We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food Great Selection”

JJ Kapps Backyard BBQ Steak
Ranked #108 of 432 Restaurants in St. Catharines
Cuisines: American, Canadian, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: York - Haig
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Food Great Selection”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Service was friendly and efficient Good variety on the menu, even a gluten free section. Serving staff even went the extra mile to accommodate my weird diet. Prices were also very fair.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank colette2thebeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    21
    13
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Surprised, but I shouldn't be.”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Fair disclosure: my daughter works in the kitchen.
However, I had actually only been here once before for brunch and that was long before she started working here.

I have to say that I was surprised at the menu. There's lots of great choices.
The decor has been updated since I was there last. It's nice.

We had a bottle of what the call the house wine. It's really a nice Niagara wine made by the winery owned by the same people that own the entire hotel property. We had the Shiraz and it was great.

We started with a dish called Pop's Dish and it was absolutely amazing. It's a blend of onions peppers and a spicy tomato sauce with feta cheese on top and chips and pita points on the side.
It sounds simple but there's something in there that just puts the flavour over the top. Really.

The we had the fajitas for two and that's an all you can affair. We did.
We had a mix of beef and chicken. I would recommend the beef as you can tell that it's fresh.
The chicken is fine but it's the kind that comes pre cooked from the supplier.
Still, it was tender and juicy.

We wrapped up with coffee and split a piece of carrot cake.

We are definitely going back to check out some other things on the menu.

Heck, I'd go for the Pop's Dish and a bottle of wine and call that a good night out.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1969DCF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The best steak and mushrooms!”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

I can't say enough positive things about JJ Kapps. I usually get the same thing, steak with button mushrooms and they're perfect everytime. The atmosphere is great, you can be as private or as open as you'd like. The service and food are great, I highly recommend it!

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dori R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pickering
Level Contributor
108 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Worth it”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

The food was very good..fresh and well prepared. the atmosphere is nice and clean..great if you have children...buffet is so worth it and very filling...after you eat you can go bowling and burn it off....as the bowling alle is right in the same building...as is the hotel...great spot to do just about everything

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mashavoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
109 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great food.”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We always enjoy the Brunch on the weekends. Great selection of food. Fresh omlette bar setup. We have also eaten here for dinners, Pasta bar nites... Always great food.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank nathanrs1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed JJ Kapps Backyard BBQ Steak also viewed

 
St. Catharines, Ontario
St. Catharines, Ontario
 

Been to JJ Kapps Backyard BBQ Steak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing