We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food, ambience, service, and good value”
Review of Cafe Amore

Cafe Amore
Ranked #13 of 440 Restaurants in St. Catharines
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $24
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Cafe Amore is Mediterranean inspired restaurant that opened in 1995. Featuring seafood, steak, veal, lamb, chicken, pastas, pizza and vegetarian dishes you'll be sure to find something for everyone. Over the years it has been voted as the best overall restaurant, most romantic, best desserts, best lunch, best ambiance, best local chef just to name a few. A children"s menu is also available.
Woodstock, Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“great food, ambience, service, and good value”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

This is a great place to eat if you are in the Niagara Falls area. It is just off the QEW on Martindale Rd. From Mon. to Thurs (we were there on a Thursday), they have a menu that offer 5 or 6 choices for both appetizers and main course, plus soup or various salads or dessert., main course, and dessert (if appetizer is not chosen)-----for $20 each complete. We chose bruschetta with goat cheese for one, large wedges of sweet potato fries with a wonderful roasted garlic sauce for the other appetizer; we both had Caesar salad with wonderful fresh baked rolls; we both had Seafood Marseille, a seafood casserole with 4 cheeses and mainly scallops----very highly recommended. Also, they also had on offer a bottle of VQA Pinot Noir from Konzelmann Winery for $20. It was an excellent wine to accompany our meal. We did not take dessert but had coffee. Bill was $72 incl. GST. The atmosphere is friendly and elegantly casual. Go relatively early like we did so that when your meal is done, you can drive 5 minutes to Port Dalousie and take a stroll on the pier to see the sun set (weather permitting). What a great way to spend an evening after a day of biking in Niagara.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Canuck0utlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    101
    31
    13
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Welland, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Awesome restaurant”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We were introduced to Cafe Amore by our Daughter and son in law. We have gone many time and the food is always fabulous ... and there desserts are to die for .. my husband is not a dessert person but he says he would go just for the Carmel crunch.. I would recommend Cafe Amore and have to many friends and family members ..Oh ya and the chef comes out and asks you how your food was . Now that is great public relations..... :-)

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NoreenEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere - Questionable Cooking”
Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

Relaxing lunch with family on the patio. Good service and atmosphere.

I had the meatball and sausage entree and my wife had the spicy chicken salad. Both were way too salty. The spinach and artichoke appetizer was excellent.

I recommend you come for the appetizer and dessert but give the entree a miss.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jmarquis3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunnville, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Excellent food- great place to meet friends”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is one of my go to places to meet my friends for lunch. They have wonderful salads as well as a variety of entrees. Yummy food, good service.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank leer850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Don't drive by this gem”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Last evening my husband and I went for dinner to Café Amore. We had been there for lunch a few times but never for dinner. .Probably, because it was in a strip plaza we did not think of this as a place to relax for an evening meal. Wrong! We were warmly greeted, taken to our seats and from that point on nothing was left wanting. You can see that the wait staff has been properly trained because of their effectiveness. The chef came out at intervals to stop at each table to inquire as to our satisfaction. Satisfaction indeed. Our dinners, the wine and the dessert were very tasty. it was unique as my husband went to the desserts that were in a display cooler so that he could actually see the dessert that he would choose. This was a very satisfying evening.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Amore also viewed

St. Catharines, Ontario
St. Catharines, Ontario
 

Been to Cafe Amore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing