We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A pleasant vineyard stop”

Henry of Pelham Family Estate
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Catonsville, MD
Level Contributor
188 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“A pleasant vineyard stop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

We stop at Henry of Pelham every summer on our vacation trip, for two reasons: we enjoy having lunch in their patio café with a view of the vineyard, and we like their wine. Last week we brought some of their excellent 2010 Riesling home with us, so we'll be reminded of that sunny vineyard lunch during the cold days of winter.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank CatonsvilleGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    16
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
108 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stop off”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

The wines are excellent and with a surprising number of grapes that you don't often see. The place is very pleasant - not grand at all but really nicely set. Lunch in the bistro is good if you're looking for an unpretentious meal - but stick to the sandwiches and don't expect too much from their "main dishes"

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank barneyinkaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fonthill
Level Contributor
62 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Beautiful for wedding venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

Attended wedding here and it is so romantic and lovely....quaint.
Loved it! For the shabby chic girl this is the place for you....

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Susie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welland, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Went to see Shakespeare's As You Like It”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

Every summer Henry of Pelham puts on Shakespeare in the Vineyard, which proceeds go to the Niagara Peninsula Child's Centre.

Excellent performance, there was a wine bar and snack available before the performance. We will be going again next year!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank GeezrButler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
140 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Lunch was pedestrian, the tasting room was okay, some of the wine is good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

We had a very average lunch at an above average price. We all left hungry and disappointed. The lunch was the lobster and shrimp baguettine. It tasted like cheap mayonnaise with a tiny amount of baby shrimp and an even smaller amount of lobster. There was a tiny salad to go with it. Everything was small but the price.

We sat outside, on some 'rustic' furniture. The service was good.

The tasting room was nice - with a helpful staff and reasonable selection. The most fun was tasting the baco noir with strawberries and pepper.

The highlight for me was Bobbi Speck's art collection which is lovely.

Of all the wineries I visited in the Niagara region, this rates near the bottom.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank BmmrBabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Henry of Pelham Family Estate also viewed

St. Catharines, Ontario
St. Catharines, Ontario
 

Been to Henry of Pelham Family Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing