We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B experience we've ever had”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. Catharines
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Old Port Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 23 St. Catharines B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Five stars. Joy and Quinten treated us like *royalty.* Wonderful hosts, cozy neighborhood, immaculate house and friendly neighbors walking their friendly dogs. My wife and I cannot wait to stay here again. These guys are intelligent, mellow and kind. They also serve a breakfast so good that you might cry a little when they start clearing the table.

Room Tip: We took the lowest price room. Tiny (but clean!) with two twin beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (56)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 56 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2013

Joy and Quinten have created an absolutely amazing B&B. They went above and beyond what we could have expected. Being unfamiliar with the area, they were very helpful and knowledgeable about area attractions. We spent our first night in the Queen Anne which was delightful. Our second night we got to experience staying on their boat. What a treat that was! Both were in great locations to do some exploring around town. We especially enjoyed waking up to a phenomenal breakfast each morning. Next time we are back in town, we’ll definitely be staying here again!

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank George_Sarah323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed in the Queen Anne Suite for one night on June 16, 2013. The owners are very friendly and attentive, and are genuinely caring. If you have a severe food allergy and find eating outside your own home a challenge, you can be confident that Joy and Quinten will take it seriously and work with you to give you a safe and delicious meal. Our breakfast was beautifully presented and served with special touches on elegant place settings. The home is comfortable, attractively decorated, and sparkling clean. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Joy and Quinten are gracious hosts, seeing to our ever need. The cottage was comfortable;decorated with a fun beach theme. Breakfasts were superb. Location was perfect for viewing rowing on the Henley and close enough for a quick trip to Niagra Falls and great wineries. We will be back.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Perfect place to stay. Very nicely designed house and rooms, warm atmosphere. Joy and Quinten and this place is a reason to come back any possible time. It is close to Niagara falls we visited, but so far from the style you will be confronted in that tourist location. This place is really perfect to stay and breakfast was absolutely outstanding. Beautiful surroundings as well. Josef

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Josef S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed at this B&B on May 11, 2013. It was a great option for our family of 4 as they offer a room with twin beds. The house is lovely with a beautiful garden, sitting area and dining room. Joy and Quentin are very kind and friendly and provide amazing service. The breakfast in the morning was AMAZING! I really appreciated the extra strong coffee and all the extra special touches they offered. They even gave us some snacks to take on the road. I would definitely stay here again and will recommend it to people traveling to the area.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TRVLGRL300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

On whim we drove to St. Catharines to see our daughter who is a student at Brock University. As the forecast for the next day looked good we decided to stay for the weekend. We were happy to find Old Port B&B on Trip Advisor. Old Port B&B in Port Dalhousie is a beautiful place to stay and our hosts Joy and Quinten made us feel very welcome. The entire place including the grounds were beautiful.
We asked if our daughter could join us for breakfast the next morning and they had no problem accommodating this request for a small additional fee. Breakfast was delicious (Eggs Benedict) an we enjoyed dining with the other guests in the beautiful dining room.
Overall you can't go wrong with Old Port B&B. It's a short drive to the university area but a great place to stay for out of town visitors.
PS dont forget to go down to the port area. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sugarbush-Oro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Catharines hotels
5.2 mi away
Stone Mill Inn
Stone Mill Inn
#2 of 23 in St. Catharines
210 reviews
2.7 mi away
Lily's House on the 12
Lily's House on the 12
#3 of 23 in St. Catharines
26 reviews
0.2 mi away
Simcoe Suites on the Henley
Simcoe Suites on the Henley
#5 of 23 in St. Catharines
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Harbour Heights Bed & Breakfast
Harbour Heights Bed & Breakfast
#8 of 23 in St. Catharines
11 reviews
3.1 mi away
Springbank House
Springbank House
#10 of 23 in St. Catharines
72 reviews
2.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 7 in St. Catharines
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Port Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Port Bed & Breakfast

Address: 73 Main St, St. Catharines, Ontario L2N 4V1, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > St. Catharines
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in St. Catharines
Price Range: $97 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Port Dalhousies’ premiere Bed & Breakfast within walking distance of downtown. This newly updated century home with 3 beautifully appointed rooms, luxury 3/4 pce. en-suites, 24 hr. coffee bar and more, is a "5 star hotel quality" B & B, from 600+ thread count linens to phenomenal cuisine. Situated between Lake Ontario and Martindale Pond, it is walking distance to Treadwells; Royal Canadian Henley Regatta; stores; nightlife; beach; marinas and all that beautiful Port Dalhousie has to offer. Their guest book and recommendations on Bed & Breakfast Canada, say it all - "This experience was far beyond our expectations." This truly is among the best experiences and value for $ in the region. Book early as they fill up quickly. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Old Port Bed & Breakfast St. Catharines, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing