We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Thai in St. Catharines”

Chang Noi's Thai Cuisine
Ranked #20 of 440 Restaurants in St. Catharines
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $19
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Description: Home away from Home Hideaway to Thailand Where the LOCALS dine and the VISITORS find!
Grimsby, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Best Thai in St. Catharines”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

This is by far the best in the city & Niagara Region. Excellent food & service! Can be noisy, but they are always busy, which of course, is a good sign. No complaints whatsoever & very worth trying. Nice ambience which contributes to a nice atmosphere!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 4BeachParadise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    50
    19
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“Best Thai Food In Regional Niagara”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We quite enjoy the authentic Thai food at Chang Noi, and have visited most of the Thai restaurants in the Niagara Region (except some of the run-down old ones). The food is exceptional and the prices are fair (not high). Lunch and supper service is offered. They do offer many of their dishes in varying degrees of spice from no spice to very spicy. That said, if you like yours very spicy, you need to tell them or the server may err on the side of caution. The Pad Thai and soups were exceptional and I found the Pad Thai to be a very healthy portion. If you're uncertain about what to order, the staff is quite open to helping with suggestions. The restaurant is not spacious, but has some interesting décor, all in the elephant theme, "Chang Noi" meaning "Little Elephant". There is a small bar presence to one side of the restaurant and limited seating outdoors exists. I have not seen people sitting out myself. They do have a private dining room for a slightly larger group (not a banquet). Sometimes service is slow when this restaurant is at capacity. I've noticed the take-out business here is steady too all keeping the kitchen working hard. As for special occasions, I have seen some birthdays, and dates in the restaurants. The restaurant is full on New Years Eve and I quite enjoyed my time there then as on other occasions. Again, North American coffee is not available at this restaurant, but other options are available like mango juice. Business is booming from Thurs through Sat. and certainly call for reservations. Also, this restaurant is closed on the 1st Monday of every month and, in general, the kitchen may close earlier than the restaurant (call ahead if coming near close time). Note that parking is difficult as the lot is small for the popularity of the restaurant and shared with the Busy Bee Variety. The restaurant is handicapped accessible and restrooms are on the main floor.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ciaran49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Service is everything and they have it”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Had the sizzeling herb beef and it was delicious! The spices were so well done. I got a three heat rating and was a little worried but I like it spicy and did not find 3 to hot at all. The sizzeling plate may have just sizzled a bit too much as it spat on our clothes! Hubby had the spicy seafood madness and enjoyed his sizzeling plate a well. He got to try out a couple of seafood choices that he may not have tried otherwise and came away impressed with the food and the service. We do not eat out enough to keep any restaurant in business but when we finally find something this good it will be our 'go to spot" for a long time. Didn't give out the gold leaf for the elephant but I wanted to have the whole experience so I asked and they were happy to give us our good luck charm. Reluctant to let this great little secret out.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kaye H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent food, excellent service”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

It has been a long time since I spent 30$ in a restaurant and felt like I had an excellent (and a different) experience in fine dining. It had the special, and it included a coconut soup, some noodles, desert, juice and coffee. It is a s,all restaurant and it was full for the 3 hours our group was in. Make sure to have reservations. The food was served hot, something I like, and you have a choice of flavor (from mild to spicy). All and overall, an excellent experience.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fancypaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
361 reviews
210 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Wonderful Food, Terrific Service”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Having recently moved to St Catharines, we are still finding wonderful places to eat. Chang Noi is a great find for authentic Thai cuisine. While the restaurant doesn't look like much from the outside ( it's attached to and shares a parking lot with a 24 hour convenience store), it's very nicely decorated on the inside. Cutlery and dishes are unique and modern.

The menu offers lots of wonderful alternatives and the food is individually prepared for the degree of heat you would like. We found a good way to try a range of foods was to order the $25 menu which includes an appetizer, soup, any entree, dessert and a beverage. While the food may be slightly pricier than your typical chain restaurant, the ingredients are fresh, meals are prepared individually and the presentation on the plate is as visually appealing as is the taste. Service is attentive but not hovering and everyone has a smile on their faces.

Our appetizers were spring rolls and mango salad, our soups were hot and sour and lemongrass with chicken and we each had pad thai. We finished off with tropical fruit salad and coconut ice cream. Each dish tasted wonderful and was beautifully prepared and there was more food than we could eat. We were there on aThursday night and the place was packed. We were told that reservations are advisable on weekends.

If you want to try them out and are on a limited budget, they serve lunch for under $9 per person. In addition, you can look at their lunch and dinner menus at changnoi.ca

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Dogswood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chang Noi's Thai Cuisine also viewed

St. Catharines, Ontario
 
St. Catharines, Ontario
St. Catharines, Ontario
 
St. Catharines, Ontario
St. Catharines, Ontario
 

Been to Chang Noi's Thai Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing