We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Food”

Syndicate Restaurant St. Catharines
Price range: $6 - $20
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Welland, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Fantastic Food”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Great service and excellent fresh food!!! Syndicate restaurant gives you good portions and delicious food. The service was excellent. I would recommend to everyone. Delicious!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank carrieandtrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    66
    45
    37
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Catharines, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
361 reviews
210 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Just Okay”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We visited for the first time based on the glowing reviews. Maybe, it was an off night - Sunday of the Labour Day weekend but we found the experience mediocre with flashes of brilliance. The service was spotty even though the restaurant was not full. Forgot one of our beers until we reminded server during the middle of the meal. Water glasses went unfilled . Nothing terrible but nothing great.

Appetizers salads were very good but the curried vegetable soup, while tasty, was lukewarm. Main courses of trout as well as pot roast were again good but the vegetables were cold. The seafood bowls looked beautiful with a nice mix of seafood but the broth was bland and mysteriously topped by two small pieces of stale bread

The creme brûlée was the clear star of the meal. The pastry chef should get a gold medal for that. The cheese plate ($ 2 extra) was hardly worth it. Three miniscule pieces of tasty cheese accompanied by a few stale crackers - how about a few pieces of crusty baguette or other fresh bread? Obviously, bread is not a forte of this restaurant. All four of us would have killed for a basket of bread or rolls during the meal.

The $22 for a three course meal was okay but nothing to write home about. $22 would be enough to buy good full meals in at least 3 very good local Thai restaurants (one across the street and 2 downtown on Queenston/Church)

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Dogswood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

This was our first time at the Syndicate and we couldn't have been happier. My husband had Caesar salad, lamb shank and unbaked chocolate cheesecake while I had the spinach and cranberry salad with roast chicken and creme brulee. Everything was beautifully presented, in the right portions, with crisp tasty vegetables, and tasted all around wonderful. We will be back. Bruce C. was our server and did an excellent job.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gandalf974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great food. Excellent Service.”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Dined here with my wife and 2 children. Our server was better than outstanding. Food was excellent. Our server went out of her way with a couple items that she didn't have to do. The atmosphere was great. Definitely a good place to spend dinner!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SlickNEO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
1 review
“Amazing!”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

I should have reviewed this sooner, before visiting a dozen times, including setting up a large family gather that they pull off without a hitch. The 3-course $22 meal is such good value, I've never had a steak not cooked the way I asked and they service is superb! The one thing I noted was the limited and mildly underwhelming desert menu, but even the manager will agree, it's hard to follow up a meal that good.

In short, I love this place, my girlfriend and I find an excuse to go at least once a month, and we are getting ready to head there tonight for our 2nd time already this month (You really can't beat the value!)

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Keatrith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Syndicate Restaurant St. Catharines also viewed

St. Catharines, Ontario
St. Catharines, Ontario
 
St. Catharines, Ontario
St. Catharines, Ontario
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing