We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Menu updates coming”

Wrigley's Sports Bar & Lounge
Ranked #295 of 439 Restaurants in St. Catharines
Price range: $5 - $19
Cuisines: Pizza
Restaurant details
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Menu updates coming”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Stopped by around 130pm on a wednesday. Currently the cheeseburger/fries is the special on wednesday for 8.00. Excellent burger and fries, good size portions. Kristen served us this day. Prompt, attentive, friendly. Not a whole lot of people in the restaurant during out mostly early afternoon weekday visits. They've rearranged the seating but the old arrangement was fine with us.
We're told they will be bringing back the beef on a bun special on Wed and moving the Cheeseburger special to Tues. They have some beer pitcher specials but we don't drink. Mon-Sun wings on special from 3-5pm 69c, or anytime on Monday. Friday 1pc fishnchip 9.99, 2pc 10.99. Had all these and they are always good servings size and quality. Manager came over to greet us as well. Not much more to be said.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lookingforgoodplaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian N, General Manager at Wrigley's Sports Bar & Lounge, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you for your post on Trip Advisor. Glad you enjoyed your meal and please come again soon to check out our new menu and daily specials. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    14
    3
    5
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not what it used to be”
Reviewed March 20, 2014

This used to be a pretty decent restaurant, called Vecera, in the days of the Holiday Inn, before Best Western took over and the hotel became another haunt of the ubiquitous kids' sports teams and their parents. Wrigley's Field was across the road at what was Howard Johnson's, and was a vibrant, busy sports bar and eatery. Now all that is left is this mediocre, characterless sports bar which tends to be invaded by the said sports teams at weekends, so that nobody else gets served. Perhaps the management should consider why this place is only a shadow of what the old Wrigley's Field was, and why hardly anybody frequents the place any more unless they are staying at the hotel. The menu is not very exciting, but I'm told they are in the process of producing a new one. Unfortunately, it will take more than a new menu to make the place attractive again, as long as the hotel continues in its policy of allowing groups of inconsiderate parents and their spoilt kids to take over the place at weekends.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank barrgi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian N, General Manager at Wrigley's Sports Bar & Lounge, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your feedback and apologize that we did not meet or exceed your expectations. We've currently introduced a new menu and daily specials that will blow you away! Please email me directly Adrian.nitso@honhotels.com if you would consider visiting us again and I will personally see that your visit changes your mind about our restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Excellent as in the past.”
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Returned to Wrigleys for their fantastic wings on Wed. Menu specials have changed, most available from 3-5pm. Wings 65c all day monday. Wed was cheeseburger day w fries, $8.00

Lysa, our server, was very friendly, accurate and attentive. Ordered a beer, 10 wings - the pineapple curry mango sauce is delicious, chicken quesadilla - four toasted triangle quarter tortillas filled w chicken, cheese, jalepeno etc, served w sour cream and salsa, and the Cheeseburger special - large bun/burger served w fries.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lookingforgoodplaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian N, General Manager at Wrigley's Sports Bar & Lounge, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Thank you for your recent response on Trip Advisor. Glad you enjoyed our amazing Wings again. We are definitely known as best place in town for wings. Hope to see you soon again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Terrible service”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

We went on a weeknight and received embarrassingly bad service. When we got in the waitress (Kathy) gave us menus and a couple minutes to decide what we wanted to drink. When she came back and we ordered Pepsi it seemed her attitude changed. She brought our drinks, took our orders, and that was just about it. We had wanted to order a beer, but she never came back to ask. Kathy brought us our food, did not refill our drinks or ask if we wanted anything else, and then left us alone while she served every other table and avoided our table. Had anyone bothered to ask, we would have stayed for dessert and drinks. Unfortunately, after spending our entire meal without a beverage (even though our glasses were at the edge of the table and she walked right by us frequently) and being blatantly ignored, we decided that all we wanted was to pay and get out. It took her about 15 minutes to pack my leftover food and bring the machine over because she kept disappearing in the back or chatting with other tables who were ordering alcoholic beverages. She never once apologized for the delay in checking on our table, bringing the bill, or bringing the debit machine.

Aside from the terrible service, the Cheeseburger special (which my boyfriend got with a house salad) had some issues. There were really thick pieces of raw red onion that he had to pick off because they were too overpowering. As well, his salad was made with wilted brown lettuce that looked like it was from the bottom of an old bag. That said, my turkey bacon club with fries was delicious (the sandwich is huge).

It is a shame that the service is so terrible and the quality of the ingredients is lacking because the ambience in the restaurant is nice and classy (although it does smell strongly of chlorine). This is the second time we have had bad service here, and we will not return since there are plenty of other restaurants in the area with wait staff that won't ignore you completely.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian N, General Manager at Wrigley's Sports Bar & Lounge, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Thank you for your recent response on Trip Advisor. On behalf of management and staff, we apologize for the unsatisfactory experience in our restaurant. We pride ourselves on great food and great service. We will definitely address these issues and ensure that ever customer is treated as our best customer. Please contact me directly at Adrian.nitso@honhotels.com as I would like to welcome you back to try us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good breakfasts”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

I had breakfast here for 3 mornings on a recent 5-day stay at the hotel of which it is part - the Best Western St. Catharine's Hotel and Conference Center. Two of the 3 breakfasts were excellent. The blueberry pancakes were chuck full of blueberries and were very tasty. The "daily special" of eggs, bacon toast and home fries was, likewise, excellent. I asked for the bacon to be crisp, and it was just right. The third breakfast, alas, was disappointing. I ordered a bacon omelet (this WAS a menu selection, not something I improvised). What was wrong was, waaaaay too much bacon. I'm a bacon lover but this was almost nauseating. The omelet was chock full of bacon pieces, and then the top of it was smothered in bacon pieces. I never thought I'd see too much bacon, but this was sure it. It totally overwhelmed the taste of the cheese and the omelet itiself.
Apart from this miscue, the restaurant, as far as breakfast is concerned, is definitely a cut above the typical motel restaurant. I recommend it, minus the bacon omelet!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dwight01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian N, General Manager at Wrigley's Sports Bar & Lounge, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor. Glad you enjoyed our breakfast until the last day. On behalf of management and staff, were sorry we did not meet and exceed your expectations. I've shared this response with our Chef in order to improve consistency with our menu items. We hope you will visit soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wrigley's Sports Bar & Lounge also viewed

 
St. Catharines, Ontario
St. Catharines, Ontario
 

Been to Wrigley's Sports Bar & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing