We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couple of bumps, but pretty good.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Catharines Conference Centre
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in St. Catharines
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Couple of bumps, but pretty good.”
Reviewed November 27, 2011

We had a Life Experiences gift certificate for this hotel and spent this past Saturday night there. We upgraded to the King room with the jacuzzi and we were happy with the room. The jacuzzi was a special treat, the room was similar to the photos shown (we had a 1 bedroom - king bed, flat screen, microwave, decent size fridge, bathroom was equipped with a stand up shower, toilet, bidet and double sink, and separate room adjacent to the bed with double doors for the jacuzzi). The room was really nice and everything was in working order except for one of the nightstand lights, the view was awful - overlooking air conditioning units on the lower buildings, and the only downside to the room was the noisy hallway as our room was next to the elevator. A few times during the night we were woken up with noises but nothing major. The hotel is/has been going through reno's and there's tell-tale signs of things that still need repair and final touches like the doors mentioned in the previous review. One of the Elevators had movers blankets hung in them and one of the walls outside our room had wires sticking out of it. But I reiterate - the room itself was great. The gift card came with complimentary chocolates (which were blah) and a small wine gift set of an opener and bottle stopper, which we left in the room (wasn't something we needed). The package also included dinner in the hotel's restaurant which was decent. I had the flat iron steak and my DH had the veal parm. We were pretty full and took our dessert back to our room for later, including the remainder of our complimentary bottle of wine (which we forgot in the mini fridge!). Sunday morning we went down to the same restaurant for breakfast. Wow. Who knew that whoever made supper so yummy could ruin breakfast so badly! It was a buffet breakfast and it looked like it had been sitting there for days. The eggs were disgusting and potatoes were old. A very disappointing breakfast. They even charged me $2.50 for a small mug of tea! I bought an extra large tea the night before from the Timothy's in the hotel for $1.75! All in all, the room itself was pretty good. Go for dinner...but order off the menu for breakfast. We passed a gentleman eating eggs over-easy and they looked much more appetizing than our scrambled "buffet" special. Probably won't ever stay in this hotel again as the gift certificate was specific to this location - and not somewhere where we would have picked for a hotel. We're from Toronto and if we went to Niagara again we'd like to try a B&B in Niagara-on-the-lake. Overall, I give the hotel itself a "pretty decent" rating.

Room Tip: Room facing the front of the hotel will have a much better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tinamoniz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alana H, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Catharines Conference Centre, responded to this review, November 28, 2011
Thank you for providing us with your feedback. I have shared your feedback with our Chef and F&B Manager for correction and immediate improvement. I am confident we can change your perception of our famous breakfast buffet. As part of our brand ‘refresh’ throughout the Holiday Inn, I am pleased to say that we are making the necessary improvements and updates to the appearance of our hotel and have plans in our budget for next year to continue the touch ups required. We are truly proud of our guest rooms and are pleased that you enjoyed your accommodations as well. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope that you will indeed return to view our completed product next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    122
    48
    22
    21
See reviews for
103
67
8
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2011

Stayed there while visiting our daughter in St.Catharines.

Waited in line at check-in for 5 minutes (Even as we were just by ourselves) as the receptionist was giving driving directions to a demanding customer over the phone!

The lobby looks good but this is it. The rooms although they were renovated, were not at par. We booked two rooms and after checking in, went to drop our bags and quickly found out we had a pleasant view over the garbage containers and the lower roof of the hotel. As we were going out for dinner and the room was extremely hot and humid, I set up the temperature using the air conditioner that was installed decades ago. Back from the restaurant, the room tempature was still warm but the carpet was all wet due to the air conditioner leaking very badly.

Staff was giving you the feeling that you were just another customer and perhaps the hotel management should not rely solely on late teenagers to greet customers. Next time, if there is no rooms available anywhere alse, I will go camping but will not going back to HI St.Catharines. Oh and I forgot, we received at check-in time, coupons for a cup of coffee at the restaurant located in the lobby. That must have been the only extra-value. We did not used the coupons, we prefered to go to Starbucks near by.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GlobeTrotter933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alana H, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Catharines Conference Centre, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
Thank you for providing your feedback. I would like to apologize for the issues you experienced with your heating unit in your room. As part of our massive renovation our new heating and cooling systems are scheduled to be installed in the New Year. Many of our rooms already have them however we are still waiting the arrival of the remainder to arrive. If ever you have any issues during your stay, our Front Desk staff is happy to assist you. We wish that you had of brought these issues to our attention so that we had the opportunity to rectify the situation prior to your departure. As a Priority Club Member, we offer several benefits to you for your on going loyalty to our brand. Benefits such as, Express Check In, Express Checkout, Complimentary bottles of water upon check in, late checkout based on availability, complimentary newspaper Mon-Fri as well as several coupons to be used on property. We often change our offerings so that our guests can experience something different each and every time they stay. I apologize if you were not made aware of the other perks that you receive for being a member. I am truly sorry that this experience has hindered your future travel plans to our hotel and hope that you will reconsider.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 8, 2011

We used our Shoppers Life Experiences Gift Card. This included, upon arrival, a box of chocolates and a gift which was a wine accessory set. Our room was very nice and clean. We had the Deluxe room which had a sink, microwave and fridge. It also had a sitting area that had a tv and a seperate tv in the bedroom. The set up of the room was very nice! The heater warmed up our room very quickly but unfortunately the on command movies didn't work. We ate at the JJ Kapps which was okay. I would definately stay again!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alana H, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Catharines Conference Centre, responded to this review, November 10, 2011
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to review our property! We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we were able to meet your expectations. Thank you for your comment regarding our movies, we are currently in the process of switching providers to offer our guests the hots movie releases at a lower cost. Thank you again and we look forward to your return soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Dakota
Level 6 Contributor
246 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2011

I don't mean it negatively but this property really is not all that bad, just nothing special.

Check in was bizarre with a different staff person giving us totally different answers during the hour we waited for our room to be cleaned. It's not that they were unfriendly, just not very helpful.

Overall, this is a tired Holiday Inn property that is to a large extent renovated. The HVAC systems are still the old style turn-a-knob on the unit and push a button to choose heat or cool. (The red one is for heat, the blue one for cool.) In our room there was a digital unit on the wall but it wasn't hooked up to anything.

My wife simply said, "This is a like an old fashioned Holiday Inn" by which she meant, like we used to stay in 30 years ago.

By that standard the place is just fine but it's in the middle of a commercial district with nothing to commend the location that we could discern. The onsite restaurant and coffee shops are adequate but again nothing special.

So for a good price, this is a fine place to stay. Just don't plan on being impressed. You probably won't be.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IowaGrandparents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alana H, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Catharines Conference Centre, responded to this review, November 10, 2011
Thank you for staying at the Holiday Inn & Suites Parkway Conference Centre. Our entire hotel has been renovated in the most up to date fashion to give our guests that new modern feel. I am disappointed to hear that you did not embrace our contemporary vision with our new 32inch flat screen tv's, granite countertops, back lit bathroom mirrors, california shutters, fridge and microwave. Our new state of the art heating and cooling systems are scheduled to be installed in the new year. Our hotel is very centrally located within walking distance to more than 10 restaurants and many shops. We are only minutes from Port Dalhousie and a short commute to the local wineries and Niagara Falls tourist area. When in future you are able to return to our hotel, our staff will be able to assist you with area attractions and maps for your convienence. Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2011

Although this is a new Holiday Inn, it's not a new building. They've come a long way...but there not there yet. It's very hard to renovate to make like new, and they are almost there but I did notice some doors in the hallways where paint is pealing off the door. These aren't hotel rooms, but still it looks odd. Something to keep in mind is that the larger hotels in St. Catharines including the Best Western and Days Inn and Holiday Inn are all owned by the same company. What's the need then to really compete with one another?

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RM1Paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alana H, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Catharines Conference Centre, responded to this review, November 10, 2011
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your comments about your stay. While all of our rooms have recently undergone renovations, we are busy attending to a few deficiencies such as the hallway doors that you noted. Thank you for your honest comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2011

Hotel looks good, nice lobby, appreciate the free coffee card for Thimothy's and the 15% discount for the restaurant.

Room was nicely appointed, comfortable with flat screen TV. Bathroom looked good, but walk in shower looked left over from pre-Reno days. First hotel in a long time where I experienced big water temperature fluctuations while taking a shower.

Overall a decent place

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Q_Warrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2011

We tried the new Holiday Inn knowing they are finishing renovations. The room was stylish with very comfortable beds, everything was spotlessly clean. The bathroom was luxurious with interesting back lighting around the mirror. The windows are covered with California shutters, a very nice change. Breakfast in the dining room was delicious, and service was friendly and prompt. We had a couple of minor problems with the room, and alerted the front desk. The issues were dealt with promptly. I was disappointed with the pool. The water temperature was cool and the water level was low. As others have previously posted the hot tub was not functioning. We had booked a king executive room and were not told upon check in that that type of room was not available. We were upgraded to a room with two beds and a separate living area, but it would have been nice for the front desk inform us this at check in. We will definitely come back in the future and look forward to seeing this hotel when all the renovations are completed.

Room Tip: Ice machines are on the lower floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Devon Adair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alana H, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Catharines Conference Centre, responded to this review, September 12, 2011
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your comments about your stay. While all of our rooms have recently undergone renovations, we are busy attending to a few deficiencies such the hot tub that you noted. I have checked with the maintenance report and the temperature of our pool has not fallen below 78 degrees since it re-opened to the public in January. I will pass on your comments regarding your complimentary upgrade to our Front Office Manager, definitly that information should have been communicated with you upon your arrival. Overall, I am happy to hear that you were pleased with our progress and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Catharines
Capri Inn
#1 of 7 in St. Catharines
452 reviews
Comfort Inn
#4 of 7 in St. Catharines
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairview - Facer
Days Inn St. Catharines Niagara
Days Inn St. Catharines Niagara
#5 of 7 in St. Catharines
124 reviews
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the...
#9 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Catharines Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Catharines Conference Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Catharines Conference Centre
Address: 327 Ontario St, St. Catharines, Ontario L2R 5L3, Canada (Formerly Quality Hotel Parkway Convention Ctr)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > St. Catharines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in St. Catharines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Catharines Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Catharines Conference CentreFor your Niagara Falls vacation or business trip, choose the 100% smoke-free New Holiday Inn & Suites St. Catharines Parkway Conference Center St. Catharines - Niagara hotel. You'll be less than 10 minutes from the falls as well as close to area businesses and Niagara-area attractions and wineries.Corporate guests can easily get to area meetings in St. Catharines, Ontario thanks to our hotel's location near General Motors, TRW, Seaway Marine and Brock University. We make it easy to do business by providing free high-speed Wi-Fi Internet access, rooms designed for business guests, the city’s largest Conference Center with 20,000 sq. ft. of flexible space including full catering services.Few hotels offer the friendly service our staff provides to every guest and your pets. Families love us because our hotel's location is near Niagara Falls and area attractions, including Old Port Dalhousie, the Shaw Festival, Skylon Tower and Niagara wineries. Our hotel's guests can easily enjoy local tours, golf courses, shopping and museums in St. Catharines and Niagara Falls, Ontario.Our hotel's amenities are the region's best. You can enjoy an indoor pool or workout in an adjacent Fitness Centre. Kids and adults too love our Parkway Lanes Bowling and Entertainment complex featuring disco bowl. From dining at JJ Kapps Restaurant to Life Experience Packages, the Holiday Inn is the finest of hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Catharines Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn & Suites Parkway Conference Centre Hotel St. Catharines
Holiday Inn And Suites Parkway Conference Centre
Quality Inn St Catharines
Quality Hotel St Catharines
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Catharines Conference Centre Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing