We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best accommodation, and I've been to many different ones in the past.”
Review of Stone Mill Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Stone Mill Inn
Ranked #2 of 23 St. Catharines B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 19, 2013

I was completely swept off my feet from the excellent service the moment I set foot into the Inn. Anything we needed was promptly taken care of for us. Spectacular room and a very unique experience. I would absolutely bring my one year old next time I travel down. Most places are not very clean but I'm very confident in this one! I could keep complimenting this Inn, but you guys get the idea. Highly highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deechan23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-SMI, General Manager at Stone Mill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Thank you! It is comments like yours that keep us motivated!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (210)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

197 - 203 of 210 reviews

Reviewed May 3, 2013

Micka and Gina were more than helpful in securing a nice place to stay while working on a extended project in the area. The rooms are at the high end of the scale with the decor and finishes being well above average The owner is very personable and quite accomadating to the needs of the people staying here. I am very impressed withthe facitility and would recoment it to all.

C.M.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
2  Thank C M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-SMI, General Manager at Stone Mill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Thank you very much for your supportive words and we are pleased you have found somewhere comfortable and accommodating while away from home!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

First off, the front desk staff was tremendous, very kind, and helpful. Being its first year of occupancy obviously not everything is going to be perfect but I really enjoyed my stay at the Stone Mill Inn and I would return again in a second. Clean rooms, great service and very fancy.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank summertop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-SMI, Manager at Stone Mill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

The Stone Mill Inn staff would like to thank you for your feedback and support in understanding it is our first year of operation. We strive to keep our guests happy and we are thrilled you enjoyed your stay. We hope to have you stay with us again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

When we checked in with Gina we were told 400$ taxes in but she charged us tax .The tickets were 120 each for the gala so she should have not charged us tax on this 240$ portion .No TV cable or satellite in room so they gave us another room TV worked for awhile than stopped working.We don't normally watch TV but we were early and there is no other facilities at the hotel . No towel bar or rack in bathroom but dirty bathmats in the bathroom.No front desk just a office for check in so you couldn't call you had to go there and wait for someone to show up.Paul (the office guy) when he showed up gave us another room very unprofessional he had dirty running shoes on and the laces were untied.When Paul showed us our new room he checked the fridge to see if our Continental breakfast was there.We did not eat it we did not know how long it was in the fridge for.The gala was catered by Johnnie Rocco's there was only one bartender most of the night and they not fulfilled there contact and serve pizza at midnight like it promised on the ticket.When we checked out there was a cleaning lady there that couldn't speak very good english but didn't know when the office staff would show up.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-SMI, Manager at Stone Mill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

You are correct in stating that the tax should not have been charged on the ticket cost ($240), however since it was a package rate, the tax was believed to be on the whole package, not just the room portion. We extended our apologies for this mix up and you were credited back the tax difference without hassle.

An ice sheet had fallen on the satellite supplying the second floor and required repair/replacement. We extended our apologies and moved you into another room and offered to assist with your belongings.

The above were two unfortunate occurrences. We did our best to solve these two issues promptly and with the least amount of inconvenience to you. We apologise again for these issues you experienced while at the Stone Mill Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Attended a function here - food was excellent but the minute you set your drink/fork down - it was gone! (even if you weren't exactly finished) Toilets were a disgrace too. The room was nice enough. I don't think I'd be in a rush back however.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CandA13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stone Mill I, Manager at Stone Mill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2012

The banquet hall is leased out to Johnny Rocco's, and they serve the food with their events.

It is unclear if you are referring to the bathrooms in their location, or our own as well.

However, we would enjoy having you back with us, if you ever find yourself in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

This is my revised review as trip advisor wouldnt print my last one ..I will be nicer this time which is more then this hotel deserves

We booked a room with a jacuzzi months in advance at this hotel as part of a wedding party.

When we went to check in, the room we had was not available , this owner was clown and completely obnoxious. He was "nice " enough do us a favour to give us a room without the jacuzzi and charge us full sticker price ..He then proceeded to tell us that he paid 2.5 mill for the place and we can " have sex with ourselves " profanity filter prevents real words he used He even had the nerve to complain that he had to give up his suite with a jacuzzi to one of the (expletive} brides.... apparently he feels customers are a massive inconvienience

The stupidity got worse as him and his wife broke into a full blown fight and she storms out saying she divorcing him.. which is completely understandable

We had staff actually apologize for the weirdness.and his obnoxious and rude behaviour

These clowns should not be running a hotel . This place is like a A&E or TLC show

When we get to our room , the a/c isnt working . The windows were screwed shut but someone before us had ripped them open. The rooms at the front have flood lights shinning in the windows..and its noisy with the windows open..which we had to have open since there is no aircon

The restaurant ( sports bar) is good but opens too late for breakfast and closes early so you can forget late drinks

This is a very nice version of the events as several people in the party had run ins with the owner, his wife or daughter

Under no circumstances stay at this place, we stayed in may and I see the same complaints from people who stayed in sept so it wasnt just a "bad day"

As a ex pilot I have stayed at hundred of hotels ..this was the worse and weirdest experience I ever had

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sorrenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stone Mill I, Manager at Stone Mill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2012

Since May we have had a good amount of staff changes, as we do apologize for the confusion on our part with the rooms, we have remedied the problem. As for the dispute between the owner and his wife, we do sincerely apologize for that event, as it has not happened since.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We were disappointed with our getaway. We booked a handicap room on the 2nd floor. When we arrived, they told us the room was occupied and we were given room 316 on the third floor. There was no air conditioning in that room, the a/c unit was broken. It was over 80 in the room, humid and uncomfortable, we could not sleep.

Our television cable was very poor, there was only a few stations and it did not even display a tv guide.

There were no coat hangers, nowhere to place a suitcase, other then the floor. There were no handicap bars in the shower. The bed was so high we could barely climb in.

The second day when we arrived at our room the key-card was no longer activated. When we took our shower the water was cold. There was no new soap, shampoo or cream. The bath mat was wet, we left it in the corner. The floor was not cleaned, the drain was dirty. There was no coffee. Also the lighting was so poor we could not read. The room was missing a night table, no desk and not even a chair to sit on.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 399Lia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stone Mill I, Manager at Stone Mill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2012

We apologize you did not enjoy your stay with us. During that time we had maintenance being done to the air conditioning units, and we were switching over from cable television to satellite television. However, regarding the seating space, we do have a custom made pull-out couch in the room you mentioned.

However, we are always working on bettering ourselves, and will take the information you presented to work on that.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Catharines
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Catharines Conference Centre
3.9 mi away
Capri Inn
Capri Inn
#1 of 7 in St. Catharines
467 reviews
3.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 7 in St. Catharines
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the...
#8 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,404 reviews
1.8 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton St. Catharines Niagara Suites
7.5 mi away
Sterling Inn & Spa
Sterling Inn & Spa
#1 of 128 in Niagara Falls
1,659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stone Mill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone Mill Inn

Address: 271 Merritt St, St. Catharines, Ontario L2T 1K1, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > St. Catharines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in St. Catharines
Price Range: $111 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stone Mill Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stone Mill Inn is a historcial boutique hotel located minutes away from highway access (QEW & 406), Pen Center Shopping Mall & the Niagara Outlet Mall. Situated within walking distance of Sobeys/ The Keg/ LCBO and more. Located in our lobby is Johnny Rocco's Italian Grill & Restaurant & Azura Spa & Hair Studio. Banquet facilities available for large or small events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Stone Mill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stone Mill Inn St. Catharines, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing