an age where almost everything is frozen in chain restaurants it was a delight to get fresh cut fries or chips. I was surprised that I enjoyed a dish with cheese, gravy and fries. Heart attack on a plate but oh so tasty.

Food was OK. Ribs were a little on dry side and could have done with a little more sauce. I thought they were a little fatty too but sometimes ribs just are that way. The 1/4 chicken was very tasty and I recommend that.

Service was OK. Very friendly but patchy. Several on our table waited a while for drinks.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Will_HInverness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falling Waters, West Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

Great food. Big portions, even the kids meals were big and wholesome. Chicken is fantastic. Good prices. Took longer than it should have to get our bill and then longer again for the server to collect payment, but otherwise the service was great and very attentive. This is a great place, especially if you are visiting Niagara and looking to avoid tourist traps with sky high prices.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cave T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
119 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Louth Street Family Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

When out doing family shopping the we can have a great family dinner.Then go back to shopping in the big plaza.Chicken dinner with all the toppings is light but filling?Staff treats you like family so that is a warm and cosy environment.Janine Carr

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Janine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Swiss Chalet St. Catharines”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

Food is great...same consistent meal you get at any Swiss Chalet. Service leaves a little to be desired, particularly the take-out and call-ahead service. 3 consecutive times they have missed something in our call-ahead order, and 2 of those 3 times they made me stand around for 10-15 minutes when I arrived, which somewhat defeats the purpose of the call-ahead. A big fan of Swiss Chalet, but generally I'll either sit in at this restaurant, or try to get it when I'm traveling, to avoid the poor service here.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Swiss Chalet Rotisserie & Grill also viewed

 
St. Catharines, Ontario
St. Catharines, Ontario
 

Been to Swiss Chalet Rotisserie & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing