We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not going back.”

Syndicate Restaurant St. Catharines
Price range: $6 - $20
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not going back.”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

On tripadviser's and a friend's request we went here last Wednesday night. What a disappointment... We chose a salad and soup, the lobster pasta and the lamb. App's were fine, but what can go wrong with a salad and mushroom soup. The pasta was not fresh, the sauce heavy coming from ?? But not fresh. My partners lamb was dry.
I could not have a coffee instead of dessert ...??? And the wine had cork in the bottle, and lipstick from better times still on the glass. We had appetizer, entree and dessert in less than an hour an 15 minutes.... Our server was also not very friendly.
Nope, first and last time at Syndicate....

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChristelS057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    66
    45
    37
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“St. Catharines”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Just had dinner at the St. Catharines restaurant . Will go back again and again. Food is awesome, service is great and prices affordable.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Natalie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“bones in a sandwich ?come on!!”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

my wife and myself went in for lunch, being our first visit we were informed by host ?manager ?owner ?how lucky we were to have the oppritunity to try it !where i come from i enjoy having an opinion i dont like being told what i like and how great it was! my host ,waiter,owner assumes his food is great and wont let anyone tell him different.my girl found 2 chunks of bone in her steak sandwich which we reported to host,waiter,owner with no intention of getting a discount but only to give awareness and he told us thats supposed to be there !!come on who puts bones in a sandwich????and for some crazy reason if you hide bones between 2 peices of bread you should have us sign a waiver so u dont get sued for breaking our teeth or .back bone to say sorry would have went alot farther then treating us like we are stupid enough to believe its common practice to place bones in sandwiches its called respecting your customers.this place has alot of potential but maybe put the host waiter owner behind the scenes and let the customer CARE SPECIALISTS do their job. 80% of people dont complain they just dont come back i hope this helped

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Walter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent food, great value”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We got the prix fixe menu for $20. First of all, the portions for both the soup and salad were huge. Although my boyfriend doesn't typically like cream of mushroom soup, he found the soup delicious. The caesar salad had lots of parmesan and bacon, and the dressing was not too heavy or overwhelming. I had the 14 day aged steak with truffle and garlic butter and it was the most amazing thing I have eaten in a while. Again, the portion was very large, but I finished it all! My boyfriend had the pickerel, and while his portion was also large, he found the fish was kind of bland (it was seasoned, but not enough). Regardless, he finished all of his too. For dessert I had the chocolate tart and he had the apple turnover. Both seemed to be homemade, but had definitely been prepped a few hours before (my chocolate mousse was kind of crusty on the outside and his apple turnover was stone cold so that the ice cream wouldn't melt). They were still very delicious, however. The only real complaint was that although they fill your water glass the moment you get there, there was no refill as we ate our meal. This is obviously really minor.

Overall, a very satisfying meal and we will definitely be back. The amount and quality of food you get for the price is unbelievable. Although it is a little more than we typically spend on dinner, we felt like we got a really good deal instead of feeling ripped off like you do at other higher-end restaurants.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St.Catharines On
1 review
“Great Place”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We really enjoyed our meal. We chose the hamburger. It was delicious and didn't need to smother it with ketchup and mustard to get some taste. It was very tasty. The service was great too.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank winnie-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Syndicate Restaurant St. Catharines also viewed

St. Catharines, Ontario
St. Catharines, Ontario
 
St. Catharines, Ontario
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing